We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serenity Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Serenity Springs to your Saves list
Serenity Springs
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   5888 North US Hwy 35, Michigan City, IN 46350   |  
Hotel amenities
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had an absolutely amazing time at serenity springs! The cabin was wonderful! My favorite parts were the carriage ride, the surprises through the butler door, and the hot tub! I felt very pampered by the staff; they thought of everything! We went at the end of october and it was cold. Our cabin was very toasty! The only cons I can think of: 1. They need to post directions on the website from the turnpike. Gps can not find their address and the website only gives directions from the highway. 2. The 2 seat shower isn't anything special ( not spacious nor romantic). 3. Having food delivered to your room is a nice feature they offer, but it's expensive! There are only 2 dining options. We chose the cheapest since they said the homemade pizza was great. We didn't enjoy the pizza at all... Stick with the salad! Other than those little cons, I think this place is amazing! My hubby and I really benefited from the time We had to reconnect! Definitely stay 2 nights!

Room Tip: Rooms on the pond are more private. The cabins on the channel are lovely, but, you can see people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our 2nd time back at Serenity Springs. We were in a different cabin (16) this time. Not on the lake like the last time,but our view out the back showed the stream and a cabin across from it and it gave the effect of being in the mountains. Beautiful! This cabin was identical, except for a loft in the last cabin) and was just perfect for the two of us. We got in late, so no carriage ride in, but Judy was a terrific person in taking care of everything otherwise! We got a complimentary carriage ride the next day and it was a delight. The 'butler door' always had romantic and nice treats arrive. Our brown eggs in the am for breakfast (we supplied the sausage and bacon) were such a treat and my husband does so yummy cooking with a pan and a grill! Order out for the Aurelio's pizza... ://www.aureliospizza.com/ Our fave from our first visit and we got it again this time. Candle lit dinner that we ordered out from the local resturant the offer was very good! Staff comes in to set up the candle lit table.
We ,again, had no problems during our stay. Pop, juices and snacks are provided enough for 2 days. Ice in freezer, there is a microwave, coffee provided for 3 nice size pots. All utensils and dishes provided. We knew from experince to bring sandwich meats because our plans were to stay inside the cabin the entire time! Peace and quiet! Loved it!
The cabin is very well maintained. Clean, everywhere! Oh, and the heated floors are wonderful! If you are in love, fall in love more... at Serenity Springs!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAFAYETTE
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We loved our Saturday/Sunday stay at Serenity Springs. We've never been to a place that pampered you so much. The staff was great, the room was clean, and we LOVED the butler door and carriage rides. Our cabin (#14) was beautiful and far enough away from the road that the noisy traffic was muted. Loved sitting around our back porch gas campfire, eating smores, and feeding the geese/ducks. They do swarm so it's good to stay on the deck! We requested farm fresh eggs and they delivered them (along with cookware) every evening for the next morning. Goodies/Treats were delivered throughout the day.

I could not give Serenity 5 stars because there were a few things we noticed. It would be nicer if the cost was lower. We bought a Groupon but we noticed the rates listed on the website seem extremely high for the area. The sofa was quite lumpy and squeaky. There was minor mold/water damage under the sink and behind the fridge. The bed linens were scratchy. We also had trouble with our satellite reception from time to time. It would be great if they could they could upgrade to flat panel tv's. That being said, we enjoyed our time away so much that these seemed like minor issues that didn't affect our stay or our comfort. We will DEFINITELY go back if we can get a good rate.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin on the channel. They're further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I used a Groupon deal to stay at Serenity Springs this past weekend. Despite a 5 hour drive from Ohio we were very much looking forward to our stay - especially after reading all these reviews. And let me tell you - the reviews are spot on. From the moment we arrived the service from Serenity Springs staff was amazing - they were all friendly, helpful, offered suggestions on things to do in the area. The carriage ride to our cabin gave us just a brief view of the property.

Our cabin (#26 – Sunny Delight) was actually an upgrade from the Groupon deal, but sooo worth it! Beautiful, clean, with all the amenities we needed for the weekend. The bed was beyond comfortable and we loved the little sofa. The bathroom just having a curtain wasn’t a big deal for us. We loved sitting out on the porch and feeding the geese and ducks (warning: they will swarm!) We brought food and grilled out or cooked with the microwave (which I recommend). We even got creative and made pancakes on the grill, although the breakfast basket was nice. First night we watched a movie and relaxed in the jacuzzi.

