We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true bed and breakfast type of hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Lafayette

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Lafayette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Lafayette
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   163 Frontage Road, Lafayette, IN 47905   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Lafayette
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A true bed and breakfast type of hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to find out that not only was our suite clean and well appointed, that a full hot breakfast was served but we were treated to a lasagne and wine dinner from 5 to 7 pm. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: With all of the hotel choices at this exit of I-65 this is by far the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
7
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were delighted to receive a free upgrade upon check-in (we are rewards members) We really enjoyed our 2 bedroom - 2 bath suite with a full kitchen and living room area as we were traveling with our adult son to visit colleges in the Midwest. SJ was an enthusiastic staff member and was very welcoming and gave us all the information we needed for our 2 night stay. We also enjoyed the manager's dinner on our weekday visit

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not face the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I usually stay at Homewood Suites by Hilton and Marriott's Residence Inn properties. This was definitely a step down from those, although the price is the same if not a bit higher. I travel A LOT for work and frequently stay weeks at a time, so in regard to extended stay hotels, I'm very opinionated!

Back to the TownePlace Suites Lafayette...furniture is over-croweded and dated (early 90s). The headboard isn't even attached to the bed. Closet space leaves a lot to be desired. The bathroom in my one bedroom suite is much larger than necessary. They could cut out half the bathroom and add to the closet space. I don't like that the work desk is in the bedroom right next to the bed, and because I work out of my hotel half the day, I don't want to work next to where I sleep. The kitchen silverware is cheap-o dollar store brand and looks like something they picked up at a Goodwill Store...very used and unappetizing to look at.

The good... Room seems very clean. I know this because I have a dog. I judge a room's cleanliness by how long my dog spends sniffing around when we arrive. More than a couple minutes of sniffing means not clean. Pet fee is a flat $75; reasonable. The staff here seem extremely friendly and helpful. I would give this hotel 5 stars for cleanliness and staff.

Overall, if you're an out of town construction worker, this is probably the place to stay (I've seen many here). Because this place feels more like hanging out in a dorm room than being on a business trip, I wouldn't recommend it for business professionals.

Room Tip: Hotel staff is accomodating if you request your preference ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The best thing about the Townplace Suites in Lafayette is the actual separate bedroom. Lots of suites are just a big room with a half-wall, but this 1 br suite was a good size. Having a kitchenette is nice too.

The rate (gov't rate) was good. The staff was very friendly, and the GM was onsite, and was very nice and friendly and helpful.

Note that this hotel (and almost all others) aren't really close or convenient to Purdue. Expect to take 1/2 hour to get to campus.

The bed was fine, although my wife thought it wasn't very comfortable. The a/c kicked on pretty loudly but was easy enough to get used to. Internet was free and fast and easy (no silly passwords to enter).

Breakfast was fine - a few extras like biscuits & gravy, no typical hotel waffle machine. Just an observation - only good or bad if you like or hate hotel waffles.

Our room could have used a bit of updating. We thought the sink was slow, but the pull-thing to use the drain was missing. The shower drained terribly & grossly slowly. It could be a coincidence that both plumbing things were just in our room.

Would we stay here again? It would depend on the rate. There are a lot of other properties around here, but if the rate was right, we'd stay again - but we would look around first. I know there are a lot of properties around the Lafayette area that are not as nice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Upon checking in, we were greeted by a staff member who seemed to be completely expecting us and referenced us by name! Made us feel as if we were VIPs! The room was clean, very comfortable and we had all we could ask for. Thanks for a GREAT stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Being a Marriott Rewards Member, we try to stay at Marriott hotels as much as possible. On a scale of 1 to 10, for Marriott, I'd give this one a 6 or 7. A decent place, nice size rooms, comfy bed, clean, the studio we stayed in had a decent "kitchen" area with a full size refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, real (not mini) coffee maker and a small "kitchen" table. Hotel is right off of I-65 which wasn't too bad, was hoping it was closer to Purdue as that is where we were heading. Looks to be an older hotel that they have tried to refurbish with new paint, carpeting and bedding, but still has an "older" feeling. Good breakfast the next morning - cereal, typical eggs, breakfast fries, sausage, instant oatmeal, toast, bagles, etc. Overall, a decent place to stay for the price (we were able to take advantage of the state government rate - if you use this, make sure to bring ID as this hotel does check - some do, some don't).

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early for the mini omlet...they go quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

When I reserved this room, the description made it sound like it was right on the Purdue campus - it's not. It took about 15 minutes to get to the campus. It was right off the freeway which wasn't bad. We stay in a TownePlace Suites in Omaha all the time so I thought I knew what I was in store for. This hotel is older & is not as nice as the one in Omaha. We did have a one bedroom suite and a full range in the kitchenette which was a nice surprise. The staff was also very friendly. The kid who checked us in is a current Purdue student and immediately gave us a map of the campus so we would know where we were going. He also brought us a missing remote from our suite. The other surprise was that they served a free dinner in addition to the free breakfast. The dinner was not something we would eat but I was able to make a huge salad and get drinks to add to the dinner we brought in.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Lafayette

Address: 163 Frontage Road, Lafayette, IN 47905
Location: United States > Indiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Lafayette 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.