We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat Until You Can Not Get Up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Das Dutchman Essenhaus

Das Dutchman Essenhaus
240 U.S. 20, PO Box 1217, Middlebury, IN 46540
+1 574-825-9471
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Middlebury
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Dessert
Chatsworth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eat Until You Can Not Get Up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Large white building on the outskirts of town features family style eating or buffet. The family style is served to you and includes choices of meat, chicken or ham and all kinds of vegetables and macaroni and etc. plus large selection of pies. The buffet for a few dollars less has you go and serve yourself most of the same foods. A third choice is a sit-down restaurant ordering from a menu. All the food is delicious and you just keep indulging until you burst. The building has a large gift area with tasteful items and a bakery with all kinds of treats.

Was there a few years ago and my memories still are the same fantastic foods and atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    124
    53
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynes Fort, IN
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Many trips later its still good--except the breakfast sausage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We've eaten at the Essenhaus scores of times and occasionally for the breakfast buffet. This week we went their with family having previously had breakfast at the Blue Gate in Shepshewana--just down the road. The Essenhaus is still very good but some items like the breakfast sausage and sausage gravy realy wnet down hill. The gravy was mainly flour gravy and the sausage was no longer the delicious links of years ago but is now a hot dog consistancy sausage with very little flavor. The rest of the breakfast buffet was good but we'll likely stick with Lunch and Dinner here in the future as Blue Gate has taken the lead for breakfast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We sat in the area that isn't the open buffet area, but the area where you order off the menu. The turkey was a thick slice, but very tender. Mashed potatoes with gravy reminded me of Thanksgiving. Cherry pie for dessert was good too. I think of this place as a good place for a home cooked meal, like eating at a family's home.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Homemade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

All of the food is so delicious at the Essenhaus. I have been eating there for over 20 years when I visit Middlebury.

One of my favourites is the beef with noodles, you can't go wrong with the Broasted Chicken either.

Well worth the wait if there is one when you arrive for some Amish home cooking.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had dinner at the restaurant. We choose the Buffet and found it very good. Lot's of choices and very tasty. The Restaurant also offered off the menu choices and Family style. Lots of little shops to wander in before or after your meal and a great bakery. A very fun place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Dutchman Essenhaus also viewed

 

Been to Das Dutchman Essenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Dutchman Essenhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.