We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galveston Steakhouse

Galveston Steakhouse
10 Commerce Sq, Michigan City, IN 46360-3284
219-879-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 120 Restaurants in Michigan City
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It wasn't very busy when we arrived, so we were seated quickly. The waitress was very attentive. We had the italian beef sandwich and barbecue chicken, and both were very big portions. We left very happy, and have already recommended this place to others when they're shopping in Michigan City. It is a 2 minute drive from Lighthouse Place Outlets.

We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Merrillville, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Pleasantly surprised...the portions were large and the food had a good flavor. Normally, I check out the ratings before trying a new restaurant. This time the reviews were not indicative of the quality of the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and Lake Perch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I arrived on a cold March evening for the AYCE lake perch. Our server Jim provided great service. He happily refilled our drinks, and brought us more perch. The black bean soup was very tasty and hit the spot on a cold evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, Indiana
2 reviews
“just Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The last time I was there I ordered the Steak Sandwich. Upon taking one bite, the meat had a lot of fat and grissle throughout it-very disappointed and unappetizing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was our first visit to this restaurant. We were seated quickly and all staff was very friendly. My teenage daughters got grilled chicken, which neither one really liked. They enjoyed the potatoes/french fries. I got fried shrimp and it was okay, but nothing special. My mom got grilled salmon, which she thought was wonderful, however, her vegetables were way over-cooked. The service was a little slow, but there were a couple of large tables near us, so it was understandable. Overall decent, but nothing spectacular.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston Steakhouse also viewed

 
Michigan City, IN
Michigan City, IN
 

Been to Galveston Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galveston Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.