We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Atmosphere - Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Pine Lake Avenue, LaPorte, IN 46350 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in LaPorte
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Comfortable Atmosphere - Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Hotel layout is spacious with plenty of room to walk around, and the surrounding area makes for a pleasent enviornment, being close to Pine Lake. The staff is quite friendly, and the restaurant has interesting choices, especially for appetizers. The Breakfast/Brunch is a nice value.

Room Tip: Some rooms have tables in the walkway facing the open space in the interior which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your friendly compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    33
    24
    22
    11
See reviews for
63
31
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stay at this hotel many times, and the most important characteristic that i always notice is the friendly atmosphere. The restaurant has a very big fire place in front of the tables, perfect for a romantic occasion. The staff is very respectful and you can see the managers always interacting with the guests trying to make their visit the most comfortable. The bar has live entertainment on the weekends so if you want to have a drink there is no need to go out of the premises. There are tables and chairs everywhere and you can sit out of your room and drink your own beer. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. The food is very good and the prices unbelievable, very affordable, I recommend the chicken avocado sandwich, the burgers are huge, and the breakfast buffet every weekend. I go there so much that i don't need to get my information to the guest clerk, they remember my name and what i need for my stay. I'd stayed in many hotels around the area and what makes me go back is the special treatment i get all the time, many other places were so cold and impersonal, but at this place i am treated as a person and not a number. Thank you Patricia, Karina, Cristal, Michelle, and to all the staff for making my visits to La Porte very comfortable. Your hotel is my home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your kind words. It was a pleasure to assist you in your travels and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby Hills, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was in town for a wedding and I loved everything about my trip to La Porte! I loved that everything in the town was just 5 minutes away. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The bar had a nice live band. The rooms were also a nice size. I liked the set up of the hotel with some of the rooms facing the atrium. I didn't get a chance to visit the pool or game room but the breakfast was REALLY GOOD and for a good price. If I ever go back to La Porte I would stay at this hotel. Thanks again from a satisfied guest!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Beautiful hotel, clean, nice pool and hot tub area. There was wedding set up in the hotel. Very charming.Nice hotel good value. Clean and spacious rooms. Room smelled fresh and clean. Nice layout. Very family friendly place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

nice pool and hot tub. comfortable beds but queen would have been better than doubles. Great customer service. on a lake so summer visit would have been ideal. Make sure to request a room that had always been nonsmoking because we were given a room that had once been a smoking room and it stunk of old smoke. They did give us a new room quickly and easily.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a jr suite which was very strange. A long narrow room with an outdated bathroom. There was a desk where you came into the room that had a power strip on the floor with everything plugged into it. Definitely not good for our one year old grandson. The shower curtain had mold along the bottom; just a yucky bathroom in general. The toilet had black gunk under the rim that showed. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you haven't tried this hotel recently you should give it chance. For our most recent stay in September 2012, I was shocked in a great way! My husband and I had stayed there a couple of years ago and the facility was showing it's age, so we hadn't gone back for a while. I decided to give it another chance when a few of the local residents told me that there were some recent upgrades throughout the hotel. Always listen to the locals, they know! This full service hotel/restaurant/bar was clean, fresh and very hospitable.
From the new furniture in the lobby to the freshened hallways to the rooms that were full of customer friendly aspects, everything was fresh and clean. They have upgraded the service to guests by giving them the ability to request room service very easily or plan the time of day that you want your room cleaned by simply filling out a checked card on the night before. The TVs are nice comes with a remote that has been sanitized.
The weekend we stayed many other activities were happening in the area. At the hotel, there was a huge wedding party and some live music that attracted a small crowd in the bar, but the staff made sure that even at the late time that we came back from our event, the guest's safety had been considered. The parking lot is well lighted and there was plenty of staff to maintain a safe environment for families or party goers.
The food was good at the restaurant too. Sunday morning buffet was delicious with a great selection of food that satisfied everyone. Our 11 year old loved the pool too when we finally had some family time on Sunday to enjoy it after our weekend work was done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 444 Pine Lake Avenue, LaPorte, IN 46350 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in LaPorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel Hotel Laporte
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.