We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing get-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arbor Hill Inn

Arbor Hill Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Arbor Hill Inn to your Saves list
Arbor Hill Inn
263 W Johnson Rd, LaPorte, IN 46350   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 LaPorte B&B and Inns
Crestwood, Illinois
1 review
“Relaxing get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I would highly reccomend Arbor Inn at anytime of the year.
We spent 2 nites in the Northwoods room and it was everything we wanted. The staff is friendly and attentive. The main house was decorated beautifully and looked like something you'd find on the front of a Christmas card. Our room with fireplace and jacuzzi was immaculate and very private. The breakfast each morning was delightful.
We plan to return again. This is a wonderful alternative to hotel stays and extremely charming.
Thanks to the wonderful staff for an excellent stay.

Kim & Eric Reicher

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
63
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We've been to several B&B's over the last couple years and this ranks with the best of them. The house has maintained it's historic charm and is kept very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. As for local restaurants, we recommend Heston Supper Club (about 20 minutes away). We're planning a return trip next year.

Room Tip: We took a tour of all the rooms and found them all charming. The three we liked best were: WA Jones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Arbor Hill Inn for the final game of the Notre Dame home season. I have stayed in South Bend before for game weekend, and paying >$175 for a 'motel' is just never something I enjoyed. This location showed up on a 'deal' site, but the weekend was unavailable (of course because of the game). Looking over the pricing and location, we decided to pull the trigger anyway!

A truly lovely location just 40 minutes from the Notre Dame campus, and only 20 minutes from either of the casinos in the area. We had one of the smaller rooms on the 3rd floor, but still had plenty of room to enjoy our stay. Next season, we are truly considering another weekend here at the Arbor Hill Inn.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so choose your floor wisely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton Grove, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great two night stay in the Uncle Karl's suite. The breakfasts are great and served on your schedule. The room was spacious and comfortable. The location of LaPorte is convenient for exploring neighboring areas such as Michigan City and South Bend. The 1 1/2 hour ride from Chicago made it the perfect distance for a short getaway.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayied two nights in the beautiful Global Latitudes suite in their Guest House. Wonderful welcome, desserts each night, delicious breakfast. We drove to orchards and did a bit of shopping at the nearby outlet mall. Have already decided that if we plan a future trip to Chicago, we would rather stay here and take the train into the city. We did use a Groupon for this trip which made it a great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a great time staying at Arbor Hill Inn. We slept well and enjoyed the morning breakfast both days. It was an easy drive to surrounding orchards and Notre Dame and Valpo. Our room was quiet, but in the morning it was nice to share breakfast with the other guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We initially intended to spend a single night at the Arbor Hill Inn and reserved the Victory Garden. After we arrived and rounded around we immediately cancelled our reservations in Chicago for the next two nights and reserved Uncle Karl's room for Friday and Saturday. If you can afford it try to get the WA Jones Retreat. The Arbor Inn is a wonderful place to stay even if you want to spend the weekend in Chicago. My wife and I will return... often.

Room Tip: If you can afford it try to stay in the WA Jones Retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arbor Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Hill Inn

Address: 263 W Johnson Rd, LaPorte, IN 46350
Location: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in LaPorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20111, 2012, 2013 and 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Winner! The magic of Arbor Hill Inn provides a romantic glimpse of the past with an invitation to enjoy the pleasures of today. 10 minutes from Lake Michigan, Dunes and Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets. 35 minutes from Notre Dame. 1 1/2 hours from Chicago. Spa Services, Charter fishing, Orchards, Festivals, Farmer's Markets, Museums, 3 Public Golf Courses, Specialty Shopping, Fine dining, Antiquing, Nature at its best at our numerous local parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Arbor Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbor Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.