We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Merrillville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Merrillville to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Merrillville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8339 Ohio Street, Merrillville, IN 46410   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Merrillville
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for Families!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed here while with our newborn son and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect hotel. Our room was clean and anytime we need extra items such as dishwasher detergent the staff gladly provided it. We also used the exercise room and laundry room both were spotless. The hotel is close to everything you could need such as grocery stores and restaurants. We also brought our dog and the hotel provided pick up bags!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
7
1
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fire Island, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My stay was so terrible! First of all the staff including the General Manager Khalid are very unpleasant and just unprofessional. When I checked in the room was not even ready. My room was very nasty and had smelled like poopy diapers I could tell that the floor was not vaccummed or mopped there was hair in the tub and old pink mold on the shower handle. When front desk called housekeeping the supervisor came out and could not even speak english and maintenance had to translate for her that was very unprofessional!!!! Then the housekeeping supervisor kept muttering words in Spanish to Maintenance. To make things worse my remote control to the tv was not working so Maintenance walked up in my room and did not exven knock did not have on a badge to identify himself and not to mention was creepy loooking!!! I complained this to the General Manager Khalid he did not seem to care and even called me a sarcastic liar and to go to hell , yes everyone the general manager told me to go to hell, I then tried to immediately check oput but If I did I would still get charged. I left anyways and stayed at the RED ROOF INN who yes is a cheaper hotel but the staff there were so nice!!!!!!!!!!!!! Candlewood Suites Is a DIRTY NASTY PLACE!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

i stayed two nights and my stay was fine. i arrived at 1 pm which was before check in and went to the gym room waiting for a room to become available. There were about 5 machines there which was adjacent to the free laundry that i did not use. one treadmill didn't seem to work properly. When the room was available it was on the parking lot level. the first night, a friday was quiet the Saturday wasn't as much with people coming in. The hotel is beside the expressway but quiet from road noise. Bed was good. I was gone for the full day (Sat.) until 5pm and when i returned the room was not done. The room was with a kitchen in the same room. it had a full refrig, dishwasher and microwave. Internet was free. The washroom sink didn't have a sink plug so i had to use a flat one that you will need to bring. The hotel is off a very wide and busy road with a lot of restaurants and a shopping center. I found a good place for breakfast named Sheffield's. It is on the corner of Mississippi and 82nd. It would also seem to be good for lunch. no restaurant at the hotel.
I paid $84 which was a good price in relation to the next place i stayed, a Holiday Inn express at $123.00 in another town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANVILLE
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The desk staff was very indifferent, not a smile or welcome from either we dealt with. There was a parking lot light shining into my face all night because the curtains were not set up to close together. The fan on the AC was very loud even on the low setting.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Staying at the Candlewood Suites in Merrillville, Indiana transformed a business trip into a vacation. The hotel staff treats guests as though they were part of an extended family. The facilities are clean and spacious and the hotel staff are professional, courteous and helpful. All members of the staff, from the hotel manager, Khalid, the front desk staff, the maintenance engineer and the housekeeping staff extended themselves to make our lengthy stay an extremely enjoyable one. Although we are looking forward to returning home after a month working in the Merrillville, Indiana area, we are sorry to say goodbye to our new friends at the Candlewood Suites.

The hotel is also close to numerous fine restaurants and shopping. A major upscale mall is only a few moments away.

We extend our thanks to all of the members of the hotel staff for making our trip so comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Eastern side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Super comfortable room, they thought of every little touch. There was a bag of popcorn and a bowl in the microwave, plenty of multi-purpose dishes in the cupboards, great soaps/shampoo, free current magazines, and a great bed and pillows. Usually only the higher-end places have pillow menus, but we didn't even use this service because the ones they provided were so plush. The place is very new (about 1 year old, in March 2010) and extremely clean. They have a great little convenience store where we got juice and snacks.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

When I arrived at the Candlewood Suites, I had no idea what I was in for. When I got to our room, I was shocked beyond belief; the room was clean, and it had things in it that I had never experienced before. Namely, cooktop, kitchen cabinets, dishwasher, full size frig, sink, flat screen TV, table that could be used to eat a meal on, or take care of business papers, and the beds were queen sized. I was so happy to stay there, and I will stay there again whenever I'm visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Merrillville

Address: 8339 Ohio Street, Merrillville, IN 46410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Merrillville 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Merrillville, IN Offers a Wide Variety of Amenities Located just a few minutes from the shores of Lake Michigan, Merrillville, IN is a beautiful city with plenty to do and see. Whether you are relocating or on an extended business stay, the Candlewood Suites Merrillville Hotel is the place to consider home. Business travelers will find several corporate offices within a short distance of our extended stay hotel in Merrillville. US Steel and Purdue Research Park are both within 15 miles of our accommodations. Merrillville also has several major retail centers on the US 30 corridor. The Star Plaza Theatre, the largest venue in Merrillville, is just two miles away. While lodging in Merrillville, you can enjoy the convenience of our close proximity to several of the area¿s most popular attractions. Deep River Water Park and Westfield Southlake Shopping Mall are both just a few miles away. The downtown Chicago area and several casinos are within 45 miles of our Merrillville accommodations. At our Merrillville extended stay hotel, we put the amenities where they really count. Every apartment-style suite has a fully equipped kitchen that includes dishes and appliances. Guests can also enjoy our complimentary laundry facilities. Other amenities include a business center and a health & fitness center. Book your stay with us today and enjoy excellent rooms and rates at our hotel in Merrillville, IN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Merrillville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.