We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Bryan's Nine Irish Brothers

O'Bryan's Nine Irish Brothers
3520 State Road 38 E, Lafayette, IN 47905-5121
765-447-0999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 200 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
West Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food is excellent (my personal favorite is the Conamera Chicken or something like that). I especially like the feel of the original in West Lafayette (I believe the pub furniture was collected from a closing pub in Ireland). Weekends you can often find a live band. The only downside is unless you want to fight for a spot, from noon, St. Patty's day is a mad house (which is a bummer for an Irish girl born on St. Patty's day).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I like it okay, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've eaten here more times than I can count. I'd eat here more often if they'd reliably show English Premiere League soccer games with the volume on. My biggest complaint is that there are few good vegetarian options. I like fried potatoes as much as anyone else, but that gets pretty boring. Yes, they have a salad, but it makes me crazy that they generally don't clean the baby greens well enough to pick out the slimy bits. It's as though they just stick their hand in the giant food service bag of greens and dump it on the plate, as-is. They did just add a fried mushroom sandwich, which is fantastic, but they have it on the menu only on the east side location-- not the one I usually go to. And while they have outdoor seating, the patios only have a view of a busy road and/or parking lot. But it's the only place in town to get a Smithwick's on draft and watch the soccer game, so I'm sure I'll keep going.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and relaxing environment ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Not your typical bar food, a good irish change, plenty of on tap selections. The server was attentive an prompt. Prices were as friendly as the atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A comfortable, happy place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Relaxing, cozy, casual. They have the best fish and chips anywhere, but the Dublin salad is also delicious if you want something lighter. Nice beer and irish whiskey selections. Excellent live music. They offer may special and tasting events. Since it is a pub, there are limited days/times children under 18 are allowed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A night to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My friend had her wedding reception here, and it was phenomenal! The owner came out, met everyone, and helped pass out cake. All of the staff were extremely friendly and provided exceptional service. Prime rib was outstanding, and the mashed potatoes were out of this world! Homemade Irish soda bread is one of a kind, too. We will definitely return next time we're in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Bryan's Nine Irish Brothers also viewed

 

Been to O'Bryan's Nine Irish Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Bryan's Nine Irish Brothers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.