We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn in Merrillville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn in Merrillville to your Saves list
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7850 Rhode Island Avenue, Merrillville, IN 46410   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Merrillville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saugerties, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Business Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Here for 2 nights. Staff very nice - quick check in and knowledgeable about the area. Great breakfast and bargain at $8.95 for a full breakfast buffet (and cooked to order eggs). Room was fine, clean, but strange layout - TV was to the side of the bed. Not a big TV watcher, so that was OK. Internet was fast and easy to log in. Client recommended hotel but would stay there again even without the customer rate. One complaint was could not get the room cool enough. Also, as is right on the interstate, a little noisy with the window open. If you like fresh air, ask to be on the side away from the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. This will be some great feedback for our associates and to let them know all that hard work and passion does pay off! Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    37
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
32
14
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I was given a half sized room for a supersized price. Clean. Friendly. Not a good value, though. Location is buried deep on a one way access road, and a stone's throw from major highway noise. Next time I am in the area I will find a different solution to rest my head.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our rooms are comparable and standard size with our local competitors. We do have different categories of rooms available when you make your reservations and our Executive King is very accommodating and spacious. If you happen to be a light sleeper, please do not hesitate to let us know and we will be happy to assign you to a more quite location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The room was fine, the lobby was clean, and the pool was great. It had coffee in the lobby available and not so cheap breakfast. I was much more pleased with the place this time than last time.

Room Tip: Don't choose one on the right of the lobby. The highway is very loud there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The rooms were nice and very big. I also thought the beds were very comfortable and the service was very nice, big but if your staying for more than a couple nights you might be happier somplace else...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We truly appreciate your comments and feedback. Many of our guests stay for the entire week and our goal is to make all of them feel at home and like family. There are several places very close by to dine and the variety is endless. Please let us know of any special requests or needs you may have for a long term stay. We will be sure to make your visit a memorable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stopped off in Merrillville on our way from Chicago to Indianapolis. The front dest staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and clean, everything you would want for a stop over. Also there are plenty of places to eat nearby. One thing to mention is that there is no lift, so ask for a room on the ground floor if that might be a problem.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Not ideal for business, we had a meeting room and it was very inconvenient. There was no elevator for our guests who have a hard time with stairs. Not that it was horrible, just horrible by Marriott standards. For this area the Hilton Garden Inn is a better choice

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide the very finest service and facilities. We do have a challenge without the convenience of an elevator. We are always willing to assist with any travel items and provide service up our grand stair case. The Courtyard by Marriott, Merrillville does provide the option of a chair lift as well. Do not hesitate to ask us for assistance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is nice for a few nights, but if you are staying for longer than that, it is not a nice place to stay. The rooms smelled as if someone had been smoking in it. Although The bed was very comfortable. The pool was nice, but the hotub was much to hot. When you would first get in you would not feel very well. The bathroom in the hotel room was a little dirty, but the rest of the room was very nice. The hotel does not have an elevator to bring your luggage up to the second floor with. The hotel is a little outdated in the lobby. The breakfeast was very nice and there was a huge selection of it. If you are thinking about staying in Merillville for a couple nights and you are looking for a cheap place to stay, then this is the place to go.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have made great strides and improvement with our hot tub and guest rooms. Our staff is committed to providing the most memorable experience for all our guests. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn in Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn in Merrillville

Address: 7850 Rhode Island Avenue, Merrillville, IN 46410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn in Merrillville 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Merrillville offers unique lodge style accommodations in an ideal location just 35 minutes from the bustle of Chicago. Located just off I-65 at Exit 253, this hotel is the perfect place to stay while visiting the area's top attractions such as Star Plaza Theatre, Indiana Dunes, and Deep River Water Park. Business Travelers also appreciate the close proximity to the offices of BP, Ford, US Steel, and NiSource. This Clarion hotel offers unique amenities among Merrillville, IN hotels including an outdoor waterfall and pond, a heated indoor/outdoor pool, and free WiFi. Enjoy a delicious breakfast at the Courtyard Cafe, or get in a work out on the road at the fitness center. Guest Rooms are highlighted by flat-screen TVs with premium cable and a luxurious bedding package. With the Windy City just 40 miles away, this hotel is also convenient for a quick commute to Chicago where you can enjoy Millennium Park, Navy Pier, or Wrigley Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Inn in Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
Courtyard Merrillville
Merrillville Courtyard
Merrillville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn in Merrillville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.