We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room could use some updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hillside Inn to your Saves list
Hillside Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   831 East Main St, Madison, IN 47250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Zionsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Room could use some updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent Christmas Eve at Hillside Inn. (And were the only ones at the motel.) As has been noted before the views of Madison and the Ohio are extraordinary. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable however could use some updating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    35
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
18
55
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute,IN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

An old hotel but rooms very nice, we went to Madison for the Christmas festivities and to visit several wineries. The main problem we encountered was, weather wise it was a nasty weekend with rain, sleet, and snow and the Hotel personnel had assured us, that they keep the steep drive plowed and clean. Several of our cars got stuck going up and it took some time to get cars finally up to the entrance. The hotel personnel couldn't help the weather, but they were not very responsive to our problems. I wouldn't recommend staying there if weather was bad. The views from the rooms were scenic to the downtown area.

Room Tip: They all faced the Ohio river and street to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here after dropping my daughter off at Hanover college and hung out downtown. The staff helped me choose some places that were recommended to eat at. Wasn't disappointed. Clifty Falls state park is just down the road and lots of antique stores downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkinson, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My friend and I wanted a quiet fun girls day out. We chose the Hilltop Inn to stay. Loved the history of it and the whole town. Very clean rooms and we would definately stay here again. Friendly staff. Loved the view from our third floor balcony.

Room Tip: Any room on the south side has the best view. Third floor is the best to see river and downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILLSIDEINN_10, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We appreciate your review and are very happy that you enjoyed your experience at the Hillside Inn ! Please plan to return soon - and let us know if there is any way we can help to make your next visit just as good! We look forward to welcoming you back to Hillside Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Checked in earlier this week. Enjoyed a quick visit to lovely Madison. Had stayed here before a couple of years ago and was hoping for a similar positive experience. Recent negative reviews surprised me. Happy to report a satisfying stay on the 3rd floor. Very nice staff, clean, comfortable room, and of course, beautiful private balcony view of the river and charming town. Excellent value! Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILLSIDEINN_10, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
The staff of The Hillside Inn send their thanks to you - for choosing to stay with us and for your wonderful comments, which are most appreciated. It is our goal to make sure all of our guests feel welcome and relaxed so it's great to hear you enjoyed your visit. We do hope you will return again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Hillside Inn after 11 years to celebrate our anniversary. Yes the hotel is in great location with a great view of the Ohio River and is a historic hotel. We paid $ 200.00 per night for a 3rd floor Suite. The problem is that the hotel is very run down and it does not appear the owner has put a dime into the hotel since our last visit 11 years ago. The carpet was very dirty and worn in the hallways. In our suite the wallpaper was coming off the wall and had very dated and dirty carpet. Very old and grungy looking ceiling tiles as well. I would expect this from a $ 65 - $75 a night motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus,indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband was absolutely disgusted with the hotel, the staff, and management. There were bugs in our bed and they aren't from having the sliding door open. WE NEVER OPENED IT!
We didn't even use the room, but because we checked in three hours earlier they would not give us a full refund. We had gone to eat right after check in and returned to our room, pulled down the sheets and YUCK... sure didn't make for a nice honeymoon.

I would like everyone to spread the word..don't stay here, cancel your reservation if you are staying for the chatuguqa of the arts.
I might add that I called the hotel two times afterword to get the owne or manager to call and they have yet to call. REMEMBER SPREAD THE WORD....DO NOT STAY HERE...BUGS!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Address: 831 East Main St, Madison, IN 47250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Hillside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.