We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7850 Rhode Island Avenue, Merrillville, IN 46410   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Lubbock, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed here for business and was pleased to see it had all the business amenities - outlets in the lamps, reliable Wi-Fi, microwave. I wish they also had mini-fridges. The bathroom was a bit dated... maybe most of the building is dated... but the staff was so friendly and helpful they more than made up for it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you! Our service is what makes our hotel special. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
12
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel in the past and were happy to return. As usual, staff was friendly and helpful. Upon check in, unfortunately, the hot tub had just stopped working and needed service. Very disappointing! However, the manager provided us with a complimentary breakfast for our inconvenience. We made the most of the stay and enjoyed the down home atmosphere in the lobby. Breakfast was excellent...everything was fresh and eggs were made to order...Rooms were outstanding and beds were firm and comfortable. Wi-Fi was accessible in room and in the lobby. Manager at front desk definitely turned what was a disappointing start into a pleasant stay..

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are so sorry about the spa being down. Things will happen that are out of our control, but we act upon them immediately and resolve the situation to our guests satisfaction!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Sometimes staff is professional. Sometimes overly friendly. Rarely do they hit the balance. This place did. Elizabeth at check-in/out
and Nicole in the morning put a gr8 face on this place.
I would come here again just for those two.
The room was good as well.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
It is our pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Location is quiet but convenient to lots of nearby shops and restaurants. The service is friendly, e.g. when checking in, the woman at the front desk offered to help me with my bag since my room was on the second floor and the hotel doesn't have an elevator. The hotel looks dated, but not so much that it's a deterrent to staying there. The room was a decent size, but the bed was uncomfortable and I had to kill a silverfish in the bathroom. Otherwise, my stay was fine.

Room Tip: No elevator- get a room on the first floor if that is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. When it comes to service, we set the bar very high. Our hotel is treated every month for unwanted guests, like silverfish, but once in a great while they try to check in. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a football tourney. Rooms were very nice and clean. Everything was good until we went for breakfast and they were out of a lot of things. I had to take my family somewhere else to eat for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We had several sports teams during your stay with us and it was a challenge keeping up with all those hungry teenagers and kids at breakfast! We learn from these experiences and apply different ways to improve and increase our service levels. We look forward to providing you with an even better experience in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I was very, very tired after a day of driving down from Northern Michigan and the ladies at the front desk had me checked in quickly and recommended a near-by cigar lounge that was quite comfortable. Returning to the hotel, they referred me to a very close restaurant with good Italian food, that was perfect! I was in bed and probably snoring almost before nightfall. The room was clean and everything functioned as expected, including the mini-fridge & microwave. I will likely stay here on my way through this area next year on the three trips I have scheduled. Finally, I felt that it was a good value, as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for staying! Please do come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I liked this hotel very much. We were attending a wedding. The towels were not as nice as the ones in my home, meaning they could be thicker. They were what I expect at a 2 star or 3 star hotel. And the smallest shampoo portion ever. Not enough if 2 people are using it. My room was a handicapped room, even though I am not handicapped. There were 3 grab bars in the tub. There was a wide door into the bathroom. That seemed to be it. No grab bar at the toilet. No way to get into the bath tub for someone severely handicapped. I would give the bathroom a C or D for handicap accessible. Breakfast was fine, but on the expensive side. Location is about average to find in daylight, but would be really difficult in the dark. In the dark we got lost at Marriott Residence, which was very close to Marriott Courtyard.

Room Tip: 2 floors. no elevator. They said they had a handicap lift to the second floor. An outdoor swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We value all of our guests responses and are always looking for ways to improve. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville

Address: 7850 Rhode Island Avenue, Merrillville, IN 46410
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Merrillville offers unique lodge style accommodations in an ideal location just 35 minutes from the bustle of Chicago. Located just off I-65 at Exit 253, this hotel is the perfect place to stay while visiting the area’s top attractions such as Star Plaza Theatre, Indiana Dunes, and Deep River Water Park. Business Travelers also appreciate the close proximity to the offices of BP, Ford, US Steel, and NiSource. This Courtyard hotel offers unique amenities among Merrillville, IN hotels including an outdoor waterfall and pond, a heated indoor/outdoor pool, and free WiFi. Enjoy a delicious breakfast at the Courtyard Café, or get in a work out on the road at the fitness center. Guest Rooms are highlighted by flat-screen TVs with premium cable and the luxurious Marriott Bedding Package. With the Windy City just 40 miles away, this hotel is also convenient for a quick commute to Chicago where you can enjoy Millennium Park, Navy Pier, or Wrigley Field. Choose the Courtyard Merrillville, one of the top Merrillville, IN hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
Courtyard Merrillville
Merrillville Courtyard
Merrillville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Merrillville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.