We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sibling retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast

Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4329 East State Road 47, Marshall, IN 47859   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Marshall B&B and Inns
Markle, Indiana
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“sibling retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was the first of a tradition we would like to keep going. My siblings and our spouses rented the house for a retreat time and to go kayaking. The house was like a 5 star hotel in the middle of farm country. We were all raised around farmland so this was perfect for us! The house is in the middle of the country, but close enough to town to make a quick trip if needed. It was quiet and very private. We rented the whole house and were very pleased with the amenities. The whole house and bedrooms were furnished with high quality bedding, carpeting and furnishings. Each bedroom came with a king sized bed and it's own bathroom. This was perfect for 4 couples. We had the use of the kitchen (we cooked our own meals) and the laundry room (we washed our wet clothes after kayaking). There was a deck off the back of the house that we used in the evenings to gather and enjoy each others company. I could not recommend this place enough! I hope we will be able to go back soon! The host and hostess were wonderful and very friendly. A home away from home!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have stayed with Judy and Sam for the past 8 years. The accommodations are always spotless, the breakfast delicious, and the hospitality the best. The stay is immeasurably better than staying at the Turkey Run Inn. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

As part of the bike club, I was very happy with our room and setup. We had a nice room with a private bathroom. Yes the Jacuzzi was not working, but when I informed Sam, he looked at it and said that he would fix it. Our shower worked fine and had plenty of hot water. The water is well water and if you are not used to it or have not drank it before it does have a different taste. Sam and Judy were very friendly and accomandating. They let us store our bikes in the garage out of the rain and gave us the run of the place. The breakfast were excellent, consisting of cereal, fresh fruit, yogart, bagels muffins and hard boiled eggs, along with orange juice, coffee and tea. As far as things to do we enjoyed the bike riding, kayaking, and hiking thru the parks. In the evenings we went to a different restaurant every night and enjoyed the meals and reasonable prices. I would recommend the viniger pie and cat fish dinners. The weather was intermittent rain and the cell phone service was not very good, but Sam and Judy can not be held responsible for that. I enjoyed their hospitality and would highly recommend Grannys Farm Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: You would be better off paying a liltte extra for the private room and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in room 3 and 15 other people from my bike club stayed in the farm house and the barn. be sure to bring your own water. The water smells bad and tastes worse. Our friends filled up the Jacuzzi in their room (didn't work) and said the water in the tub was a gray green and smelled bad. Our room had a nice sitting area but the bedrooms are really storage closets with twin beds in one and a double in t he other. If you shut the door you feel like you will suffocate. It felt way too hot in less than 5 minutes. The breakfast was nice with fresh fruit and cereal. After riding bicycles around the very rough roads of Parke county which may have been last paved in 1945, we took a very quick shower. The water was COLD! If you want to put something in the refrigerator you need to walk down a wobbly stairwell, through the owners home and down to the basement. Not too convenient. Internet connection was incredibly slow (think 1990 dial up) or non existent. Cell phone service was frustrating because when we would call each other to make arrangements the calls would get dropped over and over. Cell batteries died quickly in roaming mode.
We toured the covered bridges which all look alike save one that had windows. We left early because there is Nothing to do in Parke county except watch the corn grow. Rain is a real bummer. Two days of that was plenty.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sam and Judy are so nice ! Great place, fantastic environment, amazing style. Everything is just fantastic and the feeling of being away from anywhere is awesome ! Close to Turkey run state park, perfect place for hikers and canoers !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A friend recommended it to us last minute. We got room 3, a large sitting room, with a loft area and two bedrooms. We rushed in took showers(very hot!) and headed to Turkey Run SP for a wedding. Afterwards we relaxed and watched some tv. Breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit and home baked goodies! Sam was very gracious. This was my first experience at a B&B, it certainly won't be my last!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This wonderful bed and breakfast exhibits country relaxation to a T! Located close to Turkey Run State Park and all of the covered bridges in Parke County, this is a superb choice for accommodations. Choose a suite in the old farmhouse, in the new farmhouse, or even in the barn. Each one is decorated to the highest quality, the bedding is way above standard, and there are other thoughtful amenities to make one's stay enjoyable. The host family went out of its way to be helpful; and the breakfasts offered more than anyone could want with cereal, juices, bagels, muffins, warm cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit, and plenty of coffee. If you like peace and quiet but you also enjoy being pampered, this is a place for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4329 East State Road 47, Marshall, IN 47859
Location: United States > Indiana > Marshall
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marshall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.