We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverboat Inn and Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverboat Inn and Suites
906 E First St, Madison, IN 47250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Madison
Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Exceptionally clean rooms and wonderful staff. You will not be disappointed! We had to cut our vacation stay short over Memorial Day weekend but we will be back before the summer is over! Very nice homey rooms where the staff is truly personable and cares about your needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    29
    13
    9
    8
See reviews for
16
53
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at Riverboat Inn last summer and now we are again this summer. The staff is very, very friendly and very helpful.

The rooms were neat and clean. I highly recommend this place. Hanover is not far from here and our girls had a wonderful time. The atmosphere is peaceful and they make you feel at home. This is your home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Kathie picked this place up about 6 years ago and I first landed here for the first time 6 months later. (From all accounts it's a good thing I hadn't tried it before!) It's very attractive and comfortable and looks right out on The Ohio River. And Kathie's knowledge of the river and the riverboats (esp The Delta Queen, of course) adds greatly to the experience.

All the rooms are quite new and nicely done. And there's a very nice restaurant and lounge right next door (a short walk along the river).

The only downside is no fault of theirs. Unless you have a GPS, you just have to be determined to head to the bridge and then turn off just before having to cross. <g> And then... there you are!,

I've been here solo several times, once for a most terrific anniversary trip with my wife. Great place in a really great quaint 19th century town.

Room Tip: We always opt for the slightly pricier river view rooms. Can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in the Captains Quarters in June 2012 while our girls basketball team was competing at Hanover College and although it was obvious that it was a low-budget hotel, I gave them the benefit of the doubt. We had no hot water in our suite- which can happen, I realize. The staff gave us keys to another room so that we could use the other room to shower. Before we called the front desk to report that our hot water wasn't working, my husband took a look at the hot water heater since it was in the hall closet. It was illegally wired and you could even see where there had been a small fire at one time due to the hill-jack job. Not exactly safe. Like, I said- I didn't even complain because after all- they gave us keys to another room to use a hot shower.

Our girls team booked rooms there again this year (2013). I figured we'd give it a 2nd chance to see if things had improved. First of all, do NOT email these people if you expect to get any kind of service or information. Although the website DIRECTS you to email them when you click on the "Contact Us" button, it will take 48 hrs to receive a response and even then, you will be hard pressed to get the information you need. After attempting to email the front desk for 3 days, I received an email asking me to give them a call. So I did. STILL the woman at the front desk would not give me simple information without me beating it out of her. These rooms are overpriced for what you get- it's an old building & not very updated. I don't even know where they get the pictures to put on tripadvisor because none of the rooms/lobby areas that I went in looked half as nice as what is pictured.

The property is located in a neat area- built high on a hill & you an see the river & bridge from the hotel. In my opinion, seeing a contaminated river is not worth the price that they're charging for these rooms. Just don't expect much customer service if you stay here. While I'm sure the staff is friendly, they aren't real professional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverboatmadison, Owner at Riverboat Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
I am so sorry you had a bad experience. I was out of state taking care of family illness. I will call you and do my best to rectify this for you. Several new staff are no longer at the hotel. My goal is for all to have a good experience. Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a whim during a roadtrip through the tri-state area. This place is absolutely breathtaking. It's perfect even down to the little details and makes you pause to take it all in. It is everything you could possibly want for some r&r. Brilliant and beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Riverboat Inn on several occasions and have never been disappointed. Many of the rooms are small but very adequate. When I am there I can revisit life's simple pleasures...such as sitting on the porch reading a book and watching the river barges. Very relaxing. On some evenings they have music outside the hotel. It now has new ownership and Kathy is the greatest! Believe me...this hotel has come a long way from what it was in the 90's before she purchased the place and began the renovations. The rooms are decorated nicely and are very, very clean.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget ask about the Paddlewheel. It is a little further away from the river and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Upon our travels south we always try to stay at the Riverboat Inn. It's on the river and a nice quiet place with entertainment in the evening if you choose to partake in it. Our room is 123 and we have stayed in it several times and have had NO problems what so ever. Kathie and the staff have always been helpful and cordial, making you feel like family. It is clean and decorated nicely. We love the place and would return again and again....
Victor and Debbie
Indpls., IN

Room Tip: Choose a room on the southside second floor for best view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverboatmadison, Owner at Riverboat Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you Vic and Debbie for staying with us again. It is always good to see you guys. I wish we were all in Pensacola at the same time. Look forward to seeing you again. Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverboat Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverboat Inn and Suites

Address: 906 E First St, Madison, IN 47250
Location: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an American-owned hotel. We try hard to be the best we can be. All our rooms are individually decorated with the cutest amenities. Flat screen TVs, pillow top beds, fireplaces, hardwood floors, mini refrigerators, microwaves, free breakfast on weekends, free wi-fi, live music on Sat.evening, full lounge, and much more. Our riverfront patios are enclosed and heated in the winter so you can enjoy the view even if it is cold! We are Madison's only riverfront hotel and just minutes walking distance to historic downtown Madison. Lets us know ahead of time and we will pick you up at the Madison airport or marina.We can also take you downtown or pick you up if you let us know.We also have 2/3/and 4 bedroom condos on the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverboat Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverboat Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riverboat Inn and Suites to your Saves list