We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you coul d much better” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast

Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4329 East State Road 47, Marshall, IN 47859   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Marshall B&B and Inns
Oberlin OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“you coul d much better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in room 3 and 15 other people from my bike club stayed in the farm house and the barn. be sure to bring your own water. The water smells bad and tastes worse. Our friends filled up the Jacuzzi in their room (didn't work) and said the water in the tub was a gray green and smelled bad. Our room had a nice sitting area but the bedrooms are really storage closets with twin beds in one and a double in t he other. If you shut the door you feel like you will suffocate. It felt way too hot in less than 5 minutes. The breakfast was nice with fresh fruit and cereal. After riding bicycles around the very rough roads of Parke county which may have been last paved in 1945, we took a very quick shower. The water was COLD! If you want to put something in the refrigerator you need to walk down a wobbly stairwell, through the owners home and down to the basement. Not too convenient. Internet connection was incredibly slow (think 1990 dial up) or non existent. Cell phone service was frustrating because when we would call each other to make arrangements the calls would get dropped over and over. Cell batteries died quickly in roaming mode.
We toured the covered bridges which all look alike save one that had windows. We left early because there is Nothing to do in Parke county except watch the corn grow. Rain is a real bummer. Two days of that was plenty.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sam and Judy are so nice ! Great place, fantastic environment, amazing style. Everything is just fantastic and the feeling of being away from anywhere is awesome ! Close to Turkey run state park, perfect place for hikers and canoers !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A friend recommended it to us last minute. We got room 3, a large sitting room, with a loft area and two bedrooms. We rushed in took showers(very hot!) and headed to Turkey Run SP for a wedding. Afterwards we relaxed and watched some tv. Breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit and home baked goodies! Sam was very gracious. This was my first experience at a B&B, it certainly won't be my last!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This wonderful bed and breakfast exhibits country relaxation to a T! Located close to Turkey Run State Park and all of the covered bridges in Parke County, this is a superb choice for accommodations. Choose a suite in the old farmhouse, in the new farmhouse, or even in the barn. Each one is decorated to the highest quality, the bedding is way above standard, and there are other thoughtful amenities to make one's stay enjoyable. The host family went out of its way to be helpful; and the breakfasts offered more than anyone could want with cereal, juices, bagels, muffins, warm cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit, and plenty of coffee. If you like peace and quiet but you also enjoy being pampered, this is a place for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Barn Suite during a recent trip to Turkey Run. The rooms were immaculately clean & well maintained. My husband wanted to take the entire bed home with us...the sheets, mattress & pillows were all fabulous. The little touches were much appreciated...a pitcher of cool water in the fridge, an iPod docking station/clock. The hosts were very gracious & personable.

Only a few complaints...the bedroom had an east-facing window with wooden blinds, so it made sleeping in a little difficult. The other downside was the lack of communication options...terrible cell service (not surprising considering the locale), no WiFi & no house phone in our room (which was a drive down the road from the main house). We were on an anniversary trip but still wanted to be able to contact my mother to check on the kids.

Overall, a lovely experience & we'd definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: I'd recommend staying at either the main house or the farmhouse. The Barn Suite was nice but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peotone, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our 5th trip to Granny's Bed and Breakfast. The house is clean and very inviting. It is only 1 mile off route 47 and easy to get to. The amnities in the house are all in good working order. Our family rents the home each year for a family weekend. We have 8 adults and 4 children and don't feel crowded at all. Judy and Sam are gracious hosts and we look forward toour trip each year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay if your going to Turkey Run or Shades state parks.
Large rooms that are tastefully decorated. Very clean and comfortable.
Quiet and relaxing in the middle of the country!
Great overall experience on 9/18/12

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4329 East State Road 47, Marshall, IN 47859
Location: United States > Indiana > Marshall
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marshall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.