We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Purdue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 South Street, Lafayette, IN 47901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in Lafayette
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Close to Purdue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was traveling to West Lafayette to recruit at Purdue and wasn't able to stay at "The Purdue Club", but wanted to be close. The Holiday Inn in downtown Lafayette (just across the bridge from West Lafayette) worked out very well. It was no more than a 5 minute drive to campus and I found downtown Lafayette to be quite nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    38
    24
    4
    10
See reviews for
29
10
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cutler
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Love the location of this hotel. It's very easy getting around the area. Ask for a corner room, they are the best! They even have a walk in shower! We didn't eat here, but the breakfast looked awesome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here first and the rooms are clean and spacious It has a spacious lobby as compared to the Hilton Garden Inn across the river - more welcoming. It does not have the same walking distance shops and eateries as compared to the Wabash Landing located Hilton.

Also one time I walked to the Purdue University it was a 20-25 minutes walk and across the river with ice on the sidewalk! With taxi only on call and few buses, it is a problem. It is however, closer to the Amtrack and Greyhound bus stops which is walking distance in fact, We took the bus to Chicago. Breakfast is through coupons as buffet was not presented at the time. Better flexibility as compared to the Hilton to try different things different days.

Otherwise clean comfortable and nice service, will surely recommend.

Room Tip: Business room is the most spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for a family wedding. Many unmet expectations: no in-room microwave or refrigerator, no breakfast, (If you wanted to eat, there was a restaurant.)so no great value. Had to eat out for 4 days.
The air in the lobby was perfumed by on of those plug-in air "freshners", making for a truly noxious enviroment. Were they trying to hide another odor? The bed pillows were really half a pillow and provoked neck discomfort, so bring your own, The beds were comfortable though.
The hall way carpets could have used a little edge cleaning.
The evening desk staff were very pleasant & helpful. I made one request of the day staff, and that was for use of a microwave to re-heat my beverage on that very cold, snowy day. They said there was one in the restaurant, but it was used for transfer only, and I couldn't use it. Surely there must have been a microwave in the employee lunchroom! That refusal really colored my opinion. I will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear junezelno,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
office
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The location is great! Walking distance to great downtown restaurants, bars and local shops. The hotel was not very well insulated and could hear the people coming back from bars at 2-3 a.m. and leaving for breakfast at 7:00 a.m. Room was ok, but bed was extremely uncomfortable-felt like I was sleeping on a dorm mattress.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our room was a nice room with city view but the parking was a nightmare. I drove around and around the hotel and ended up having to park in a city parking ramp. It was very inconvenient.
I appreciated the four cup coffe maker in room instead of those one-cup brewers other hotels are using now.

Tried to use the pool, but my key wouldn't open the door. I didn't want to go all the down to desk, so I skipped the pool. Key worked for fitness center.

Nobody was unfriendly and nobody was over friendly.

Next time I'll stay a little ways out at a hotel with surplus parking.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Clean, attentive staff didn't dine at the restaurant but was well directed by the Concierge to a local eatery and watering hole. Some times when you travel and stay at these chains in smaller locations they can tend to be tired and out dated, not the HI Lafayette, I would recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre

Address: 515 South Street, Lafayette, IN 47901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre in Lafayette, Indiana Returning the tradition and elegance to historic downtown Lafayette, Indiana, the Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre offers 147 hotel rooms and 7,500 square feet of meeting space. A grand, new hotel built to reflect the quality and craftsmanship of a bygone era, Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre rises 8 stories above ground, establishing a new landmark in the downtown skyline. From our rooms, guests can look out over scenic downtown Lafayette. Located in the business district, this grand hotel is blocks from the Tippecanoe County Court House, walking distance to the Long Center, theaters, art galleries, restaurants, live entertainment and more. We are also just one mile from Purdue University in West Lafayette, and close to many major businesses such as Eli Lilly, Wabash National, Caterpillar, TRW, Alcoa, Arnett Clinic, Landis & Gyr, Chemtura, Toyota, Subaru, Wal-Mart, Cargill, Fairfield, State Farm Insurance, St. Elizabeth Hospital, Home Hospital, and Unity Medical Center. Ascend our grand staircase in the main two-story lobby to the elegant meeting rooms on the second floor. Experience Italian dining at Toscana Italian Grill & Bar, where the menu includes seasonal and fresh market ingredients including premium ground beef, ground fresh from whole cuts of beef. Toscana also offers its customers a fine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre Hotel Lafayette
Lafayette Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.