We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 501

Bistro 501
501 Main St, Lafayette, IN 47901-1446
765-423-4501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 200 Restaurants in Lafayette
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
North Central Indiana
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fine Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our kids go to Purdue and we have always wanted to try the Bistro. We stopped in for lunch and we were impressed! The pate was excellent! The quiche was so light and tasty. We can't wait to return for dinner!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our group of 4 couples had lunch at Bistro 501 on May 20. The decor is surprising and delightfully bright and fun, our servers were attentive and the food was delicious and plentiful. The location in old downtown Lafayette is nicely walkable, but watch out for the one-way streets and parking zones. We did not use the bar area but it is very attractive and bright. The ladies room, unfortunately, needs a very thorough cleaning and some new fixtures and flooring, hence a 4 rather than a 5 rating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nicely prepared food in downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I had lunch here with a friend, and the portions are generous, food is carefully prepared, and service is very good.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pleasant upscale dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We’ve eaten here several times, most recently with a friend at lunch. We sat at one of the large windows looking out on historic downtown Lafayette. The decor uses a French rooster theme with buttery yellow walls and nice woodwork. There are upholstered antique chairs and white tablecloths and cloth napkins. After being told they were out of the quiche of the day, one of us had the French onion soup with salad, another had the chicken salad sandwich with carrot tarragon soup, I had the fish and chips. At a pub across the street, that’s served in a basket with slaw and is hard to beat. This was four pieces of fish and an ample serving of fries; a lot of golden brown on the plate, and would benefit from a garnish. We finished with two orders creme brulee, a large portion, but not the best we’ve had. Total bill was $45. The waiter, a student from Purdue just across the Wabash River, was friendly but not as attentive as we’d like.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good food at Bistro 501”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I had dinner at Bistto 501 last week. It had been many years since we had dined there. The food was good, the service slow and the atmosphere pleasant. My only complaint was it was quite cool and I needed to wear my coat during the mea. Recommend for a special evening out, but dress warm during the winter!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 501 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 501? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 501, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.