We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational sea views from the balcony & great pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bluff Resort Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Bluff Resort Apartments to your Saves list
The Bluff Resort Apartments
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   123 Franklin Parade, Encounter Bay, South Australia 5211, Australia (Formerly Whalers Resort Apartments)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sensational sea views from the balcony & great pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in a 3 br apartment in Feb 2012. I fell in love with Encounter Bay because of the beautiful apartment and sensational view of the bay, victor and granite island from the huge balcony.
This accom has been recently renovated and the living areas, bedroom and kitchen are delightful.
You can stay in a motel type room, studio or apartments (you pay for either 1,2 or 3 bedrooms in the apartment). We paid to stay in the apartment with use of 1 br and I would recommend this above the other types.
The pool looks like it has recently been retiled and is a beautiful sparkling blue.
I was sad to leave and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
33
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The view from the living area/balcony looking across the water to Granite Island made up for any shortcomings. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment - 2 adults and 2 teenagers - plenty of room for us all to have our own space when we needed it. The bathrooms could do with a bit of an update.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed for one night in a three bedroom apartment. The apartment was very clean and spacious (two storeys, with kitchen, lounge, dining room, bathroom upstairs, bedrooms and another bathroom downstairs). One of the bathrooms had a spa. However the most outstanding feature was the view! We had large glass windows, leading to a balcony with spectacular views of the sea and Granite Island.

The pool was well maintained, also with nice views of the sea, and we certainly made use of it during a very warm day. There are also tennis courts.

The location is very close to walking trails that lead up to the Bluff. Encounter Bay is a very peaceful place to stay (much quieter than Victor) with some nice cafes. I recommend the Beach House café for really good pizzas. The Whalers Inn restaurant is situated underneath the accommodation complex; however this was a little disappointing. Food was nice but servings were very small and prices were high (a $60 seafood platter for two was barely enough for one).

Only one minor complaint about the accommodation – they were scarce on the toiletries, providing only two small tubes of body wash and one conditioner to share between 6 people (I suspect one of the body washes should have been shampoo). Other than this we had an excellent stay and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The accommodation part of the resort is now separate to the restaurant which retains the name of Whalers Inn. We stayed in a newly renovated studio apartment which was very clean and comfortable with a great view. Good for a short term stay such as a weekend but limited for any longer than that. We would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 301 which was at the end of a building and was quiet with a small balcony and love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

$380 per night rediculous for an older apartment..nice views but no blinds so all this glass and glare.overpriced and dissapointing. its now called bluff view not whalers inn..wdnt come back here

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We picked the Bluff View as coming from the desert, our priority was a view of the sea. We definitely got exactly what we were looking for, we just never knew a view of the sea could look so good. Our apartment had glass windows right across the section facing the sea, and the view was uninterrupted. Other than that, the apartment had everything we needed for a short stay, and the spa bath was an added bonus. We were in a sea view studio apartment, and really enjoyed that it was a little bit different with the stair case entry. There is plenty of parking and very private once you are in your room. Loved having a door to the balcony that we could leave open and listen to the ocean while we slept. Extra benefits included direct access to the bluff walking trail, and the Esplanade walking/cycling pathway. The only improvement that could be made would be the quality of the mattress. The view was definitely worth the money in what was very reasonably priced accommodation.

Room Tip: If you are just a couple, definitely book the sea view studio apartment. The view will astound you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

Excellent and good value. The kitchen floor could do with a scrub but otherwise everything was great.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bluff Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bluff Resort Apartments

Address: 123 Franklin Parade, Encounter Bay, South Australia 5211, Australia (Formerly Whalers Resort Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Encounter Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Encounter Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bluff Resort Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Bluff Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bluff Resort Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.