We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lacam Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sipi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lacam Lodge
Save
You added Lacam Lodge to your Saves list
Sipi Falls, Sipi, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sipi
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Amazing views and good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed at Lakam Logde for two nights with friends. The lodge has a perfect location for hiking in the area and offers amazing views over the valley and the main waterfall.

Two of us stayed in a banda and the other two stayed in a room. Bandas / rooms have no electricity but kerosene lamps are provided. Its a good idea to bring a torch though. The banda was comfortable with its own shower (hot water is provided in the morning and late afternoon) and compost toilet. It was beautifully located just on the edge of the cliff and had the most amazing views of the valley. The room was ok but quite basic with bunk beds (up to four people can share) and you have to share toilet and shower facilities. The banda could have been more clean and the staff forgot (?) to make our beds and empty the compost toilet. But when I asked them to do so they immediately did. All in all both room and banda offer good value for money.

Staff were super friendly and very helpful in arranging guides for hiking. However, a mess up with the bookings meant that the banda was double booked for the second night... Another small hick up occurred when we were leaving and wanted to settle the bill. They have changed their prices but this is not shown on their website and was not communicated when I made the booking. The increase is not huge (10.000 shillings per person per night) but its still an unpleasant surprise.

Prices are full board and we were happy with the meals. Basic but tasty and well-seasoned food (examples from our stay includes beef stew, chicken stew, vegetable soups, mash, rice, boiled vegetables and pancakes) and portions are large. The only set back was that the same dish was served for lunch and dinner on the second day... Drinks are not included but sold at very reasonable prices.

Sipi is a beautiful area and the hiking very rewarding. You don't need to be a professional but it's good to be in a reasonably good shape if you do the longer hikes. Is a great weekend get-away and I would definitely recommend both Sipi and Lakam Lodge.

Room Tip: Banda no 3 has the best location / views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kampala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Spent 2 nights recently with my family (2 kids) and we loved the place. The view is impressive and the place is very calm. The bandas was simple but clean. There is no electricity but each bandas has lanterns in it wich is fine. The food is good and the staff friendly. We did the treck to see the falls and it was great. It is a nice place to enjoy the nature and relax.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Spent 2 nights here over Christmas with my daughter- a blissful place to get away from the 'festivities', if that's your thing - and once I, a committed four-star stayer, had got used to the idea of no electricity or running water (they brought a bottle of water for teeth cleaning - but don't drink it as it's just local water) not to mention a compost loo (actually great) I was sold on the place. The location is fantastic - the first fall is so close you feel you could touch it and it provides a fabulous soundtrack, supplemented by birds and crickets. In the morning, in the other direction, the long lush valley is lit by the sun. The bandas are quaint and the beds firm but super-comfy. Head torch needed as the 2 hurricane lamps provided (one for bed and one for bathroom) are not bright and can go out. I'd dispute the Bradt guidebook's talk of the food being 'excellent' - average and not much of it, I'd say, but the staff are sweet - and the guided walks from the hotel a bargain. Cedric (our guide) if you're reading this, hi!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I highly recommend Lacam Lodge, if you want to stay at a great location with magnificent view, in nice but simple bandas. It is great value for money. The staff was helpful and friendlily. The food was good (but not special).
You can do great guided walks there and enjoy the nature.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukono, Uganda
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and daughter and I have stayed several times at Lacam Lodge, and as all the other reviewers say, love the view and the Lodge's rustic charm. Local coffee is free flowing. Until now, it has been our favorite getaway in Uganda.

We just returned though from a visit and need to caution travelers about several issues.
1. The manager is not on site, and when problems came up, though we requested to speak with him, did not come to us or call. There is no email posted on the website to provide feedback to owners. The only phone number is kept by one of the members of staff who may not reliably share information with her boss.
2. Our toilet bins were emptied once per day; this is inconvenient and awkward when we have to ask for it to be emptied.
3. Water was not warm except at around 10pm at night.
4. They ran out of meat while we were there and did not inform us, they just gave us vegetables and fruit.
5. For hours in mornings and afternoons we could not find anybody apart from an old gardener who did not speak English. The place could have been burning down and we'd be alone fighting!
6. Bandas are worn. Floors are chipping up, and ceiling has holes... we had a few snacks with us, and during the nights rats came down through ceiling holes and ate through the plastic bags they were in.

These are things that can be addressed but feedback would help. Until Lacam comes on to address this, then I can only give a mediocre recommendation.... sorry friends at Lacam.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

A great place to stay while enjoying an amazing view of the valley leading to a vast flat surface. The rooms are very comfy and spacious. There is access to warm water and toilet is in the form of a pit that gets serviced frequently. The sound of the waterfall that accompanies you throughout the night is truly memorable. There is a very cozy corner inside where the staff sets up a bonfire every night (if weather conditions permit). The lodge has also one of the best view point of the main Sipi fall that gives you ample photo opportunities. There is no electricity in any of the bandas but you can charge your camera and laptop at the bar if they have power. The staff are nice and accommodating but don't expect them to go the extra distance in answering your needs. The restaurants serves one common full course dinner/lunch for all guest that is fairly good. My only complain was the amount of time it would take them to prepare and serve the food. So make sure you plan well ahead.

There are many activities happening around the lodge such as community walk, viewing the falls, abseiling and rock climbing (all can be arranged by the staff with reasonable prices). But soon you will realize that the best activity is to sit, relax and enjoy the amazing view that you can never get enough of!

Room Tip: We stayed at banda #3 and I think it had a slightly better view than the other. However, not being a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

I've stayed several times in Lacam Lodge, and each time it was a nice experience. Prices are full board, which is just fine since the food is very nice. The banda's are nicely built, comfortable, and have a splendid view.
Only when visiting Sipi with small kids (lacam lodge is built on the edge of cliff and slopes are steep) , I would prefer the Sipi river lodge.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lacam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lacam Lodge

Address: Sipi Falls, Sipi, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Sipi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sipi
Number of rooms: 19

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lacam Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.