We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center
Save
You added Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
240 US 20, Middlebury, IN 46540 (Formerly Das Dutchman Essenhaus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middlebury
Batavia, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stopped at the essenhaus as part of a motor coach tour. What a wonderful way to spend the last night on the road. My room, 114, is just lovely! The decor, furnishings, comfort, tv, refrigerator, coffee make, iron, mini ironing board, bottle water..they have thought of absolutely everything! Am very sad to only be spending about 12 hours here, primarily sleeping! The bed is just luxurious! Stay here! Come here! Visit! Relax! Sop! Enjoy! Also a conference center. Am certain this would be a wonderful place for a conference, reception, party..

Also ate at the Essenhaus Restaurant. Omg! How delicious! Enjoyed the family style dinner. First course, fresh tossed salad, your choice of dressing. On-site baked bread.. I enjoyed the honey wheat. Got to choose from about twelve pies for dessert. Opted for coconut cream. In the meantime dinner was served: baked chicken (incredible); baked steak (awesome), homemade mashed potatoes, corn, bread stuffing, buttered noodles... Everything was just the best meal of the whole trip... Then dessert came. The coconut cream was just the best.

You wont be disappointed if yiu come here. Enjoy the grounds. Shop if you feel like it, walk, relax, play miniature golf. No matter what, come try it!!

Room Tip: I am in the old section. Check it out. The lobby is like nothing I have seen before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    34
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
51
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I make a trip each Memorial Day weekend to Amish Country in Northern In. We always stay at the Essenhaus Inn. Beautiful location and grounds. Great car show on Thursday evening and the meals at the Essenhaus Restaurant are wonderful! Best continental breakfast we have found in any hotel! Just walking down the halls is awesome. Highly recommend this Inn for a nice quiet getaway!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Township, Michigan, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I definitely recommend the Essenhaus. I've been coming here for over 25 years and recommend staying in one of the atrium rooms, preferably on the first floor. Then you have easy access to a great lobby filled with couches, chairs and checker boards. We most recently stayed in room 109 and the only negative was that the air conditioning was very loud...but if you like white noise when sleeping, then this room is for you!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile


We spent 2 nights here.It is so wonderful here.The grounds are beyond beautiful.So peaceful and quiet.Once you come you wont want to leave.The shops and restaurant are great too!! !.Make plans to come. We hope to come back next month.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is not the first time we have stayed at Essenhaus Inn. It is the same as always. Beautiful grounds, pleasant surroundings, and clean, clean, clean.

I judge a motel/hotel by the carpeting and the bathroom. This was just like home and truly appreciated.

The delicious cookies during the day are fantastic. The breakfast buffet is a plus too. Their food is baked on the grounds and very tasty.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the king room. It would have been nice to get one with a balcony, but they were sold out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Traveled with another couple on our Harleys for our first trip to Shipshewana. We based our choice for accommodations on reviews and were very pleased from the moment we drove up. The Essenhaus is immaculate inside and out. One of the cleanest rooms we've ever stayed in, well appoinyed with refridgerator. Very peaceful. The pool, hot tub and children's pool are at one end of the complex, the breakfast room is upstairs in the middle. The restaurant is on the premises, just a short worthwhile walk. There are also a few shops on site. It was only a 15 minute ride into town, with sites of interest on both roads leading from Essenhaus. We would certainly return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel was recommended by family- a good choice! Nice big room, clean and quiet. They have a very decent breakfast in the morning. Lots of easy to fix options: fruit, yogurt, bisquits/gravy, bagels, cold and hot cereal/oatmeal, milk, juice. There is a washer/dryer for public to use: $1.50 to wash, $1.50 to dry. if you think you need this options- bring quarters as the front desk had a hard time making change (even though the sign in the facility said to get change from them).
The restaurant is a on property: a little bit of a walk across lush green grounds. The restaurant for lunch/dinner is a must if you are staying here. Decent portions and good prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center

Address: 240 US 20, Middlebury, IN 46540 (Formerly Das Dutchman Essenhaus)
Location: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests rave about the Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center! In the heart of Amish Country, you'll experience elegance and comfort from the moment you walk in the door. Unique decor reflects the local culture and community and adds to the comfort and hospitality you expect in Northern Indiana Amish Country. With 89 generously-sized guestrooms and all the amenities and conveniences guests have come to expect, our facility is ADA compliant.Following a peaceful night's rest, every guest can take advantage of our complimentary breakfast. With an indoor pool, fitness room and therapeutic hot tub, guests have the option of enjoying a variety of down time activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Das Dutchman Essenhaus Hotel Middlebury
Essenhaus Hotel Middlebury
Country Inn Middlebury
Middlebury Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.