We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Chip Casino and Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blue Chip Casino and Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Blue Chip Drive, 777 Blue Chip Drive, Michigan City, IN 46360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Blue Chip Summer Rates
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Michigan City
ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“had a great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

go there about every month, and enjoy it. The staff are always very kind and the rooms are clean. The food and staff are always trying to please, i recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — its a nice getaway, and very enjoyable.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    89
    56
    40
    28
See reviews for
44
143
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, In
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

We had a great time. Won some loss some. Enjoyed the fact that it was close by the outlet mall and the zoo. So we spent some time away from the boat. The Dealers were WONDERFUL and very helpful (helped me learn to play craps and blackjack) the only problem was the service at the buffet. We went for breakfast and we were sat in the very back of the restraunt (no one was there) and waited for our drinks when we were there 15 mins and they never came we went to the hostess and she didn't care. We didn't get our drinks until we were done eating! Will not go back there again. Also when we went to get membership cards(?) The lady that helped my husband was very rude and she was a trainer at that. But other than that had a great time. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Some of the people working.time for them to find new jobs
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirley, IN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

We visited the Blue Chip Casino ... but not the hotel, on Mother's Day 2008. I felt the boat and slot machines seemed to be old and tired. When we applied for the member card, the girl was terse, and unhelpful, though we were the only ones in line to be served. The machines were very tight. We enjoy the riverboats of Indiana, but this is one we will not visit again.

  • Liked — near the lake
  • Disliked — unfriendly, dirty
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed here on a Sunday night and had a wonderful experience. We arrived at the hotel an hour or so before check in (we forgot about the time change) and we were able to get to our room even though we were early. All of the staff of the hotel and the casino are very friendly and helpful. The room was large, very nice and very clean. I didn't mind the shower only (no tub) since it was HUGE. The bed was a little soft, but it is very rare to find a hotel be that is not soft. Our room was nice and quiet, even though we were the first room off of the elevator.

The casino itself was very nice, although the no-smoking section could stand to be larger. We did very well on the slot machines, but did not play the table games. The buffet is a bit expensive, but the food was excellent and we got a buy one get one free coupon when we signed up for the slot club that we used for breakfast.

We had a wonderful experience and will be back for sure!

  • Liked — Did not have to go outside to get to casino from the hotel.
  • Disliked — There was no internet access (wireless or wired) in the room. Had to go to lobby to use our laptop to check maps and weather.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

This is a wonderful hotel. We had excellent service from a very friendly staff. The room was beatiful and very clean.We would definitely stay here again.

Kathy from Whitehouse, Ohio

  • Liked — Connected to casino
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulfer Springs, Indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

Stayed at the hotel one night June 23 2007. We stayed on a Friday night but were unable to get a room for Saturday night. Hotel room was clean and large. Our bathroom had a shower but no tub. There is an indoor pool on ground floor with two jacuzzi's. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Free valet parking. Casino offered standard comp's and plenty of tables and machine's- penny slots to 25 dollar slots. 5 dollar minimum blackjack tables.
The reception desk also offered printed directions to the Indiana State Dunes. I found 3 public beaches within 15 minutes of the hotel. Washington park beach ($3-6 admission) has a life guard museum, zoo and harbor. Mount Baldy Sand Dune beach and Central beach are free- it took us about 5 minutes on well marked hiking trails to reach those two beaches. The Dunes are awesome. We also found some real bargains at the Lighthouse Outlet Mall- this upscale mall is also within 10 miles of the casino.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who likes to combine gambling with other out door activites.
I will definately be returning to this hotel

  • Liked — Near great beaches
  • Disliked — Unable to stay Saturday night.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

We stayed at the Blue Chip on May 29th for one night. It was a suprise getaway for my husband's birthday. This was our first time at BC and had a great experience! Each and every staff member ALWAYS had a smile and was very friendly! Our room (420) was very clean, quite modern, nicely decorated. Bathroom was average size, but with the two of us, it was perfect. We did have a small fridge for all of our yummy leftovers!

We used the pool and hot tub only for a little while in the evening. Pool was cool, hot tub was only warm. Very nice facilities, though.

The buffet was good. We ate lunch there twice. The first day it was close to dinner setup so the food was not very hot. The second day it was just as lunch started and was very hot! Everything was very fresh!

teakhouse was outstanding! Great service, great food!

Casino was fun- my first time gambling. My only complaint was the smokers. VERY smokey, did not realize there was a non-smoking section until we were leaving.

We will retirn for another stay- close to home, very reasonable rates, super time!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Chip Casino and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Chip Casino and Hotel

Address: 777 Blue Chip Drive, 777 Blue Chip Drive, Michigan City, IN 46360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Chip Casino and Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Blue Chip Casino and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Chip Hotel Michigan City
Blue Chip Michigan City
Blue Chip Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Chip Casino and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.