We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Historic Tavern

Broadway Historic Tavern
313 Broadway St, Madison, IN 47250-3759
(812) 265-2346
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Broadway Historic Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 61 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: INDIANA'S OLDEST TAVERN Serving our friends for over 178 years! Casual dining, lively, friendly atmosphere, in a historic setting. BBQ Ribs, Pasta, Steaks,more Live entertainment!
Bedford, Kentucky
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Eaten lunch there with colleagues a few times always good food and wonderful service... Recommend this place for casual dinning.. Service was fast and courteous.... Fish sandwich was awesome!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    16
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Manchester, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lunch at hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our food was good and the portions were big. The service was a little slow but acceptable. It seemed like the building was much nicer on the outside than on the inside. I know they are trying to preserve the atmosphere, but it didn't seem very warm or comfy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oldest hotel/bar in Indiana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Well preserved, oozes history/tradition. Drink specials all week, reasonable priced food. Neat place to chill, loved the atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Use to be better, but still better than most options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

On our last visit with out of town family, we were a little embarrassed a the low food quality after having hyped it to them so much. It has slipped so far in quality, I probably won't return myself let alone with out of town guests. The place was fairly empty, but our service was incredibly slow and the presentation was just not in keeping with the price of the entrees. if you are going to drop 15 bucks or more for an entree in Madison, Indiana, I expect it to show up looking like something. Everyone knows that presentation is half the battle and you can cover up a multitude of taste sins if the thing looks good and is brought to you in a timely fashion.

The time before this with the other set of in-laws, we were seated outside and I don't know what happened, but the server was apparently not notified that we had been put in her station, because folks coming in after us were taken care of before us, and NOTHING irritates me more.

All in all, I would recommend that you go to this place once just because it is historic and it is located in the prettiest part of town. After that, keep on driving through town and go to Clifty Falls -- food is better, view is outstanding, and the service is quite good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wanted it to be good but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had dinner here on a recent visit to Madison, IN. It is the oldest tavern in Indiana and quite a lovely old building. The food was indifferent and tasteless. Our entrees were served lukewarm. The baked potato was obviously a day or two old and hard as a brick. Vegetable medley was flavorless and cold. We were never offered bread. Did I mention we were one of three other couples in the dining room? We wanted to like this place but couldn't.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadway Historic Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Broadway Historic Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Historic Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.