We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understaffed on July 4th.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place South Bend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place South Bend to your Saves list
Hyatt Place South Bend
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 West Day Road, Mishawaka, IN 46545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Mishawaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Understaffed on July 4th.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Layout of room is fantastic to sleep our family of 5. Downside was that room had a peculiar hotel smell, like cleaning chemicals that couldn't be aired out and fan was loud. Without enough staff, the breakfast was disappointing with most items missing and not replenished.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    51
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
76
23
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel was perfect for a one night stay or business travel. The staff was very nice and the food selection was fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I have become quite loyal to the Hyatt Place brand. I don't need a lot of frills, but I also try to avoid Motel 6's, and Hyatt Place does it for me. The South Bend/Mishawaka Hyatt Place is top notch. As soon as I walked in, I was quickly greeted by Jessica. She was fantastic. I asked her about places that I should see and she was quick to give me a visitor's guide and little note cards with places of interest. The room was very clean, and let me tell you, I love the showers at Hyatt Places. After a long day of travelling, the hot shower was exactly what I needed. This Hyatt Place also has a variety of restaurants nearby, from fast food and dine-in restaurants, both local and chain style. Parking is free and it is exteremly easy to get to this hotel from South Bend Regional Airport. It is close enough to Notre Dame that it only takes about 5-10 minutes to drive there, but far enough away that you can't get away. My visit was very nice and I highly recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

My son and I stayed here the night of the Notre Dame - Pitt football game. We found a reservation availability a few days before the game for $190 per night. I think this was a "last minute" special in a down year for ND football - I tried to book a room for a game next season and found the rate well over $300 per night

We have stayed at 5 Hyatt Place hotels in the last six months. This location is similar to the other Hyatt Place locations I have stayed at.

What I like about Hyatt Place - new hotels, large spacious rooms, with wet bar, mini-fridge, work desk, couch/sectional seating area for visiting, large flat screen TV with a good selection of channels, modern lobby, quick check-in and check-out with kiosks, comfortable beds.

What could be better about Hyatt Place - the air conditioners tend to be loud - generally its not an issue for me (a light sleeper) but it could be for others, the placement of the bathroom and vanity sink - right at the foot of the bed - if you are travelling with others it is hard to get ready in the morning without waking others due to light and noise, the "free" breakfast components are really weak, well below what a Hampton offers. The free items seem to be a choice of 1 or 2 dry cereals, bread, industrial bagels and english muffins and what appears to be canned mixed fruit. To get anything hot you need to pay - the quality of the purchased breakfast will exceed that of the Hampton's make your own waffles or bacon/eggs/sausage, but it costs more and it isn't all you can eat.

This location is within walking distance of a few restaurants and within driving distance of several others. I needed to do a better job mapping out my route after the game - got caught in traffic by missing a turn and added about 30 minutes to the trip due to gridlock.

We usually stay in Elkhart (around $180 a night) or Goshen (around $130 a night) for games. This area is preferable to both simply due to proximity to campus and better restaurant selection. The question is at what price? I simply couldn't see spending much more than what we did for this room. While closer to campus, because of traffic our ride to Goshen earlier in the year was not that much longer than our ride here after the game.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Great hotel, has multiple restaurants with in walking distant, the breakfast is average. I would stay here all the time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amery, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Relatively new and clean hotel. Staff was very accomodating. Also there is a great sandwich breakfast bar along with complimentary breakfast! I was even able to get a glass of wine there one evening. Comfortable beds and very roomy shower which is separate from sink area!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The hotel is new. The rooms are spotless and spacious complete with big screen TV and a usuable refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast is included with the room. They also have a very nice snack bar where you can buy pizza, soup and snacks. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place South Bend

Address: 215 West Day Road, Mishawaka, IN 46545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mishawaka
#3 Business Hotel in Mishawaka
#4 Family Hotel in Mishawaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place South Bend 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka is ideally located in the heart of the "Golden Corridor", which boasts premium shopping and dining enjoyment. Also within five miles of the hotel are several prestigious attractions such as Notre Dame University and the Studebaker Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hyatt Place South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place South Bend Hotel Mishawaka
Hyatt Place Mishawaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place South Bend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.