We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If looking for privacy this is not your hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Michigan City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn Michigan City to your Saves list
Clarion Inn Michigan City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5820 South Franklin Street, Michigan City, IN 46360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Wabash, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If looking for privacy this is not your hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I don't leave a lot of reviews, although I read them quite often, but after the experience I have had here I felt the need to share our experience as a warning to those looking for a place to relax, rest and have some privacy. I will say that the front desk person that checked us in was friendly and check in went smoothly. We arrive in our room and notice that it is kind of run down. Wall paper peeling, popcorn ceiling cracked and peeling in several places, water stains on the wall, disgustingly dirty light switch, towel rack that looked like it could come out of the wall at anytime, claustrophobic bathroom etc. We were willing to overlook it all as we knew we really weren't going to be in the room much other than to shower and sleep (or at least we thought we would get to do those things). What little time we did spend in the room between shopping and going out all we could hear were people running and stomping loudly above us and people outside. We decided that hopefully by the time we came back to the room after the casino they would be asleep. We finally return to our room around 3 a.m. and get ready to go to bed just to discover that there is only a partial curtain panel (about 1 ft. wide) that did not shut and sheer see through curtains on the floor to ceiling (about 4 ft.wide as seen in my photos) window in room. We could see straight outside to the cars parked in front of our door and anyone walking by could see into our room. So, at 7:30 in the morning there we were wide awake due to all the people walking and standing outside our door talking and people loading up to leave. What was even more disturbing was the fact that we could see them and that they could clearly see us while we were laying in bed trying to sleep. We then decided to just shower and leave but when we tried to shower we had no hot water. At check I let the front desk know about our experience with our room and that it is completely inappropriate and lacked any kind of privacy not having anything but sheers that people could see through. She in turn became extremely short with me and said that they must have been having the curtain cleaned and offered no apology. If that was the case why was another one not hung? Why would you book the room if it was not ready for guests? And why would you not try to at least try to apologize for the many inconveniences of the guests stay? I can deal with slightly run down, but no privacy even in your own room, paper thin walls and ceilings, and no hot water cross the line. This was no $30 motel that you would expect that kind of thing in but it was supposed to be a decently nice hotel. Very disappointed and will not be staying here again. Will definitely pay the 20-25 dollar difference and go back to the Country Inn or the Microtel there in town anytime over this.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 121 if you want to get any sleep at all or have any privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion Inn S, General Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. Upon inspection of the room, there is a blackout privacy blind that was behind the sheer and the curtain. Those are decorative curtains and are not meant to close. We are currently re-training our departments so situations like this can be avoided. I've also contacted you via Choice Hotels guest complaint department. Customer satisfaction is of paramount importance and I appreciate your feedback so that we can better accommodate our guests. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    27
    12
    17
See reviews for
33
24
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Nice, friendly hotel.
Stayed in a suite, the room was very nice - well equiped and in good condition.

Staff were great, very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. Really liked the bar and restaurant as well, great Burgers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We wondered at first, arriving without a reservation, when the clerk struggled on her computer to check us in. But the manager intervened, and we were soon fine. A well-furnished, well-maintained facility in a convenient location. The hot breakfast buffet was fine, and the Texas Corral across the street provided a good dinner option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager5820, General Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Clarion Inn. We appreciate you choosing the Clarion and look forward to accommodating you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

So, yesterday afternoon, I checked into the Clarion, knowing full well that I needed a late check out as a result of a bike race I was in the next day. At first, Stacey and Heavenly (the front desk clerks) said there was no way I could get the late check out. I expressed my dissatisfaction, and mentioned that I would probably not be able to complete the race I was registered for, but took the room, anyway. I freshened up in the room, and made my way through the front lobby to go for dinner. On my way past the front desk, Stacey stopped me and told me she called the hotel manager at home to ask about the late check out. It was granted by the manager. I was amazed, flabbergasted, thrilled and every other positive emotion you can think up. She went above and beyond the norm to make sure that there was a happy hotel customer.

I will be back to the Clarion Inn in Michigan City, and I encourage you to stay there, too.

Room Tip: Stayed near the pool. probably not the best place if you like to go to sleep before 10:00 p.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager5820, General Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Clarion Inn. We will always do our best to accommodate any guest request. We are glad you had a good stay and hope you enjoyed the race you were in town for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

First stop on our cross-country trip (no reservation in advance) with a cat; beds have platforms, so good in keeping pets from hiding underneath. Restaurant attached to the hotel was tasty (get the house special burger--it was EXCELLENT) and offers a discount to guests, but you have to tell them you're staying there. One star deducted because our A/C unit had a cricket living inside of it (but thankfully it slept while we did). The hot tub was amazing, in a nice indoor courtyard of the hotel. Very well kept, but open until just 10 pm. Free breakfast in the morning was excellent, and the hotel desk will fill your cooler with ice for you when you leave to hit the road. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing outdoors had ambient road noise/possible crickets; indoor rooms facing the pool area wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager5820, General Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Clarion Inn. We are always happy to hear about exceeding our guests expectations. We are happy to accommodate guests traveling with pets. Crawford's Pub is a great amenity and we are glad you enjoyed their delicious Crawford's burger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This property is an older style motel - outside entry on some rooms, inside entry on others that surround the indoor pool area. Small rooms, but everything you would need and expect from this chain. Reasonably priced, clean, decently maintained, and courteous English-speaking staff. Nice indoor pool/Jacuzzi area. I would recommend it....

Room Tip: Has both outside entry rooms and inside entry rooms(around the pool area); both on two levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager5820, General Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Clarion Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you visit Michigan City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good location, great staff, clean rooms although the clorine smell from the pool area was a bit strong. Overall, not a bad hotel. Beware the door to the patio outside the pool doors lock behind you, had to walk all the way around the building to get back in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrawfordsPub, Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Clarion Inn & Suites. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Michigan City

Address: 5820 South Franklin Street, Michigan City, IN 46360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Michigan City 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off Interstate 94 and conveniently located on Route 421, The Clarion Inn & Suites provides the full-service facilities, attentive services and social atmosphere that make it easy to connect with work colleagues, friends and family. You’ll find meeting and event space, catering, well-appointed rooms and a casual restaurant and bar. We offer a wide range of supportive amenities as well. Clarion Inn & Suites is five miles from Lake Michigan. Crawford's Pub & Eatery, provides room service and banquet catering. Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore is nearby, offering miles of beaches, sand dunes and woodland forests. This area provides the perfect backdrop for hiking, biking, boating, bird watching, fishing or swimming. Several marinas and golf courses are in the area for you to enjoy. Washington Park Zoo, the Old Lighthouse Museum and Blue Chip Casino are also minutes from the Clarion and offer a great way to spend a day in beautiful LaPorte County, IN. A variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and specialty stores are close to this Indiana hotel. Spend the day looking for that must-have item at the Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets Mall. After a busy day, come back and relax in our full-service restaurant, Crawford’s Pub & Eatery, or order room service and enjoy a meal from Crawford’s in the comfort of your own room. Our complimentary hot breakfast will help get you started in the morning. The Oasis Pool & Spa area is open daily. We would be glad to help plan your wedding reception, family gathering or corporate meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Clarion Inn Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Clarion Michigan City
Holiday Inn Michigan City
Clarion Hotel Michigan City
Michigan City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Michigan City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.