We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mill is a great bar/restaraunt in a historic building overlooking the river.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Mill
washington St, Marion, IN 46952
765 664 4637
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 73 Restaurants in Marion
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“The Mill is a great bar/restaraunt in a historic building overlooking the river.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

I travel to Marion on business a lot and spend the majority of my free evenings at The Mill. The fare is impressive and everything is delicious. From the Seared Ahi tuna and the bacon-wrapped filet petite appetizers to the pizzas, burgers, steaks and pastas, you will not find better food in the area. The selection of seasonal and craft beers helps also!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Crap menu, nice staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The menu is miniscule at best, and insanely overpriced. They literally have only one fish, chicken, and beef entree. They also have one fish, one beef, and one chicken sandwich. Terrible menu. Want be back.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Mill...Your own private place on the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Marion Indiana is near Taylor University in Upland Indiana and thankfully it can boast this wonderful spot on the river for dining!!1
Yes, there are stairs, however, they also have access via ramp so that should not deter anyone.
This actual old mill is a goldmine of interesting artifacts from back in the day when it was in operation. It has only been made more interesting by the use of the various levels - including one for a grand piano that you look up at...well...you just have to see it for your self!!!
I made reservations signt unseen and did not really check for reviews, so I was thrilled when the person who took my call was so kind as to open the place early on Saturday for graduation diners. On graduation weekend, they are now open by 2pm, and can accomodate with ease a large party. There were 10 in our group and we had fabulous service from all staff as our group trickled in...the staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable.
The menu has just enough selections to make for an interesting mix of American fare, with a dash of some interesting items not expected.
We had ahi tuna and artichoke dip as part of our appitizers and were impressed with the freshness and flavors. This place shines when compared to "chains" and pre-meal foods, you will not be dissapointed!
For the main meal we had a choice of simpler menu items such as gormet burgers to stake and fish cooked to order.
The steak was excellent and perfectly cooked, infact all of the items ordered were above and beyond expectation in flavor, presentation and price.
Just when we thought it coudl not get any better, we were presented with a selection of desserts that had a "wow" factor in each. I had two, that is how good it was.
And I did not even mention and view... awesome to have windows all around so no matter where you are seated you can see the beautiful valley and river below.
So if you are just in the area or a Taylor University parent or visitor this is a "must try" for you dining options!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
impactgal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Wonderful atmosphere and good service. You do have to walk up a lot of stairs, but the view is really nice. On Friday nights there is a live piano player - so It's a neat way to dine.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We were headed home on our road trip and found The Mill. What a beautiful restaurant. Great ambiance, nice service.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill also viewed

 

Been to The Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.