We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   8300 Louisiana St, I-65 at Hwy 30E Ext 253, Merrillville, IN 46410-6312   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 21 hotels in Merrillville
Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Okay for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Good room for the price. The continental breakfast was not worth getting up for, nor was the coffee. Other than that, the place was clean. Average room.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    15
    14
    19
See reviews for
25
7
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

It wasn't so bad. I admit I was a bit nervous when I saw the "low weekly rates" on the marquee-- that's usually a sign of trouble. And the lobby was really decrepit-- clean, but very shabby.

Otherwise, it was pretty much what I expected for $60 in the Chicago area. The hallways were clean, and the room was fine. The toilet ran every few minutes, which was annoying, but everything worked. It was VERY quiet-- amazingly so, as it was close to the highway. The staff was pleasant. Free wireless. It's in a big complex of hotels and restaurants, so there are plenty of places to eat. No green anywhere, but that's not why we go to highway hotels.

It felt safe enough on the second floor too. I never stay on the first floor.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

I had read two negative reviews prior to staying at the motel, but thought we'd try it and hope for the best. After listening to dogs bark in rooms surrounding us all night long, we changed the name to Kennel Eight Motel. I can just imagine people letting their dogs sleep in bed with them. YUCK! If that wasn't bad enough, I stepped into the dingy shower and found an old, black piece of soap waiting for me. Needless to say, we'll pay the extra money and stay somewhere cleaner next time!

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene County, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

We were in town to visit family for three days so we were looking for the cheapest hotel available that would accomodate two adults and three young childern (seven and under). The Super 8 Merrillville qualified. With a discount through our insurance, we paid a total of $130 for two nights. It took about 10 mins. to check in. We booked a non-smoking room with a queen bed and got a non-smoking room with two double beds, but it was on the ground floor which was a plus for us and it smelled good so we didn't ask to change rooms. With record temps/humidity for the area, the air conditioner had a hard time trying to meet our demanding temperature standards. (We like our rooms COLD.) The room was clean enough and quiet enough. Great location. Right across for an awesome mall and some major shopping. McDonald's very convenient. All in all, we would stay there again, unless we find something cheaper.

  • Liked — Price.
  • Disliked — small room for family of 5
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

Entire hotel smelled of must and mold. You could see water stains on the caroets everywhere. I was lied to about complementary breakfast. There was virtually nothing there. Bus tour got late becuase of this we had to stop at McDonalds. I had a jacuzzi in my room that was broken and had obviously been that way for a long time. The vending machine ate my money and nobody cared. The alam clocks were not reset by cleaning staff so a couple people got woke up in the middle of the night. Someone else frantically thought he missed the bus because the time on the clock was wrong. What a complete disaster. I went through the head office of Super 8 and didn't even get any compensation for this. We paid $70/night! Yuck.

I WOULD HAVE RATHER HAD EVERYONE SLEEP ON THE BUS THAN THIS JUNKHOLE.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area

Address: 8300 Louisiana St, I-65 at Hwy 30E Ext 253, Merrillville, IN 46410-6312
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merrillville
Super Eight Merrillville
Merrillville Super Eight
Merrillville Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Merrillville/Gary Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.