We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel

Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel to your Saves list
Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 North Frontage Road, Interstate 94 Exit 34B, Michigan City, IN 46360   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Pepin, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This summer, it was my goal to visit the Indiana Dunes. Booked the Dunes Inn through Hotwire. I read the reviews. Some said the motel was bad and other reviews said it was good. There are not a lot of pictures of the motel online. I wasn't sure.
I arrived at the motel around 7 pm on a Friday. When I checked in, the staff was pleasant and kind. This helped after being stuck in Chicago traffic for hours.
The room was very clean and bigger than I expected. The bed was comfortable. The location is great. Walking distance to restaurants. The motel was easy to find off Interstate 94.
If you are going to Indiana Dunes, Dunes Inn is a great, affordable place to stay. I would recommend the motel to everyone and will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
1
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Rooms were very dirty! Spider webs in the corner of the room with moths and other bugs caught in them. Bathroom floor was beyond gross which matched the hole in shower wall and the tub that was chipping away. I understand it was $60 but it should still be clean!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I would have to rate this place very good in their class. Really had no complaints If your looking for a claen comfortible place to sleep at a good price this is it. Don't expect allot of frills, BUT THEY DO HAVE THE BASICS DOWN. Good Value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Arrived late at the Dunes Inn- the front desk women was very nice and got us in fast. Now the reason I gave this 2 out of 5 is because this place could have real potential. We got this room for a great deal ($50) and this was just a place to sleep and get back on the road early next day. The beds were really comfortable, and has a good size flat screen TV- however the outside looks like it use to be a Days Inn- and the up keep isn't the best (bird poop all over the stairwells- as its type of place that has entrances to rooms from outside). However the women did warn us about the birds, she said they did have someone out but they keep coming back. The room was ok cleaned... nothing special- A/C was nice and cold. We were just happy beds were comfy. Tiny bathroom with sink in main room. I have figured out when your in the U.S and you get a cheap room and its called an "inn" that is code for Motel. Owners just need to put in a little $ for paint and lil TLC for the exterior and this place could be great. Easy to find right off the interstate (mind you finding the entrance in the dark was a challenge) and the Bob Evans is not connected to this place, its in front of it- but lots of options for food around.

Room Tip: cheap place to stay if passing through
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This it's a good value motel room. It shows some wear but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The woman at the front desk was friendly and helpful about places to eat. Older TV and limited cable with Showtime. No bedspread but clean comforter in cover which more motels should do. I'd stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I had to use towels to use to wash with. I had go the office and the employee said they were out. The owner refuses to buy any wash cloths. The employee had to go to another room to take them out of that room, so that way I could have some. They rented out the room next to me they were quiet, but they were smoking pot and cigarettes that the room looked like a chimney stack. The smoke was so heavy that I got stoned from smelling it. Pot heaven for the people who smokes it and the ones that don't even smoke. The sink wouldn't even drain the sink over flowed just from washing your face. The owner JACKED up my price by $10. The employee offered to move me, but I already comfortable and didn't feel moving all my books. I wouldn't been able move far enough away.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend none. Unless you smoke pot heaven
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

It had been a very long day driving through freezing rain and snow and it was late. We just wanted a clean place to sleep preferably one that wasn't too pricey. our Hotel Coupon app had a coupon for Dunes Inn for $39.99. Couldn't ask for much better than that. A few if the reviews were questionable but we gave it a shot. The girls at checkin and checkout were friendly and went out of their way to help and just chat. Our room was quite clean and well furnished. Linens were clean and beds sporting the new look with white (blanket between 2 sheets and NO spread that NEVER looks clean) , had a micro and frig and a coffee pot. We could tell that a lot of upgrades and remodeling had been done....a few more were still needed in the bathroom. Tub and toilet were "aged" and it was time for new stuff
All on all, was pretty good for what we paid. We would stop again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel

Address: 3934 North Frontage Road, Interstate 94 Exit 34B, Michigan City, IN 46360
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel offers comfortable accomdations just completely renovated in 2013. Hotel offers in all rooms Fridge/Microwave, Cable Television with Free Showtime, Spa Inspired Bathroom Ammenities, In-Room Coffee, Iron & Board, Plush Mattresses with Triple Sheeting and plenty of outlets around the room for charging electronic devices. Entire hotel also has fast and free wireless internet powered by a dedicated High Speed Fiber Optic Line. King Rooms include larged desk area and all room include. Our hotel is located with an on-Site Bob Evans Family Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.