We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Varsity Clubs of America

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Varsity Clubs of America to your Saves list
Varsity Clubs of America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3800 N. Main St., Mishawaka, IN 46545   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Mishawaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Absolute Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

One of the very few planned comfortable stays on our trip. It was part of an accommodation package, but still, we did appreciate all the little extras that went with the weeks accommodation. Tenting, hostelling and car have kept us on budget throughout the year long trip, but a break in a smart hotel like this is required to 'rest' and 'regain some normality' on a long journey, such as ours. Hence, the pool, spa, hot tub and thick bath towels all combined to give us a break from travel. TV was also an added bonus. Staff were courteous and co-operative and all in all we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for such nice comments, especially about the team. Your relaxation means the world to us and we are really pleased to know that you were satisfied with the standard of our care and accommodation. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you all the best on the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    25
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
22
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a wonderful little resort!! Our one bedroom deluxe condo was spacious, modern, clean and the staff was sooo helpful and courteous we were made to feel very welcome. Within walking distance to many restaurants and shopping and attractions close by.

Room Tip: Upper units might be a little quieter so you don't get the overhead noise but even with a loud n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked a week here through Diamond. We needed to check in on a Friday instead of Sat and offered them 3 days on the end of our trip for one on the front end. Varsity said NO and charged us for the extra night. Interval told us that most places will work with you regarding this type of thing but NOT this place. We paid for the extra night but left our room (it was quite dirty anyway) empty for three days. Not sure who manages this place but they are losing this place $$$ when they won't trade 3 days for 1. They lost because we left the room empty when they could have rented it.
As everyone knows the individual resort can book anyway they want.
This place is totally inflexible.

Room Tip: Our tip is that there are a LOT of other choices in the area that appreciate your business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We regret that you were not satisfied with your room assignment upon arrival at Varsity Clubs of America- South Bend . Unfortunately, we were not able to identify your reservation details from your review; however, based on your feedback, it sounds as if you booked your reservation as an exchange, thru Interval International. When a deeded week reservation is deposited into an exchange program, the exchange program determines the available room types and check in dates for your reservation. This availability is based on owner’s week’s that have been deposited into the exchange program. While we would have been happy to add a rental night to your reservation, changes to an existing exchange must be made through the exchange program. We certainly apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and want to assure you that we are at your service should you require us to help in any way. We hope this has not marred your stay and you will consider us for your future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ended up staying at the "resort" through Interval International. It is more like a hotel rather than a full resort. It has a very small gym, a sauna that comfortably holds one, a breakfast buffet but no restaurant for lunch or dinner, limited bar with limited hours and small pool. With parking surrounding the building and a very small courtyard, it feels more like a inexpensive motel/hotel not a resort.

What the facility does have is a friendly staff who are knowledgable about what's available in the local area. The place is good for a couple of days but it lacks facilities and local attractions for spending a week at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to read that you had a pleasant time here with us and found our resort team friendly and helpful. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Being Notre Dame fans, my parents and family have stayed at this hotel many, many times over the years. The place is comfortable and clean with a nice bar and big screen TV in the lobby to watch the biggest games on. The hot tub and indoor pool are clean and never crowded. The only problem is that they close too early at 10:30. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Don't plan on booking rooms at reception, however, they only do online reservations. And although breakfast is not free, at $5 it is still worth it if you're in a hurry. They even sent surprise flowers to my friend in our room for her birthday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are delighted to read about your positive experience; we are happy to know that friendliness and thoughtfulness of our team has yet again contributed to you having an enjoyable stay and hope we made your friend’s birthday a little bit more special. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The name of the hotel, Varsity Club of America, South Bend, is unexpected, but the facilities and staff were pleasant.

We were visiting the South Bend (home to University of Notre Dame)/Mishawaka, IN, area, which is near to several Amish communities. We arrived at noon, which was more than 3 hours prior to the afternoon check-in time. The considerate hotel front desk staff called the maintenance staff about the availability of a clean room and let us "check in" after another 30 minutes. Cookies were available at the front desk, which we sampled on the day that we checked out.

This is what we typically expect in a suite: kitchen, refrigerator, dishes, breakfast counter, and a living room/seating area with a sofa bed. We were not disappointed. Our room had a bar sink, instead of a full double sink, and a smaller refrigerator.

Both the bedroom and the living area of the suite were carpeted, and was very clean. The double sink vanity was conveniently separate from the room with the tub and toilet. The tub had an elliptical shower rod holding 2 shower curtains. A useful feature was the lighting plan in the unit, which allowed multiple choices for which light to use as a night light.

Before venturing out each morning, we ate the breakfast at the hotel. Five kinds of juice, scrambled eggs, muffins, cereal, and sliced fruit in a breakfast buffet helped us start the day in a satisfactory manner. Free coffee was available all day.

There were ceiling fans in both the living room area and the bedroom. So you could be a 5 degrees cooler in a quiet atmosphere without running the air conditioning.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor in a wing away from the main check-in desk. We walked a few steps to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are very happy that were able to offer you a relaxing stay and you felt welcome and at home in one of our self catering suites. We enjoy welcoming and looking after everyone who stays with us and it is always an added joy to be able to spoil our guests. Thank you for your detailed review and your words of appreciation. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife booked a room through our time share(they are not worth the money). She chose this location because it was central between Indianapolis, Ann Arbor and Chicago. When we arrived we were not given the category of room we booked. When she called to complain the desk asked her if you said anything on the first day. No we didn't we were .busy traveling around the first three days. The desk then said "I'll see what I can do". Clearly unacceptable. Lucky my wife went straight to the manager, Keith Raven, who knows that costumer service starts with the customer. this young man not only corrected the mistake (theirs not ours) he went above and beyond. I can't speak for anyonelse on staff but if you stay here and have a problem, you should speak to Mr. Raven.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that we were in a position to assist you and provide you with accommodation that satisfied your requirements. We would like to take this opportunity, however to advise that in order to be able to best assist our guests, we always encourage them to contact us as soon as they encounter any issues. We hope we will have another chance to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Varsity Clubs of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs of America

Address: 3800 N. Main St., Mishawaka, IN 46545
Location: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mishawaka
#3 Family Hotel in Mishawaka
#6 Business Hotel in Mishawaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs of America 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varsity Clubs is a beautiful 86 rooms all suite resort decorated with a collection of collegiate memorabilia; Located on Main St. in the heart of shopping/restaurant district. Hotel is 2 miles East of Notre Dame & 3 miles from South Bend. Each newly remodeled suite has a private living area, private bath entrance, a fully stocked kitchenette with Cuisinart appliances, & 2 flat screen TV's. The Varsity Clubs offers: a unique Indoor pool with outdoor view, 20 person spa, sauna, exercise facility, billiard table, golf green, bocce ball court, big screen TV in lobby, Stadium bar open Fri & Sat evenings & 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Varsity Clubs of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America Hotel Mishawaka
Varsity Club Of America
Varsity Hotel Mishawaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varsity Clubs of America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.