We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing. Love Tony” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokoro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kokoro
526 Main St, Lafayette, IN 47901-1445
765-742-8180
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 200 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Restaurant details
West Bend, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing. Love Tony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Some of the best sushi I have ever had. Tony was awesome. People who don't like him need to lighten up a bit. Great!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    2
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great spicy fried tofu, but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've eaten here many times over the last nine years. I never come hungry-- I know that by the time I get my food, I'll be starving. "Tony," the legendarily cranky Japanese owner, claims on the menu that he's slow because he's the only one in the kitchen and he's old. Yes, sure, that's true. But it's also true that he takes breaks to go have drinks in other bars in the area. The spicy fried tofu is the tastiest you'll have anywhere and the edamame is steamed to perfection (though wildly over-priced). The sushi is loosely rolled and has way too much rice which means that it falls apart and you can't possibly eat a piece in a single bite. The servers, bless their souls, try very very hard, so please tip them well, regardless. Do not, however, order a drink with hard liquor. It's always watered down (I know because I've ordered it straight up, just to test my perceptions). Get a beer instead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Meh...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

For a restaurant I had heard so many great things about, the meal was unacceptable. We knew service would be bad since that is a long standing part of the restaurant's reputation. Even for usual standards our service was worse than expected. Dinner took 3.5 hours and we cancelled part of our order before we would have been done had we not intervened. The only good part of dinner was the fried calamari and salad. Salads were served after the food they are paired with (fried rice), at ~3 hr mark. Sushi rolls (veggie, alaskan, cajun) were loosely rolled with about three times as much rice as you would expect at a good sushi restaurant; so much so that you couldn't taste the other ingredients. I wouldn't recommend dining here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Well...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I knew going into this that Kokoro would be a long wait for food and expensive. That being said, I just don't think that there was any excuse for how long I waited for my food. First, my table of roughly eight people all got their meals at different times meaning some either had to wait almost an hour to eat their food once the others got theirs- or the rest of us had to sit there and watch our friends eat. We chose the latter. The portion sizes are large, I will give them that. However, I just don't understand why in heaven it would take so long to make food. I believe Tony is the only chef, but I don't think poor hiring and business planning is an excuse for a restaurant to take two hours to cook a tofu stir fry. When I was in undergrad, I could get a tofu stir fry at the dining hall in under ten minutes that was roughly the same quality of the one I got at Kokoro.
I would like to say, however, that our waiting staff was very kind and sympathetic. They were attentive and I could tell that they did feel bad for our state. I think that it's unfair for the chef to put these other people in the awkward position of having to deal with customers' ire, but thankfully the staff handles it well.
I think my group's conclusion at the end of the night was that we would never go back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrible service, attitude and terrible sushi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I must have encountered Tony on a bad day. Had always heard about how great his sushi is so I set out to try it. Tony poured way too much sauce over the top of my sushi roll and it was terrible. He ruined it. The sushi was warm too. I will never go back.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokoro also viewed

Lafayette, IN
Lafayette, IN
 

Been to Kokoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.