We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3801 N. Frontage Road, I-94 & Hwy 421, Exit 34B, Michigan City, IN 46360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Cambridge, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was fine for an overnight stay on our way back to Ontario. The pool was nicely located in the hotel, but it only had ladder entry and may be an issue for people with disabilities or others like me who take a long time to get into a cold pool.

The rooms had a strange setup with the sink right beside the door. Also the toilet was not attached properly to the floor and wobbled (clearly maintainance is needed and I let the front desk know so hopefully it will be fixed for future guests). The rooms were newly renovated and had lovely large wall mounted tvs, however the walls were paper thin and we could hear every conversation in our neighboring, non attached room. We may try a different hotel in the area the next time we come through the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy that you had a good experience overall. Our team appreciates all of the reviews we receive, and we hope that we can accommodate you again.

Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Comfort Inn Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-9190
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    15
    11
    7
See reviews for
17
7
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

At the end of July my wife's family had a family reunion in Michigan City. Other family members decided to stay there, in spite of the reviews on TripAdvisor, and so we did also just to be in the same hotel. Never again. To open the sliding glass door I felt like I needed a crow-bar. The "complementary breakfast" looked way too risky to attempt (I was hoping my mother-in-law would try it though).

The room served it's purpose, but for the next reunion in a couple years we will NOT be staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

we left Minneapolis and wanted to get past Chicago before we stopped for the night. What we didn't know was that all the people from the area go to hotels on the weekends during the summer in the towns around the lakes. This resulted in our not being able to find any rooms. The lady at the country inn and suites told us that the comfort inn had a room. We stopped at the comfort inn and got a good price on the room. it had the bed configuration we needed. the lady at the desk was not rude but after 9 other hotels in a 2 week period I have a sense of what is good front desk service and what is not. She seemed tired or distracted or grumpy, not sure but i just cared about a clean room. We were traveling with 15 pieces of luggage so I grabbed the cart and loaded it up only to find that there is no elevator in a 2 story hotel....realllllllly???? come on comfort inn. you think people dont have heavy luggage? Your website talks about comfort and service. Let's try that part again. I also think that the heat was on in the hallway. weird. The rooms all had no smoking signs on them but the halls reeked of smoke. so, humping 15 large pieces of luggage up the stairs in the heat, with the smoke was not a good intro to our stay at the comfort inn. On to the good part. the room was huuuuge! I was happy about that. the AC was cold but not frigid. The tv was big and the beds were comfortable and clean. I would not seek this hotel out again but it was not terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Comfort Inn we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Comfort Inn Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-9190
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Booked this hotel (I use mostly Choice) simply for a bed and breakfast after a 9 hour drive. Arrived at 9:20 with kids screaming to swim. The lady who checked us in (sorry, forget your name, but if you were working the evening shift of June 11, you’re a good employee) got us in quickly and without my asking agreed to let my cranky kids go a bit past the 10 PM deadline in the pool.

The room was average sized. The breakfast was average. The hotel was clean. We were able to sleep. This is pretty much what I expect for an $80 hotel room less than an hour from Chicago. Mostly, it was clean and safe. I got what I asked for and what I paid for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here on our return trip through Michigan City. It is part of Choice Privileges Rewards Program. The room smelled musty. We opened a window but the screen was all torn. The carpet looked clean. The desk chair was stained and should of been removed. The lounge chair seen better days. Big screen TV was a plus. When the toilet was flushed it squealed and took a long time to fill back up. The bathroom fan was too loud.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
1,129 reviews 1,129 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 335 cities Reviews in 335 cities
582 helpful votes 582 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent one night here on a road trip from Minneapolis to Detroit. Check-in was quick and friendly. Received room 102 on the first floor. This property has indoor corridors (a must for a single woman and also in the winter). Room contained a desk and chair, bureau which doubled as a luggage rack, fridge and microwave, and flat screen tv (plus all the "usual" amenities like coffeemaker, hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, lotion) and a queen bed.

Shower/tub and toilet are in a separate room and sink is outside the bathroom. This doesn't bother me at all.

Bed was very comfortable with four pillows, nice bedding and nice sheets. Towels were also very fluffy and brilliant white. Room was very clean and there was light enough for reading in bed.

Breakfast was delicious! Sitting area is small. Offered both plain and blueberry waffles, biscuits and gravy, egg patties (food service type), lots of pastries and muffins, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juice, oranges and bananas, and tea/coffee. Certainly enough to get a good start to the day!

Hotel also has a small indoor pool (but I didn't see a hot tub). Hotel is conveniently located off I-94 and there are numerous restaurants (both fast food and more casual dining) and gas stations nearby.

I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Not sure if there's an elevator, so if you have problems with stairs chose a room on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Let me say right up front, don't be put off by this 1 star rating - at least to a point. This is a wonderfully run and kept hotel, in a convenient but quiet location near I-94. The room I stayed in was spotless as were all areas I observed. From that stand point the hotel deserves at least 4 stars. But what kills the happy story here is the size of the place. My room was certainly the tiniest hotel room I have ever seen (outside of those casket size ones in Tokyo). the vanty/lav area was at the front door in the entry way. No room to sit at the mirror and open the entry door at the same time. the toilet/tub was in a room so small, a plus sized guest could not go in and shut the door without standing in the tub to do it! The room itself was just big enough for a queen bed and desk - that's all. One other surprise, a pleasant one; the room featured a microwave, minifridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, and laundry service, all amenities one would not expect from a one star hotel - and again that's my point; this place tries hard and would have a 3 1/2 star rating - no doubt ....but why so ridiculously small? With that said; I would recomend the Comfort Inn, Michigan City to the solo traveler, not recomend it as a romantic get away, and WARN families - this is just not designed for you.

Room Tip: Even # rooms are very small. Some larger rooms may be available accross hall and on corner areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 3801 N. Frontage Road, I-94 & Hwy 421, Exit 34B, Michigan City, IN 46360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Michigan City
Michigan City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.