We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Scartozzi's Trattoria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Scartozzi's Trattoria
822 N. Karwick Rd, Michigan City, IN
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 120 Restaurants in Michigan City
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Fountain Hills
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Refused my Restaurant.com coupon that had no expiration. Business must be terrific for somebody who has a customer that will never come back and will tell all his friends about his experience...and, lives less than 100 yards away.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's all about the timing ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

No sense in leaving a review if it's not going to be honest so here goes... I used Scartozzi's to cater my recent party. They have a nice menu / variety that is well suited for feeding lots of people over an extended period of time. I will able to pick several dishes to feed 40 guests for a very reasonable amount of money, AND they deliver. BUT, they delivered too early. Several times we confirmed the time the food should arrive, 6:00pm. As I was doing last minute prep I look up at 5:24 and the food is there. He said I'd need to put the pasta and meat balls in the oven to keep them hot. One of the reasons I used catering is so I wouldn't have fire up the oven in July. I wanted to avoid using my kitchen and cooking duties all together. Plus, it was an inconvenience to have drop what I was doing and deal with the food which put me behind in prep. Don't get me wrong, 15 minutes one way or another would not have bothered me, but over a half hour was too much. Otherwise, they would have gotten a rating of excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh carry-out Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've been in Michigan City for 2 years and just tried this restaurant. What a shame to miss going for 2 years. The food is incredible. We ordered a caprese salad for 5 people. Beautiful, fresh and delicious. Our Italian exchange student from the North found it delicious and she is pretty particular about Italian food, as you can imagine.

Then we didn't know what kind of pasta to order so we just told them we like veggies and marinara and they made us an amazing dish. The prices were reasonable and we were lucky enough to have leftovers for the next day.

I think you should try it! Talk to the owner, tell them what you like to eat and they will make you something delicious. It's all made with care and love of fresh food, so buon appetito.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great take out and catering - no eating in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a nice place to stop on the way home from the Mall or the South Shore train station for some nice authentic Italian fare. They have good pastas with a variety of sauces, meatballs, sausage, and beef sandwiches, and good salads. Their business is primarily catering, but they do have good take-out, too.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Supurb Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Based on the rankings here decided to give this a try. We had the traditional lasgna. WOW if you like spinach, you must try this dish. The best lasgna with spinach that I've ever had. Try it, you'll like it. Recommend you call and get your order to go as there are exactly two tables in the restaurant. Highly recommended and deserving of it's high ranking here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scartozzi's Trattoria also viewed

Michigan City, IN
Michigan City, IN
 

Been to Scartozzi's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scartozzi's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.