We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, WiFi worked great, bed was hard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30 to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1355 E. 83rd Ave., Merrillville, IN 46410 (Formerly Extended Stay America Efficiency Studios Merrillville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Merrillville
Philly
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good value, WiFi worked great, bed was hard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Hint: to enter you room, push the key card in ALL the way! As explained to me, they are not electronic.

My room with a refrig and microwave was fine. No shampoo provided. The WiFi worked
great! The bed was rather stiff and hard but for one night was OK.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
3
17
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

The room I checked into was dirty so I requested another room. The other room was a bit cleaner but smelled like smoke as well as dog urine. The rooms need to be remodeled I spent over $400 for a week stay this hotel is really not worth the money. The hotel is pet friendly so you never know if you are sleeping where someone's dog has slept or eating out of the same bowl that the dog has eaten out of. The front desk staff wasn't rude but wasn't friendly either; tolerant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

It's usually a good sign when you arrive at a hotel or motel and the parking lot is full. Such was the case at the Extended Stay America in Merrillville, IN. The person at the front desk was pleasant, considerate, and helpful. Every aspect of my room was clean and in good order. I've had some negative experiences with some Extended Stay America hotels in recent years, but this particular hotel was outstanding in every way.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Great hotel, friendly staff, extra clean, all around great stay!!!!
We will stay here every time we travel!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

For what this hotel is, it was all I needed. Now it's not the Hilton and it's not advertised as the Hilton. It was a great place to stay, I lived there for 3 months, had a great room, the place was safe, clean, and had a great staff, took care of all my needs, I loved it there. If I had to return back to this area to work, ESA will be my first and only choice to stay. Well worth the money. Thanks to all the staff. room #102

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

The accommodation was great. Basic, but perfect for what we wanted. The price was right and the location was fantastic. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiloh, il
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Staff is not that of a luxury hotel, but acommodating. All amenities needed are there and everything is clean and reasonably priced.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30

Address: 1355 E. 83rd Ave., Merrillville, IN 46410 (Formerly Extended Stay America Efficiency Studios Merrillville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Merrillville
Extended Stay Merrillville
Merrillville Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.