We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Suite It Is!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clifty Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clifty Inn
Save
You added Clifty Inn to your Saves list
Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1650 Clifty Hollow Rd, Madison, IN 47250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“How Suite It Is!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If this isn't the honeymoon suite (Room #221), it could be with the shower for two and the whirlpool for two.

There is a full sofa, chair, ottoman, end table with lamp, floor lamp, desk/chair/lamp, television and DVD player, and clock in the 'living room.'

The kitchen offers a mini frig, microwave, sink, coffee/tea-making facilities, table and chairs, and table service inluding plates, bowls, cups, glasses, and silverware.

The bed is queen size and the bedroom also has a rocking chair and television and one nightstand with lamp, but no clock.

The suite offers two locations for hanging clothes and two telephones and adequate lighting. Our only problem is the noisy heat/ac units...one in the main area and one in the bedroom.

As this hotel is in a state park, there are so many things to see and do: hiking trails, outdoor pool, playground, picnic areas, as well as game boards, conversation areas, indoor pool, arcade and 24-hour coffee available. The restaurant offers items from the menu as well as buffets when there are enough overnight guests.

NB. If you want to see the falls, the Hoffman Falls is not visible from the overlook; you must walk the trail. The "overlook" does offer a view of Clifty Falls but it is not a close-up view. The north parking lot offers wheelchair access to the main waterfall. One tree needs to be cut down (probably won't happen in a state park) because it partially blocks the view of the falls. There is a trail to the falls and you can walk under them if you are aware of the potential danger.

Room Tip: Room 221 has to be the honeymoon suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    62
    13
    11
    2
See reviews for
46
66
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent the weekend at Clifty while visiting the Madison Riverroots Music Fest on the Ohio River. 5 minutes to the hotel from the festival, cant beat that! Staying allowed us to stay both nights late and arrive early on Saturday. Fun weekend, great music, nice park

Room Tip: air conditioner was a bit loud! if possible chose the river view section..but it will be a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryant, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We took the kids, ages 14 and 11, here for a mini vacation after spending the day in Louisville. The hotel and accommodations were great and the view was spectacular.(We had a river view room with balcony) Make sure you go hike to the falls, you will not be disappointed. Be forewarned though, if you go during peak season they double the rates. If you don't mind the cold outdoors they have great rates during the fall/winter. Pool was nice and not too deep if you have small children, however we were disappointed to see that they removed the hot tub. Overall we had a great time, wasn't too crowded and felt very secure. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Choose a river view room and watch the barges go by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Clifty Inn is really a beautiful hotel, but the park side rooms are not so great. My husband, son, and I stayed a weekend for a wedding. We chose the park side rooms because they were cheaper and we weren't going to be in it much. We ended up wishing we had purchased a river view suite, but couldn't switch because they were all booked up. There is no elevator on the park side and it is very outdated and musty smelling. The floors were not clean in our room, especially under the beds. The air conditioning unit is in the room above the bed and is very VERY noisy and kept waking us all (including my 5 month old baby) up during the night. The hotel itself was very neat with all kinds of cool decor inside. The restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced. The views are beautiful, unless you were in our room which had a view of the parking lot. We would like to go back some time and explore Madison, but we will definitely be staying in a pricier riverside room.

Room Tip: Stay away from the parkside. Pay the extra money, we regretted it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The location was indeed Beautiful, the management was less than forthright. Their contract did not state that at the end of the Event the leftover food was not ours to take home. When we asked for plates to go we were told that left covers would be used for Mondays June 3 buffet. Sandwiches was ours. Everything else including chips and dip was Cliftys. I believe the employee who told us. I will was horrified. Just think of the health issues. To top that off the family dropped $5000. This may be a small count but did not get refund on the food that removed. We won't come back nor will we recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although we often travel to Madison, we haven't been to the Clifty Inn in years, and that is because we weren't terribly pleased with the accomodations. But, we decided to give it another try. Am I glad we did!

The inn has been totally renovated and is now comprised of three brick buldings attached by enclosed walkways. The rooms are lovely, and there are now many sitting areas scattered about the complex. Our favorite was a long hallway full of rockers which faced the Ohio River.

Of course, the hotel still sits right next to the power plant, but even that is easy to ignore in such an otherwise lovely setting. From now on, when we travel to Madison, Clifty Inn is our 1st choice in accomodations.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms also have a view of the power plant. The parkview room we stayed in was at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

While our stay was admittedly short as we were only in town long enough to pick our son up from nearby Hanover College, we have stayed at the Clifty several times before and it is always at the top of our list for lodging in this area (especially after our misadventure with the Holiday Inn Express in Scottsburg, IN -- see my review about that for details).

The staff at the Clifty is always pleasant and courteous which makes checking in and out a breeze. We stayed in a Parkside Suite and found it clean and well-appointed, The grounds are generally well-maintained and -- aside from that gawd-awful eyesore of a power plant down by the river, which can't really be helped, I suppose -- the Clifty is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Unless you LIKE looking at smokestacks, the Parkside rooms and suites are generally a better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifty Inn

Address: Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1650 Clifty Hollow Rd, Madison, IN 47250
Location: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Clifty Hotel Madison
Clifty Falls State Park Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifty Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.