We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Italian alternative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvia's Brick Oven

Sylvia's Brick Oven
625 Columbia Street, Lafayette, IN 47901
(765)250-5047
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 200 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
West Lafayette
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice Italian alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

You'll find a comfortable, contemporary dining experience with low lighting and cozy tables for two. Our server was attentive, personable and our spinach salad and brick oven pizza were tasty with "house-made mozzarella" and fresh ingredients. Seems popular for a romantic evening for two.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality food, nice atmosphere, fair prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We went on Saturday evening at 5:00 for an early dinner and got right in; much later and we likely would be waiting in line due to the popularity of this cozy restaurant with a talented pianist playing dinner music on the Baby Grand. Our waiter was personable and the service was outstanding. There were 3 in our party and we ordered the meatball appetizer (3 large tasty meatballs) and an order if 3 garlic rolls:-). For the main course, I ordered a brick oven pizza made with fresh mozzarella, home-made fennel sausage, and fresh tomatoes squeezed in the sauce; pizza is enough to share! Hubby had The Godfather sandwich, and daughter had spaghetti and meatballs. We all left with "take-home-a-sack". I highly recommend this restaurant as an alternative to the franchise restaurants in town. Sylvia's uses fresh ingredients, cooks everything from scratch in the kitchen while you wait and the prices are more reasonable than the chain restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The funghi thin crust pizza was outstanding. The fresh ingredients were combined to make a novel take on the mushroom pizza.

With some small adjustments this restaurant should find a good future in Lafayette. Unfortunately the pizza makers were more interested in playing in the kitchen than making the pizzas so the service was on the slow side.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great addition to Lafayette dining choices. Pizza is excellent - always fresh ingredients. Sausage and peppers pasta is also wonderful. Nice atmosphere - not too expensive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salerno, Campania, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Promising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We only went twice, both times for the brick oven pizza. We found both trips to be quite enjoyable. Their pizza dough was great, cooked at very high temperature and blackened just a tiny bit, just like a proper pizza from Italy. The ingredients were fresh and quite good. Their homemade italian sausage was very good, not overly greasy as you find most to be.
Prices were a bit high for a pizza intended for one adult ($10)
Our only complaint, aparently shared by many, is their system for the bill using iPhones or tablets. It was a little confusing and one time, it wasn't working very well.

Overall, very promising, I hope to see how they do over time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvia's Brick Oven also viewed

 

Been to Sylvia's Brick Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvia's Brick Oven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.