We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our return visit was even better than the first time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtowner

Downtowner
104 E Main St, Madison, IN 47250-3411
812-265-4343
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 61 Restaurants in Madison
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Our return visit was even better than the first time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our latest visit to Madison, IN allowed us three days to roam the historical city and sights. We planned to enjoy a different restaurant for each meal, but after we had lunch at the Downtowner on Saturday, we wanted to return for lunch on Sunday also. This casual diner has a varied menu at reasonable prices and good service. Ryan was a our server both days and provided friendly and efficient service each time. The food was very well prepared and was delicious. The grown-up style grilled cheese sandwich was terrific. The loaded potato soup was loaded with flavor and plentiful. The next day I enjoyed the tomato florentine soup with the grilled cheese. My husband enjoyed the pesto chicken alfredo. The cafe mocha and latte satisfied our coffee needs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    37
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gallatin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We ate there on a Sunday afternoon. Very good food and service was great and fast. I had a taco salad and my husband had BLT and Bow tie pasta. and there homemade cookies was a big hit with everyone. Sandy and Jim Claycomb Gallatin TN

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches sides and cookies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The chicken salad was delicious. I ordered the tomato florentine soup and potato salad as sides. The cookies are huge. Overall, everything was very good. I would definitely return during my next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Lunch Spot in Madison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Don't miss eating at this fantastic lunch spot in the heart of Madison, IN! The food is outstanding and very quick. I have enjoyed the "Downtowner" which is a BLT with turkey and lots of goodies. The breads they use are awesome, and the Big Reuben is to die for!

I had the bow tie pasta yesterday with their homemade chicken salad. Fantastic too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Salad Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stopped in for a light lunch and we were treated to the very best chicken salad sandwich that we have ever experienced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtowner also viewed

 

Been to Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtowner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.