We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Makes The Difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel at Star Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel at Star Plaza to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel at Star Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 East 81st Avenue, Merrillville, IN 46410   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Customer Service Makes The Difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a weekend get away. Used Carlson points so trip was free. When onsite requested a King Suite Upgrade which was also free. Once in room discovered that towels were in the bathroom. Called the front desk and informed that it needed cleaning. Hotel manager came to room personally and resolved the issue. His customer service acumen overcame any ill thoughts about the hotel. We were also offered complimentary breakfast. Not that the bathroom was dirty however there were a few towels in the tub. The rest was ok. I've informed the Assistant Manager Patrick Brown that whenever Im at the Radisson, we'll be staying in this facility. Excellent display of professionalism. Cheers!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony have a wonderful inside view of the atrium and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    64
    51
    39
    37
See reviews for
89
45
6
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. Honestly the worst stay I have ever had at any hotel. My family and I were treated with more respect and hospitality at Motel 6(and at a far better price). The hotel staff seem to care more about functions and guests there for events than for hotel guests. The pool was ice cold. My son and I saw signs for a game room, walked around looking for it just to be told it hasn't existed "for quite some time". I paid cash, but the front desk still put a hold on my credit card(which is still there), and I never received my cash deposit back. Terrible stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, General Manager at Radisson Hotel at Star Plaza, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Jeremi,

It was great speaking with you and thank you again for your feedback as it is much appriciated in our effort to better serve you and our guests. That being said, I am glad we were able to resolve your issues and make it right for you in the conclusion.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Best,
Patrick Brown
Assistant General Manager
219.769.6311 x5111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Needed a place for some sleep on road trip. Didn't use pool or lounge. Eyebrows were raised when we noticed several police cars around the check-in awning. Lots of people (guests?) loitering in halls while going to room. Rooms were nice. Once lights went out to sleep at 1 am the din of the hotel crescendoed into a constant disruption to anything resembling rest. Then the fire alarm went on for several minutes. Front desk said to stay in rooms. Someone must have pulled alarm. Contacted front desk requesting that some security come to stop the party in the hallways. Told us that there was lots going on and they couldn't come to check things out. Decision made to check out and continue middle of night road trip early on thanksgiving. Probably a great place to party after a concert next door but was not a good option for weary travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, General Manager at Radisson Hotel at Star Plaza, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear salmiakim,

Thank you for your recent review, and great to hear about your actual room experience. My sincerest apologies for the noise issues you encountered with the false fire alarm and associated guests in the hallways. I can certainly assure you that this is not the norm and would encourage you to reach me at the below contact info if you are looking to stay again while in the area.

Best,
Patrick Brown
Assistant General Manager
219.769.6311 x5111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Customer Service was excellent! the room King with a sofabed was very comfortable very relaxing. I had a view of the Star Plaza parking lot and the highway. It was ok. not a problem. The staff was always anticipating my needs and ready to assist at every moment. I stay at this hotel any time I come to Merriville, IN. It is a family oriented hotel. It has an outdoor and indoor pool. Restaurant with great food live entertainment at night. highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palos heights
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have been there several times for concerts and have always been very satisfied with the service. We were running late for the concert and the buffet before the concert was very good and the service was prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

As we were attending a concert at the Star Plaza Theatre, we thought it might be nice to stay at the Radisson. We knew the hotel and the theatre had a connecting skywalk. Turned out to be a very nice experience all around. The room was excellent. The restaurant inside had great food and staff. The convenience to the concert was a treat, since we didn't have to drive anywhere after. The hotel staff was quite friendly and helpful.
We will be sure to stay here again if we come to the Merrillville area for another concert.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Despite its dated interior decorating, the rooms were very clean and the staff was very helpful and responsive. The only thing keeping it from being excellent was the sleep number bed didn't work. Fortunately it was already set/stuck on a setting that I could sleep on so I didn't complain about it, however a couple of other people in my group also said the sleep number beds in their rooms were not working either. I loooove the fact that Starbucks is right there in the hotel. Overall, it was a decent stay.

Room Tip: If you are wary of your room being easily accessible to the outside, do not select a room on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel at Star Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel at Star Plaza

Address: 800 East 81st Avenue, Merrillville, IN 46410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel at Star Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel at Star Plaza is a captivating retreat located in the heart of the Midwest near Chicago. The location near Chicago also puts guests within minutes of the must-see attractions in Northwest Indiana. Guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed Internet Access, mini-fridge, flat-screen TV, and pillowtop mattress. The property also features an indoor and outdoor pool, including the signature Atrium pool set in a tropical oasis, fitness room,several on-site restaurants and a Starbucks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel at Star Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Merrillville
Radisson At Star Plaza
Radisson Merrillville
Merrillville Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel at Star Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.