We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Chip Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Chip Casino and Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Chip Casino and Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Blue Chip Drive, 777 Blue Chip Drive, Michigan City, IN 46360   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book For Our Lowest Rate
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Willard, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Blue Chip Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

On oct. 5th and 6th my wife and I met our friends at Blue Chip as we have the past 3 years now as it is about a halfway point for us to meet. We stayed in the Blue Chip Tower as it is even more expensive to stay in the Spa Tower on weekends. The rooms were very nice with a mini fridge in rooms for some beer! The bathrooms are nice with a great tile walk in shower. The casino is big and lots of slot machines. The lounge called Rocks has different bands on fri. and sat. night and is a fun place to take a break from gambling. We did eat at the sports bar called The Game and it was very good with big portions at a good price. Sun. morning we ate at the buffet which is good like about any other casino buffet. There is also Vegas Baby and William B's and a mini cafe which we did not eat at.
Check in was simple and the check in staff were freindly and helpful. At checkout she even offered to check and see if we could get one night taken off of our bill based on our play and she did! Rooms are a little pricey on weekends, but I guess I am used to Detroit and Windsor where I get free or reduced rooms most of the time.
At first glance Michigan City looks like a town with nothing to do, but once you take a drive and see there are many things to do in area like outlet mall,bars,restaurants and nice beaches. We really liked a micro brew bar called Shoreline.
Overall this is a very nice hotel and casino and would visit more often if it were closer and could get better hotel prices. No complaints here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    137
    88
    55
    39
See reviews for
63
209
20
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sao paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Chip for 2 nights in October. We booked a 2-Queen Premium room in the Spa tower, and even though check-in was at 3pm, we were able to check-in at 10am, thanks to the lovely and helpful staff at the front desk . Our room was really nice, clean and big. The Spa tower looks a lot nicer than the other one, so I guess we were lucky. Free WI-FI is a plus, and it worked really well. On the first night, we had room service, and the biggest Club sandwich I have ever even! Big and very good, I must say. We didn't go to the casino nor ate at the property's restaurants, so can't comment. It is a bit pricey, but it was worth every dime. And it is really close to the outlet, if shopping is your thing. Good and decent hotel in Michigan City, IN.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Check in is at 3pm however our room was not ready. We had to wait over 2 hours before we got our room. The front desk was sorry for the trouble but no compensation was offered! We drove for 4 hours and were tired, all we wanted to do was relax. Room was clean and spacious with nice amenities when we finally got into it.
Casino was ok but very smokey. Really needs to be aired out as it was hard to breathe at times from so much smoke in the air.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We checked in to this property on 10/05/2012 and checked out on 10/07/2012. This was my second stay at this Property, with the first being in 05/2011.
The valet was fast and efficient for a mid evening weekend check in. I was offered help with my bags immediately and the doors were opened for both myself and my wife. Very impressive rapid service.
Check in went rapidly. There were 7 people ahead of us and we received our room keys within 10 minutes of entering the check in line with only 2 CSR's working. Very nice job.
The room was in the old tower. Nicely appointed and very clean. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was very nice and spotless. The shower area was marble and was very spacious. The sink was outside of the shower venue which was nice to expidite the wife applying make-up without the mirror fogging up. There was a frig and flat screen in the room. I could not find a safe which surprised me considering this was a casino hotel we were staying at.
The housekeeping staff were excellent and proficient. We made a few requests and they were honored with a smile. VERY nice job by the housekeeping staff there.
The Friday buffet was excellent. the Buffet had a large variety of seafood from fresh Blue Gill to Walleye. The service was excellent and the drinks were cold! We had a birthday person with us and they treated her like royalty. Impressive all the way around.
The Casino: Fabulous. I enjoy casino gaming and have been around the world enjoying different venues in the gaming universe, I have to say I enjoyed this venue as much as any other. All of the 21 tables had live dealers. Shoe decks. Blackjack pays 3/2. 21+3 and 4 Card/Mississipi Stud available everywhere. Pit Bosses friendly as could be. Dealers were some of the finest and funniest I have had the pleasure of playing with. Aaron did a fantastic job with our group (we had about 8 people join us from around the USA to play 21 together from a BlackJack group) and they all had a great time with him and Leona. Nick the Pit Boss was an enthusiastic supporter of our winning and losing. Cocktail waitresses: on the spot and friendly and funny as you could get. Great cozy "home town Casino feel" about the place.
This is a Boyd Gaming Venue and I have always been impressed with Boyd Comps. I had not stayed at this venue in over a year and they comped us our rooms for the 2 nights and our breakfasts. I am looking forward to returning here. Southern Indiana Casinos are closer to our home however the excellent service, great dealers and generous comps may keep us driving by the closer facilities and lead us to the Blue Chip again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stayed at the Blue Chip Casino Hotel in Michigan City, IN and booked a king room in the Blue Chip Tower. The room itself was nicely decorated, comfortable and clean but unfortunately the view was of a small pond out back and a nuclear cooling tower in the distance. The air/heat unit was VERY noisy, the toilet ran and the WIFI did not work the next a.m. and no one at guest relations had any clue about that.
On the upside, the casino was fun and had everything we were expecting. The sportsbar "The Game" was great as was the restaurant "Vegas Baby" which featured a jazz band during dinner and apparently became a night club after 10 pm. The drink prices were very reasonable as well as the food in both eateries.
Overall I'd say we would go back but would be more careful about our room choice and probably stay in the Blu-Spa Tower which seemed to be a newer addition to the hotel. The rate we paid which was around $111 incl tax (on a Sunday night) was too much for the room we had.
*Also, make sure you take a trip to Indiana Dunes State Park/Lakeshore (unless you're there in the winter) - very beautiful if you like the outdoors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed at Blue Chip Casino Friday and Saturday over Labor Day and had a wonderful time thanks to the staff and hotel amendities they gave us during our stay. We stayed in the Blue Chip Spa Tower and it was beautiful and kept up. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerrillos New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Surly, unhelpful staff, hugely overpriced, ugly old rooms, no baths, room smells. AC broken.
Extremely disappointed. Not the room that was shown online from new tower. False and deceptive advertising.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Corporate Digital Marketing Manager at Blue Chip Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding the service levels and product quality you experienced at Blue Chip Casino, Hotel and Spa. Please understand that the service described is not indicative of the high standards we hold ourselves to here at Blue Chip Casino Hotel and Spa. We would welcome an opportunity to speak further about your visit to our property. Again, we appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually improve our service levels and overall guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
3.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Michigan City
Clarion Inn Michigan City
#6 of 16 in Michigan City
3.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Baymont IS Michigan City
Baymont IS Michigan City
#8 of 16 in Michigan City
3.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
8.8 mi away
Marina Grand Resort
Marina Grand Resort
#2 of 8 in New Buffalo
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Chip Casino and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Chip Casino and Hotel

Address: 777 Blue Chip Drive, 777 Blue Chip Drive, Michigan City, IN 46360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Chip Casino and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Chip Casino and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Chip Hotel Michigan City
Blue Chip Michigan City
Blue Chip Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Chip Casino and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.