We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whats not to like..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galveston Steakhouse

Galveston Steakhouse
10 Commerce Sq, Michigan City, IN 46360-3284
219-879-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 120 Restaurants in Michigan City
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kells, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“whats not to like..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had been here a year ago so this was return visit. Had two evening specials, fish and pasta, they were yum ...pasta was Alfredo, sauce was light and creamy, fish dish was fresh with good veg . Waiting staff good. Lovely the casual bar atmosphere yet table was private and comfy.. yes ticked all my boxes...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've gone here a few times. The service is always good. I am on a special diet and they are always willing to work with me especially with no rice/potatoes. We went on a Monday found out that their full slab of ribs are always $12.99 (?) on Mondays. They are normally $18. They truly are fall off the bone and simply delicious. The only complaint would be the salad. Just iceberg letter with the tiniest bit of cucumber. Nothing to write home about.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Try the pork.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Known for it's beef but I prefer the grilled pork tenderloin. Plentiful lean and tasty. The bar can get noisy but I don't mind.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The food may be the only thing they got going for them”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

As we walked in, I could see that the host (a short asian woman) was paying more attention to her cellphone than us. She greeted us ( after we had reached the front desk and stood there for 5 seconds)and sat us. I'm told this is a family owned restaurant by our friendly waitress. I find this funny because the host wore an awfully short dress, and her breasts were quite exposed. What kind of family approves of that? Either way, the waitress brought us decent bread, good soup, and our dinner. The chiken alfredo pasta was delicious, and my wife said the filet medallions were incredible. The price was not that bad either. Overall the place is alright.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our experience here was just okay. The service was slow & the menu was smaller than I had expected. The food was decent, but not the quality I would expect from a steakhouse. Probably won't be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston Steakhouse also viewed

 
Michigan City, IN
Michigan City, IN
 

Been to Galveston Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galveston Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.