We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can be surprised.. In a good way.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6201 Opportunity Ln., Merrillville, IN 46410-2776 (Formerly Lees Inn Merrillville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You can be surprised.. In a good way.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

After the terrible reviews I expected a house of horrors. I found friendly staff, huge room with table and chairs, nice couch and reading chair with coffee table, great bed, modern bathroom and immaculately clean.
I could complain that one electric plug was missing its cover, and only one shampoo, or that the hot tub was gone and the pool was cool... But why would I want to?
I walked 100 feet to the Crackerbarrel.. Yum, sweet tea and grits....and all for $ 46.80 !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay with us has been pleasant. We appreciate your review as well and hope that you will be staying with us again in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    10
    9
    16
See reviews for
24
6
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalona, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

When I checked into this hotel, they asked me to sign a quiet policy that stated I would be responsible for any noise after 11 P.M. and if after one warning, I would have to leave. This policy made it a very quiet hotel after 11 P.M.

Our room looked like the maid had forgotten to finish sweeping but the girl from the front desk came immediately and swept the area.

Breakfast is just bagels, toast, donuts, juice, coffee, and cereal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager E, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We're very pleased that you were happy with the quietness of our property. I do apologize for the uncleanliness you experienced and I appreciate you bringing it to our attention so that we can make sure that it does not happen again in the future. We hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night with 5 kids. Indoor pool was very cold and hot tub was almost as cold. No pool towels were available. Rooms were big and clean. Two queen beds in each room were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very limited and was actually completely cleaned out and not serviced. After waiting, they eventually brought out more food. This place is okay if you need a cheap place with clean comfortable beds. Don't expect great amenities or service

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. We are under new management now and we have made sure to pay extra special attention to all of our feedback. We sincerely hope that you would give us another try in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was appalled to see the garbage can at the front door overflowing with trash, which spilled out along the side of the entrance and onto the walkway. Filth also in the hallways and rooms! I HAVE PICS

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. We are under new management now and we have made sure to pay extra special attention to all of our feedback, yours included. We sincerely hope that you would give us another try in the future as we have made numerous changes since your previous stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

When my family and I arrived at econolodge,first impression.What did I get my family into?There was so many people in the lobby late at night,being very loud,using profanity as well.Being that this location is neigboring gary,indiana still I gave the benifit of the dought.HUGE MISTAKE!The room smelled horrible,the hallway was no better.The only good thing and I do meanthe ONLY GOOD THING about this place was Shannons great customer service,she was sweet and so very helpful.We left after a short while because of fear for our safety.I hope this review helps managment to stop letting the flow of local trash come into this hotel because it could be a nice place to stay.Give Shannon a raise for putting herself in danger.

Room Tip: Stay faraway from anything on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Myself and the team here at EconoLodge are very pleased that you had a great stay. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Lick, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hubby and three other couples taking our vintage cars to a show. Nice clean rooms, great location and a very safe and well lighted parking lot with lots and lots of room. Arrived Friday night and left Sunday. Can't say enough about everything for the great price of $49.95. We will come back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The old adage, "you get what you pay for" so often holds true with Hotels. Having said that, the Econo Lodge in Merrillville, OH was very good place to stay for the price. The room was clean and that staff was very polite and accommodating. Furthermore, the Continental Breakfast was really not bad at all for a low budget hotel. The location is a easy drive off the highway, and in a safe location. Bottom line, when I travel this route in the future, I will probably book a room here again. Good job. Note, all rating based on cost of the room.

Room Tip: There is a pool and whirlpool, and the hotel is willing to keep them open a bit later than the poste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you were happy with your stay and the value. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 6201 Opportunity Ln., Merrillville, IN 46410-2776 (Formerly Lees Inn Merrillville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merrillville, IN Hotel - EconoLodge hotel located in Merrillville, IndianaWith convenient, easy access to Interstate 65, the newly-renovated EconoLodge(R) hotel in Merrillville, IN is the perfect location to reach such destinations as Chicago, Lake Michigan and the many attractions in the far northwest part of Indiana. This Merrillville, IN hotel is near Deep River Water Park, Star Plaza Theatre and the Majestic Star Casino. Indiana Dunes State Park is a short trip east along the shores of Lake Michigan. Guests of the EconoLodge hotel will enjoy the exercise room and indoor heated pool. Other amenities include: Free breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet,Free weekday newspaper,Free local calls, cable television, pillow-top mattress, coffee maker, desk. Some rooms offer a refrigerator; hair dryers, irons and ironing boards are available at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lees Hotel Merrillville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.