The next day we went and visited a pumpkin patch and corn maze recommended to us by the staff. Very fun. Then traveled up to Michigan City to walk by the beach (with a lovely power plant behind us lol), had a GREAT lunch at Bridges restaurant and a few glasses of wine at Shady Creek Winery (definitely recommend it!). Isn’t much to do in Michigan City, but we needed to get out a bit. We had brought bikes with us to Serenity Springs, so that made getting from our cabin to car easy, and it was fun to toodle around the grounds.

Overall I have nothing but great things to say about this place – we had exactly the relaxing, romantic weekend we were looking for. The surprises are fun, although if you stay for 2 days they are repetitive…basically the same thing both days/nights. But why complain, it’s free and it’s a nice touch. We did order pizza in one night (it ended up being pretty expensive for a small pizza once you factor in the delivery charge)

Two things to note: The place is RIGHT by the freeway. We could see the cars/trucks from our porch. We could hear them inside the cabin. So build this in to your expectations. It isn't a serene, quiet location. Also: be forewarned that the water in the shower and jacuzzi is well water…and a little stinky. So that takes away from the ambiance a bit.

Room Tip: Look at a map of the grounds - if the noise from the freeway is REALLY going to bother you, pick a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had an incredible time relaxing and enjoying your property. We were pleasantly surprised at the level of service we received. The "treats" received throughout the day and evening were wonderful! We enjoyed the carriage ride and took several long walks around the property. The accommodations were perfect. Extremely clean & comfortable! I would totally recommend (I especially likes the area of cabins 31 -35)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have passed this place for years but have never stayed before due to it being, in our opinions, cost prohibitive. Imagine our delight when we caught a groupon deal for the weekend!

We really enjoyed: the well-appointed cabin, the fact that there were so many helpful touches, like bug spray and treats delivered through the butler door. We sat on our little back porch with the fire pit on both nights and enjoyed feeding the geese the corn that was provided. The extended carriage ride was thoroughly enjoyable, and all of the staff that we encountered were outgoing in their friendliness. The sunken jetted tub got lots of use and the bed was exceedingly comfortable.

On the down side, the bed linens were VERY worn and old, and while we enjoyed breakfast and treats delivered, we found ourselves wishing for a bit of variety in the offerings by the second day. The sound of the traffic was audible from everywhere we walked on the property, and especially so from our back porch. It didn't ruin the trip or anything, but it most definitely made it a bit less serene. While we enjoyed our horse and carriage transportation, it was a little strange to have to leave your car in a remote lot and walk to it. Again, it didn't detract from the quality of the stay, it was just a little odd. We also thought it'd be a very nice upgrade to have the back porch screened in, given that bugs were very plentiful. We noticed that none of the cabins really had much privacy when on the back porch and thought that some landscaping would've been nice.

Having been together for practically forever the washroom arrangement didn't bother us, however, I imagine that some people would find it uncomfortable to have a curtain being the only thing that separates the toilet facilities from the rest of the cabin.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. The only real sticking point for us would be the normal rates--which, despite all that the place has to offer, are still high given the location and and what you can get elsewhere for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fennville, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you are looking for a place to decompress from the stress of life and have some fun together again, you've got to check this place out. Yes, it was not for the budget traveler, but it was much less expensive than marriage counseling. Worth every penny to us (less than $10 per hour!). We own our own business and work together 24/7/365 so escaping for 26 hours was a real treat (we sprung for the late check-out). For us, the child-free, internet-free, rural atmosphere was perfect. A great place to slow down, focus on each other and reconnect. Had we not gone out for dinner, we would not have had contact with another human for the entire time we were there. Perfect! LOVED the little treats in the butler door and the slower-paced method of communication with notes. The staff was great and the bed was super comfortable. Our cabin was toward the back and we didn't hear the highway at all. The cabin was clean inside with lots of attention to detail. They literally thought of everything we could need. The outside of our cabin was in need of some TLC, but we were not there to be judges for the parade of homes. Comfy, cozy and just what we needed. Traditional hotels and B&B's have nothing on Serenity Springs. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Serenity Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Springs

Address: 5888 North US Hwy 35, Michigan City, IN 46350
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Serenity Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity Springs is a unique getaway from the everyday. A couple's escape nestled on 85 acres in Michigan City, IN where you can enjoy fishing on our private lake, walking the wooded trails or enjoying a romantic carriage ride. Each cabin is furnished with a king-sized bed, gas fireplace and TV/DVD entertainment system. Relax in your sunken whirlpool tub for two while anticipating a surprise delivery in the exclusive "butler door". Step out onto your back covered deck where you will find your gas grill, campfire and glider chairs. While on your deck your you can enjoy feeding the waterfowl and roasting S'mores. In room fine dining and massage therapy are also available. "One Night's Just Not Enough"...everyone deserves a little Serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Serenity Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Springs Hotel Laporte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serenity Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.