We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy NOISE!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Merrillville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Merrillville to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Merrillville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8275 Georgia Street, Merrillville, IN 46410   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Holy NOISE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I am not a light sleeper, and am very used to sleeping in hotels (Gold level with both Marriott and Hilton). Normally exterior noise doesn't bother me, in fact I often stay at hotels adjacent to an Interstate, hospital, or airport.

As soon as I entered my room, I thought the window must be open there was so much noise from the freeway. Even with the blackout drapes drawn it didn't muffle the noise which was non-stop from the minute I got to the room until I checked out. I have never in my life stayed in a hotel with so little soundproofing.

The breakfast area was fine, lobby was fine, service was fine, the room was clean and other than the NOISE was comfortable, pretty standard for a Fairfield property.

But the noise. I won't stay there again until they install windows that actually cut down on the never ending roar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oconnorjo, Manager at Fairfield Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the Fairfield Inn Merrillville. Since your visit, we have completed work on the exterior of the building to caulk and seal the exterior, reducing the amount of highway noise our guest hear. I hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area.

Regards,

John OConnor
Regional VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
15
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holland, MI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Love the area and we go there to check out the mall and eat at Joe's Crab Shack. Thre are none in are area of Michigan. Also found a cute town just south that has tons of antique stores there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffimerrgm, Manager at Fairfield Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I usually prefer Courtyards, but have been trying the Fairfield's lately when they seem newer in age than the CY's...this one was good enough. I think it is showing some signs of age, but it was relatively clean and a good value for the rate. As always with properties, they seem to neglect 'real sanitary' cleaning in areas like corners of bathrooms and behind beds/nightstands. Again, this location was good - not above par - but not bad, I would stay again if I had business in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Frequent user of Fairfield Inns. Excellent value and excellent breakfast is what is expected and that is what you get. First floor hallway to room on the day we arrived was in need of vacuuming.
Front desk attendant Julie(?) very helpful but every time we went in or out she was on the phone.
The best thing about this site was that it across- 50 yards- from an excellent Mexican restaurant

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Average "express" motel, nothing bad but nothing great. Nice clean place flat screen tv's, newer renovated rooms. Small lobby and breakfest area. I recieved discounted price with priceline, I would not pay the higher price with Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All across the U.S.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We had to attend a funeral in the area and needed two rooms. Because one of our family is handicapped, we needed a handicapped accessible room. The hotel clerk was very understanding and said there was a handicap accessible room right at the side door with a parking space so designated. It was a 15 foot walk from the car to the room! This hotel really understands the needs of individuals who are wheel chair or walking cane bound. Rooms were immaculate and the lobby was warm and friendly (loved the chocolate chip cookies!). The hotel clerk also recommended a restaurant that delivered to the hotel. In the morning, there was a special effort by the breakfast hostess to give me a tray to hand-deliver breakfast items to that room. We travel quite a lot and was impressed with this particular Marriott Fairfield Inn because they truly went the extra mile. Thanks for the great service and warm/friendly rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room. Easy to get to breakfast area, computers, pool, lobby desk, etc. Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I don't think you'll go wrong here. Woke up on Saturday morning wanting to get on the road early, but breakfast isn't put out until 7 a.m. on weekends. The gentleman at the front desk generously offered to go into the pantry and get me muffins and yogurt, which I greatly appreciated. Have to say that Fairfield has really good bakery style muffins at all the locations I've stayed at recently, and Activia yogurt -- my favorite. The room and bath were clean and nice, if small. It was on the interstate side of the building, but we didn't hear any traffic noise. The king size bed took up most of the room. There was a desk & office chair and comfy upholstered chair. No mini fridge or microwave or sofa, but I've never felt that those were worth paying extra for if you are only going to be there a night or two. Like another reviewer said, our room was small and the bath had a tiny triangular sink/vanity tucked in the corner. No complaints, just an observation. If you are staying for several days or sharing the room/bath with someone else, you might want to make sure you get a room with a bigger vanity area. We definitely got our money's worth and will stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Very small vanity area in our bath, so check the room first if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Merrillville

Address: 8275 Georgia Street, Merrillville, IN 46410
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville is ideally located in the heart of Merrillville, IN at the southwest corner of I-65 and US-30. This premier location offers easy access to the area’s top destinations including Star Plaza Theater, Indiana Dunes Lakeshore, and Westfield Mall, as well as the offices of NiSource, BP, and Cargill. Guests staying at this Merrillville hotel enjoy starting their day off right at the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind after a long day on the road in the pool. Guest rooms are highlighted by flat-screen HD TVs with premium cable, full-sized work desk, free WiFi, and select rooms with mini-fridges and microwaves. Stay at the Fairfield Inn Merrillville and enjoy the premier amenities and an ideal location that make this one of the top Merrillville, IN hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Merrillville
Merrillville Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Merrillville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.