We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place South Bend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place South Bend to your Saves list
Hyatt Place South Bend
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 West Day Road, Mishawaka, IN 46545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Gas Card Package
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Mishawaka
GreenLeadersBronze level
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Rooms are great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for Notre Dame Junior Parents Weekend. Even though, it was just us in the room, it was plenty big enough if we'd had kids along. The bedroom and living area had a wall barrier, with a pull out couch. Fridge, nice TV, hot breakfast. Comfortable pillows are important to me and these were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnie T, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place South Bend, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Julie K, Thank you for highlighting the attributes of the room that worked best for you! We look forward to hosting you in South Bend/Mishawaka again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    47
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
67
22
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

On arrival the receptionist, Ben, was very quick to welcome us and check us into the hotel. He was extremely helpful and made an excellent recommendation for dinner at the Corndance Tavern closeby. Our room was large and very clean. 2 queens and sitting area with a sofa bed. Breakfast was a little disappointing - cereal, outmeal, coffee and juice were fine but fruit was not too fresh. Other hot food was not so appealing - small pancakes were warmed up, biscuits with ham and eggs did not look so fresh. Hotel overall is very good - very clean, large rooms, quiet location - tucked away from busy roads. Closeby there are many restaurants and a Whole foods across the street. Free parking. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked this based on reviews and was not let down.
Was in town with my family for a funeral, other family members also stayed here and commented how they to were impressed.

Arrived late in the evening but still received a great room. This hotel is one of the cleanest I have stayed in.
The beds were very comfortable. Linens fresh. Furniture in great shape.
Decent TV channels.
A gripe I have not only with this hotel but many I stay in would be the layout of the heat and AC unit right near the bed so you have air blowing on you all night.

Breakfast had a nice selection.

The service was awesome. Due to the timing of the funeral and our desire to get on the road to beat a snow storm, we asked for a late check out, Asst. GM, Michael Boomershine was kind enough to allow us a late check out so we could change clothes before leaving.

Room Tip: 323 very quite, not the best view though
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, IN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here with four kids during the holidays. The two queen bed room with the sofa sleeper worked out great. Breakfast was good, and included hot silver dollar pancakes, open face ham, egg and cheese sandwiches and sausage. The pool was a popular place, full of kids and ours had a great time. The hotel was clean and well-maintained. We will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnie T, General Manager at Hyatt Place South Bend, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Mindy K,
So glad to hear that your family enjoyed the room, breakfast buffet and pool! Thanks for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Place in South Bend on our way home. The room was very nice and clean. The breakfast MAY have been good, but there was very limited clean silverware. It's nice that they use REAL silverware and REAL cups, but if there are no clean spoons or forks, it's difficult to eat cereal or hotcakes. The breakfast area just seemed VERY understaffed. The hot water container for tea ran out and the girl behind the Starbuck counter was WAY too busy to even mention it to. They were very busy that morning so maybe they didn't expect that many at breakfast? We would consider staying here again, but definitely not because of the breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnie T, General Manager at Hyatt Place South Bend, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear mizz0um0m,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I must apologize for your experience in our breakfast area. As seen in other reviews, that isn't a typical experience so I can certainly understand it being frustrating for you and your fellow travelers. I'm pleased that the guest room was comfortable for you. We certainly welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future, with silverware aplenty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed the weekend of 12/12-12/15 for my son's hockey tournament. Hotel was clean, and staff were professional. However, our group did have some problems with a very ambitious security guard. Nonetheless, our stay at the Hyatt was very comfortable. Rooms were large with a mini refridgerator, and there were plenty of restaurants in the area to choose from. Hotel is only a 10 minute drive to Notre Dame campus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnie T, General Manager at Hyatt Place South Bend, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear lilsorrel,

Thank you for the review of your recent experience with us in South Bend/Mishawaka. It was a pleasure having you with us and we are thrilled that the guest room and surrounding area met the needs of your athletes and parents. We hope to have you with us again, should you visit our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

In town for a swim meet at Notre Dame. This hotel was exceptional. The lobby and bar area was very nicely appointed and the staff extremely friendly. Snacks, pastries and cocktails were available in the bar, along with Starbucks coffee.

As hotel breakfasts go, I can't say that I've had better. Open-faced english muffin breakfast sandwiches were on the menu the morning we ate. I grabbed 2 and slapped them together. Silver dollar pancakes too in addition to various yogurts, fruit, bagels, cereals and donuts, etc.

Our room was a spacious 2 queen bed suite w/a sitting area. The TV was huge which can never be a bad thing! Our room had a mini fridge too along with a comfortable couch in the sitting area. The only thing that I could even remotely 'ding' them for was the water closet or the toilet and tub room.

It was very small and you had to navigate around the door before you could close it without it hitting your feet. I'm also not a big fan of the 'rainshower' shower head although it had decent pressure for that type of shower head.

I wouldn't even call those complaints, just wishes. If we are ever in the area again I will not hesitate to stay here. Big thumbs up for the Hyatt Place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place South Bend

Address: 215 West Day Road, Mishawaka, IN 46545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mishawaka
#3 Family Hotel in Mishawaka
#4 Business Hotel in Mishawaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place South Bend 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka is ideally located in the heart of the "Golden Corridor", which boasts premium shopping and dining enjoyment. Also within five miles of the hotel are several prestigious attractions such as Notre Dame University and the Studebaker Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place South Bend Hotel Mishawaka
Hyatt Place Mishawaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place South Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.