We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RETURN VISIT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bluff Resort Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Bluff Resort Apartments to your Saves list
The Bluff Resort Apartments
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   123 Franklin Parade, Encounter Bay, South Australia 5211, Australia (Formerly Whalers Resort Apartments)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Harpenden, UK
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“RETURN VISIT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Paid a return visit - same wonderful, quiet location with incredible sea views. But we were disappointed that, though we had booked a three-bedroom unit, two of the bedrooms were locked ("there were only two of you" they said). Sometimes, we like to sleep in separate bedrooms, and on the first visit, we had also had a three-bedroom unit, all of which were unlocked. They don't make it clear at booking that, if you reserve a multi-bedroom unit and you are a couple, you will ony be able to use one bedroom.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
33
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here before but only in premium rooms. This time as it was just overnight, we took a standard room. It was like sleeping in a fishbowl. Very noisy and you able to be seen by other rooms when blinds are up. Also poorly appointed. Don't expect to be able to go to the bathroom with discretion. Will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed a few nights at the Bluff View. Very clean, easy car park access, all the facilities you could want apart from wifi or internet. Beds are comfortable, tv is modern and everything it offers is comfortable. Not sure I would stay again but would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here. We love the location as it is close to central Victor Harbour but away from the hustle and bustle. This time we stayed in a motel room @ $155 as it was only for the night. The facilities were excellent and really more than you would need for a quick stay. The room was very spacious for a motel room, light, airy and very clean. We had use of the stunning heated pool and clean towels were available for each swim. We were cheerfully given more tea and coffee supplies even though there was already a good supply in the room.
Last time we stayed longer so we booked a studio apartment with an ocean view and that was fantastic.
The only minus in the motel room was that although the bed sheets were white clean and crisp, the quilt cover looked old, tired, discloured and dodgy- really off putting in fact! and the art work looked cheap and tasteless- If it were not for these two factors I would have rated this place as excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in March to celebrate her birthday. It was our 3rd visit to this establishment. Even though it's only 100kms from home, we find it a very enjoyable and relaxing place to visit. We had an upstairs studio that offers a really good view of Encounter Bay and the surrounds. By shear bad luck we ended up with the worst 2 days in March weather wise however that didn't detract from our enjoyment. The balconey faces north and is protected from the prevailing winds so it offered a great place to sit into the late evening and consume some local beverages.
The presentation and maintenance of this place is exceptional when you consider the coastal environment it has to endure. The cleanliness and presentation of the unit was also faultless and made for a very happy and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in a 3 br apartment in Feb 2012. I fell in love with Encounter Bay because of the beautiful apartment and sensational view of the bay, victor and granite island from the huge balcony.
This accom has been recently renovated and the living areas, bedroom and kitchen are delightful.
You can stay in a motel type room, studio or apartments (you pay for either 1,2 or 3 bedrooms in the apartment). We paid to stay in the apartment with use of 1 br and I would recommend this above the other types.
The pool looks like it has recently been retiled and is a beautiful sparkling blue.
I was sad to leave and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The view from the living area/balcony looking across the water to Granite Island made up for any shortcomings. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment - 2 adults and 2 teenagers - plenty of room for us all to have our own space when we needed it. The bathrooms could do with a bit of an update.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bluff Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bluff Resort Apartments

Address: 123 Franklin Parade, Encounter Bay, South Australia 5211, Australia (Formerly Whalers Resort Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Encounter Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Encounter Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bluff Resort Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Bluff Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bluff Resort Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.