We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful end to our 45th wedding anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Inn

Save Saved
You added Hillside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillside Inn
831 East Main St, Madison, IN 47250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Madison
Greencastle, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful end to our 45th wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We didn't plan on spending the night in Madison, but on the spur of the moment decided we would try to find a room. My husband picked out the Hillside Inn, went inside and they only had two rooms available, a suite and a standard room. He chose the suite, and we are both so glad he did, it was beautiful, sweeping view of the Ohio river, a beautiful bridge, all of Madison, all were in our sights on the balcony of a 3rd floor suite. Our room was very clean, the whirlpool and bath were spotless, I felt so very special! I have never stayed in a more beautiful room, push a button, a gigantic fireplace comes to life, push another button, the whirlpool jets whirl around, the bathroom was huge and tiled, there were tile around the whirlpool which made the carpet more sanitary to walk on, the bed was so comfortable, I slept all night, which I never do in a strange bed, the staff was excellent, and if you wanted to sleep until almost time to leave, just put a card in the card slot on the outside and no one will bother you. It isn't a huge hotel, just 3 floors, but the quality and one on one feeling was fantastic. The one thing that was missing, if you use the internet alot, there is no reception in the rooms, but there is a complimentary computer in the lobby for anyone's use. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, all kinds, steak houses, italian, french, coffee bistros, homemade candy shops, beautiful homes, but nothing impressed me like the room at the Hillside Inn. We will definately go back and stay in the suite again, plus, through the week, the rates are cheaper, so we will got then!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
13
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rising Sun, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed in the jacuzzi suite with the balcony. What a great view! Views from the balcony were amazing especially during the evening and early morning hours. Our room was extremely clean and quiet. Others have mentioned the noise but we didn't have a problem at all. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful recommending a local restaurant that was fabulous. We would definately stay there again. The only thing that could be improved would be the landscaping around the hotel but the interior changes were great! A great find!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Our balcony room did have a nice view, however it was so damp, and smelled so musty we asked for a dehumidifier, which they did not have, but provided a fan that made little difference. The air onditioner was clearly ready to give up the ghost. We were offered to move, but were busy and since it was only next door, we figured it wouldn't be much better anyway. The view is really nice, however that road below is busy, lot of traffic to and from the bridge. The breakfast is continental, a little something to get you going, nothing fancy. The room was clean, the king bed comfy, linens nice, except for the towels, which a few were threadbare and should be tossed. For the same $$$ we would probably stay at the Clifty Inn next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

I felt well rested after sleeping in our bed and enjoyed the quiet location

We stayed in the bungalow versus the hotel which was nice. Some of the water damage needs to be fixed, but it was clean with a nice touch of cotton balls and quality hygiene items provided. But, they do not provide hair dryers in the rooms although they did have a refrigerator. The rooms were very spacious!

The breakfast is fair with hard eggs, coffee, juices, cereal choices, oatmeal, bagels, English muffins, muffins, yogurt, apples, and waffles which you put in a toaster.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

We stayed here one night while on a weekend getaway. Our king room was quite spacious, very clean, and the bed was great - a very comfortable bed with triple sheeting and a comforter. Balcony with lovely view of historic Madison, Indiana and the Ohio River. Front desk staff was friendly and welcoming, and manager graciously allowed us to check out one hour late. Breakfast was cereal, breads, coffee, and juice - which is just right for us - and breakfast room also has that lovely view. Other reviewers have mentioned noise, and as I walked down the hallway I could hear conversations from the rooms - so if your neighbors are rowdy you'll definitely hear it - however our stay was very peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Large, clean rooms. Great staff. This place is a treasure at the top of a hill that overlooks the Ohio river and scenic Madison. Each room has a private balcony with table and chairs. We'll definitely book again.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Indiana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

The hotel staff are friendly and accomodating. The rooms are clean and roomy. The views of the river and the city from the private balconies are serene and relaxing. We have enjoyed the Hillside Inn on many occasions, including our honeymoon 38 years ago. The part we like the least is leaving. We are already planning our next visit.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Address: 831 East Main St, Madison, IN 47250
Location: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hillside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.