We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unmet expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 South Street, Lafayette, IN 47901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Lafayette
Hyattsville, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“unmet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for a family wedding. Many unmet expectations: no in-room microwave or refrigerator, no breakfast, (If you wanted to eat, there was a restaurant.)so no great value. Had to eat out for 4 days.
The air in the lobby was perfumed by on of those plug-in air "freshners", making for a truly noxious enviroment. Were they trying to hide another odor? The bed pillows were really half a pillow and provoked neck discomfort, so bring your own, The beds were comfortable though.
The hall way carpets could have used a little edge cleaning.
The evening desk staff were very pleasant & helpful. I made one request of the day staff, and that was for use of a microwave to re-heat my beverage on that very cold, snowy day. They said there was one in the restaurant, but it was used for transfer only, and I couldn't use it. Surely there must have been a microwave in the employee lunchroom! That refusal really colored my opinion. I will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear junezelno,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    25
    4
    11
See reviews for
30
10
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
office
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The location is great! Walking distance to great downtown restaurants, bars and local shops. The hotel was not very well insulated and could hear the people coming back from bars at 2-3 a.m. and leaving for breakfast at 7:00 a.m. Room was ok, but bed was extremely uncomfortable-felt like I was sleeping on a dorm mattress.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our room was a nice room with city view but the parking was a nightmare. I drove around and around the hotel and ended up having to park in a city parking ramp. It was very inconvenient.
I appreciated the four cup coffe maker in room instead of those one-cup brewers other hotels are using now.

Tried to use the pool, but my key wouldn't open the door. I didn't want to go all the down to desk, so I skipped the pool. Key worked for fitness center.

Nobody was unfriendly and nobody was over friendly.

Next time I'll stay a little ways out at a hotel with surplus parking.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Clean, attentive staff didn't dine at the restaurant but was well directed by the Concierge to a local eatery and watering hole. Some times when you travel and stay at these chains in smaller locations they can tend to be tired and out dated, not the HI Lafayette, I would recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The downtown location makes this property convenient to Purdue and downtown businesses. The public areas are well maintained. The restaurant for dinner suffers from "hotel pricing" for unremarkable Italian fare, but edible after a long day of travel. The restaurant does excel at breakfast, serving lots of fresh fruit and eggs made to order. The rooms are completely average. The windows don't open and there's a sinus-gagging smell of Fabreze everywhere. AC is wall convector-style ala 1980. Be prepared to move furniture to get to plugs -- wall plugs are located behind desks and tables. On the plus side, well-equipped business center off the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have stayed at this particular holiday inn several time when I come down for the Feast of the Hunters Moon. I have stayed at other hotels in the area as well when I come down depending on availability. The front desk staff were very helpful and willing to accommodate my questions and concerns. One thing is there is no avenue for patrons to leave a comment for the management at the particular site. The other thing is no where do they tell you that the parking lot is too small for the number of rooms at the hotel. I was instructed to park on the side street, which was not very well lit, and once I could not find a spot on the side streets I had to park across the street in the city parking structure. It was free that day but having to walk across the street to get back to the hotel and haul all my luggage across to my car was not a pleasant experience. I have stayed at several other hotels, ie in Pittsburg, that have to deal with more restricted space for parking than they do here in Lafayette and I had a lot better experience there, and for about the same price. As for the overall building it is very nice, well kept, and great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Be prepared if you go on a busy weekend there may not be enough parking and you may need to park on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear ERNurse02,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. It is nice to read that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the parking situation at our hotel and any inconvenience you experienced. I hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta Indonesia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here recently to accompany my son who was starting his study at Purdue. My friends recommended that I stayed at the Holiday Inn of West Lafayette as this was the best there is. I did look around comments in tripadvisor.com and realized that there was not much choice for accommodation in West Lafayette. Being used to 5-star quality hotels in Asia I was wondering what this hotel would be like. I was glad to experience that this hotel turned out decent. I spent 6 nights there.

This hotel is not far from Purdue but I did drive to campus, which is about 5 minutes away (parking is readily available at the Grant parking lot). A brisk walk would take about 20 minutes.

Front desk service was very good and the staff were polite and nice.

The bed and pillows were comfortable. Shower pressure was very good but the floor of the shower could get slippery. It could get dangerous so be careful. I noticed the housekeeping would only take about 5 minutes to clean the room (I was present in the room). No vacuuming of the carpet in the room, no scrubbing of the shower floor, no dusting of the furniture in the room.

The a/c system was a bit awkward. It was difficult to keep the temperature at a comfortable level, especially because the air blows towards the bed (could not move the lever to redirect where the air was blowing). I ended up having to turn the a/c on or off instead of adjusting the temperature.

The parking at the hotel was plentiful and easy. The pool was small, not good enough for a lap pool but good enough for just immersing around. The gym was small and very basic. There is no safe in the room.

The in-house Italian restaurant was so-so. There are not many classy restaurants in West Lafayette so I guess this was it. Not bad, just not that great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre

Address: 515 South Street, Lafayette, IN 47901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre in Lafayette, Indiana Returning the tradition and elegance to historic downtown Lafayette, Indiana, the Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre offers 147 hotel rooms and 7,500 square feet of meeting space. A grand, new hotel built to reflect the quality and craftsmanship of a bygone era, Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre rises 8 stories above ground, establishing a new landmark in the downtown skyline. From our rooms, guests can look out over scenic downtown Lafayette. Located in the business district, this grand hotel is blocks from the Tippecanoe County Court House, walking distance to the Long Center, theaters, art galleries, restaurants, live entertainment and more. We are also just one mile from Purdue University in West Lafayette, and close to many major businesses such as Eli Lilly, Wabash National, Caterpillar, TRW, Alcoa, Arnett Clinic, Landis & Gyr, Chemtura, Toyota, Subaru, Wal-Mart, Cargill, Fairfield, State Farm Insurance, St. Elizabeth Hospital, Home Hospital, and Unity Medical Center. Ascend our grand staircase in the main two-story lobby to the elegant meeting rooms on the second floor. Experience Italian dining at Toscana Italian Grill & Bar, where the menu includes seasonal and fresh market ingredients including premium ground beef, ground fresh from whole cuts of beef. Toscana also offers its customers a fine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre Hotel Lafayette
Lafayette Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.