We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining by the River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Shrimp House Incorporated

Key West Shrimp House Incorporated
117 Ferry Street, Madison, IN 47250-3606
812-265-2831
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ashland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dining by the River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The staff was friendly and entertaining - helping us as tourists with a brochure and some suggestions on what to see; we noticed the manager doing a little magic trick for a child. The seafood chowder was out of this world - huge shrimp! Our meal had generous servings and was delicious; our server was attentive, but not bothersome. We would definitely return to this restaurant. We visited in the winter, but in summer, there was outside seating to enjoy the Ohio River.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    59
    28
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Took ten family members from out of town and myself for dinner last night. On a very busy night with several large groups in the restaurant, we had outstanding service. Our very competent waitress handled diverse ages, drinks, and and even a shared order with nary a hitch. None of my guests had eaten there before but were very pleased and I am sure will want to go back when they come to see me again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I'm from out of town and was told that this is the place to go for dinner and I'm so glad I did.
I was met with a very warm and friendly owner who went out of his way giving me a Madison, IN informational pamphlet once he knew I was from out of town. The food was wonderful and I'd like to add that many of the food items I enjoyed were HOMEMADE! The seafood chowder included big chunks of seafood, the salad bar included many homemade items. This is why I prefer the "Mom and Pop" places as opposed to the chain restaurants. Great experience overall and I'm giving it top ratings!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

A little on the pricy side but we were not disappointed with the food. The service was great and while the place was very busy we did not have to wait long for our table or food. The salad bar was good and well attended and our meals were cooked well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced but okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The shrimp scampi was pretty good but my husband's shrimp (I can't remember the name) was boring and bland, not to mention expensive. I don't know if we'll ever visit again, but it wasn't awful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Shrimp House Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Key West Shrimp House Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Shrimp House Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.