We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9834 W 400 N, Michigan City, IN 46360   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    168
    78
    32
    14
See reviews for
202
148
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a very nice and clean motel. Good sleep, very clean and updated room. Wish we had brought swimsuits. There is also an exercise room and computer station. My only complaint is that there is NOTHING for a diabetic to eat in the breakfast. Boiled eggs would be adequate, but it was only carb food, which is not good. I ate elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear va3slj,
Extra, extra, read all about it! Headline in the Tripadvisor TImes...the Microtel Inn and Suites in Michigan City wins over another fan and aren't we lucky to have you! Yes we are new, sleek and clean and we thank you for taking notice of our many desireable amenities. Our only hope is that you will come and stay with us again soon and frequently. All the best and God Bless America!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear Lake, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were traveling, and looking for a good place to stay, for a good value. The Microtel met our needs! It had nice rooms, a nice breakfast, and the front desk people were very helpful. The location was okay, and near many stores and other hotels. The only complaints were: an unheated hot tub, and some loud yelling late at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Becki K,
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do strive to keep our place spic and span for our guests. I do apologize about the cool hot tub, we did have a few hours where a breaker was blown and caused the water to cool but we have things up and running correctly now. I apologize for the loud youngster as well. Thanks for choosing the Microtel Inn and Suites, northwest Indiana's premier hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

First the good, Sue at the front desk is wonderful. While chaos was all around her, she maintained her cool and was pleasant thoughout the entire ordeal.
Now the bad, this hotel was ill equipped to handle large groups. We were in town for a weekend Winter Guard compettion. Our team and another team both had booked blocks of rooms for the kids and the parents. The hotel mixed our group in with the other group and when their people were confirmed, the remaining people, who were with our group, had their reservations cancelled by the hotel. When we arrived there was just Sue at the desk. Trying to find rooms for the girls and then figure out what happened to all of the parents rooms was interrupted by the other group arriving. That's when the chaos began because they needed their rooms while we were still trying to get ours. There was no management on site to help clear up the probelm nor was there any way to reach the manager, or so I was told. Calling the customer care line was of no use as all they did was call the hotel and sit on hold for 15 minutes. In the end I had to tell Sue how to handle it. She walked 2 of our parents to another hotel. If I hadn't told her that was the appropriate action, nothing would have been done.
I would like to be able to review the rest of the hotel but since I only saw the lobby, that is all I can comment on. It was clean, and nicely arranged. I have heard that the rooms were nice. So if you are looking to book this hotel, only do so as an individual, do not use this hotel for a group. There is no restaurant or room service

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Wickedx3,
I apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. However, we did coordinate this with the team leader and got the ok to cancel the rooms that were cancelled prior to doing so. Additionally, there were several "parents" who said they were with another team in hopes of getting a lower rate, thus the crux of the whole problem. We hope to see you again in the future. The Microtel Inn and Suites by Wyndham in Michigan City, recipient of the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence in 2012 and 2013. Also recipient of the LaPorte County Recognition of Service Excellence Award multiple times, recipient of the South Shore Visitors Authority Hotel of The Year and an overall great place! Thank you for your feedback and please have happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City

Address: 9834 W 400 N, Michigan City, IN 46360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Microtel Inn & Suites, a Michigan City hotel near Lake Michigan. Just off Interstate 94 and conveniently located off Route 421, the Microtel Inn & Suites hotel is five miles from Lake Michigan. Attractions like the Washington Park Zoo, the Old Lighthouse Museum and Blue Chip Casino are minutes from this Michigan City, IN hotel. Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore is nearby, offering miles of beaches, sand dunes and woodland forests. This area provides the perfect backdrop for hiking, biking, boating, bird watching, fishing or swimming. Several marinas and golf courses are in the area for you to enjoy. A variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and specialty stores are close to this Indiana hotel. Spend the day looking for that must-have item at the Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets Mall. Several eateries and cocktail lounges are near the hotel; some are within walking distance. Travelers have access to modern conveniences like wired and wireless internet, free local and long distance calls within the Continental U.S., Business Center with copy and fax services available. The Microtel Inn & Suites hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next trip to the Lake Michigan area. Travelers will also have access to our indoor heated pool and spa, a free continental breakfast, guest laundry center, and a fitness center. Guest rooms feature a Coffee Maker, Clock Radio, Iron/Board and Haidryer, 32 inch Cable HDTV with HBO in all rooms, and many rooms also have a microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Microtel Inn And Suites Michigan City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.