We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Fairington Avenue, Lafayette, IN 47905   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My second visit to this Courtyard in the last few months and the service level has improved greatly, the staff here is amazing. The rooms are clean, roomy and comfortable. Location is convenient to local shops, restaurants and access roads. A couple of suggestions for improvement which prevented a higher rating for my stay: 1) the cardio machines in the fitness room need some maintenance, there are components making clunking noises and they frankly don't sound or feel safe. 2) The wi-fi is slow and intermittent. I tested the line a few times and the best download speed I got was 0.56 mbps...not great. Otherwise, the hotel is nice and I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyasstgm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi DC, and thank you for taking the time to review us. I was very happy to hear that you felt we are improving our service level. We are always seeking to improve and its good to know that our guests see the difference.

I was surprised to hear of your difficulty with the Internet. We installed fiber optics last summer and have the fastest speed in the area at 10 Mbps. If you were not able to routinely obtain speeds in the 5.0 region, please let us know so that we can contact our support network. We pride ourselves on being amongst the leaders in the market and hope that you will stay with us soon and check it out.

Last but not least, we are having the fitness equipment inspected and it should be ready for your next visit.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you soon. Please don't forget, if you have any challenges with your stay, please be sure to talk to our staff so we can get it resolved as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Curt Baker
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    34
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
14
14
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Booked this room on Priceline. I was beyond impressed with the service and the quality of the hotel. The bed is very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. The customer service was fantastic. The only small complaint was that the hot tub was a little dirty and didn't want to get into it. Other than that...everything else was top notch!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyasstgm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
We were so happy to hear about your great stay. Its always a pleasure to know that the little things that we do enhanced your visit. You will be happy to know that we just completed a resurfacing of our spa (December 2012), and it looks great. We hope that you will be stopping back in soon to try it out. Be sure and say hello if you do stop in.

Curt Baker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here twice over a two week period while on business. The first stay was on the third floor, the room was clean, and seemed to be a bit more refreshed. Nothing spectacular about this hotel, it's a typical Courtyard experience. The second stay I was on the ground floor, I found a dirty rag on the counter when I returned from working that had been left by the housekeeping staff, and the rooms on the ground floor appear older somehow---and the dirty rag had me wondering how great a job the housekeeping staff had done --- they could use some new towels, and the carpets appear worn in certain areas. The public computers are desperately slow if you want to print anything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyasstgm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
We were so sorry to hear of your concern with your room. If there is ever a question, please be sure to involve the manager on duty so that the hotel can make it correct. We actually just finished upgrading the showers in our first floor rooms, and are replacing carpets in the next couple of weeks, so we should be back to exceeding your expectations in no time. Our business center has recently been upgraded to provide faster services with a dedicated router for just the business center computers.

Comments such as your are how we are able to continually improve and meet guest expectations. Next time you are in, please stop by and let me know how we are doing. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Curt Baker
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were visiting Purdue University on a busy weekend. This was a great choice for our trip. The trip to campus is about 10 minutes. Very easy drive. Near hotel are lots of restaurants, and some places to shop if you have a college student in need of supplies. The hotel seemed to be almost sold out and still was very quiet. Rooms were clean, and beds were very comfortable. Only one small issue in that the water pressure in the shower is not good at all. There is free coffee in the lobby, and also a place to buy breakfast. If you can not get a place right on campus, this is a great choice for a college visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyasstgm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We pride ourselves on our great service and amenities. With that in mind, We are in the process of replacing the low flow shower heads that are currently in the hotel with new shower heads with a 20% increase in water flow. We have had a great response from guests in our test rooms and we look forward to you letting us know what you think of them on your next visit.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon.

Curt Baker
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Not a bad place to stop. Easy parking. Affordable. A bit away from campus, but suitable for a one-night stay. Clean. Friendly. Nothing remarkable, but nothing horrible either. A very easy 2 hour drive from Chicago if you are traveling that direction.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyasstgm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to continually improve our hotel service and offerings.

We are located less than 10 minutes and 5 miles from campus on a typical day, and are surrounded by dining and shopping options. Directions and recommendations to make your visit better can be obtained from our website or our front desk staff.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Curt Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed over at the Courtyard for an event at Purdue and got what we expected from this chain. Spacious room, friendly reception, easy access. Only downfall is location: while the blurb on their website states they are near Purdue, it's still a good 15 minutes with the car to West-Lafayette.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyasstgm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. Located in Lafayette, we are just under 5 miles from Purdue University. Making us the fourth closest of more than 20 hotels to Purdue University. Also, as one of the newest hotels in Lafayette, we are able to provide the latest trends in hotel comfort and services to go along with our outstanding staff.

If you have any questions, please contact us directly.

Sincerely,

Curt Baker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We were driving through and a good stopping point for us. Disappointed in the lack of a real bar or restaurant but there are many other restaurants near by. Service for breakfast was slow. Rooms were spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyasstgm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Our hotel incorporates the latest in Courtyard by Marriott design with our exciting Bistro concept. The Bistro offers a full breakfast selection made to order from 630-930am on weekdays and 7-10 on weekends. It reopens in the evening for dinner, dessert, and drinks from 5-10pm daily. Our bar features a full selection of Marriott approved wines, beers and liquors.

I apologize if you experienced service that was not up to your expectations. If this is ever the case in the future, please be sure to speak to a department manager or MOD so that we can address the situation immediately. We pride ourselves on the quality of our staff and service and hope that you will provide us the opportunity in the future to demonstrate the world class service for which we are known.

Sincerely,

Curt P. Baker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette

Address: 150 Fairington Avenue, Lafayette, IN 47905
Location: United States > Indiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With one of the newest properties in Lafayette, Courtyard by Marriott offers upscale lodging quality service at a great price. Located just 5 miles from Purdue and within 2 miles of many local business we have a great location. We offer a regularly scheduled shuttle to and from Purdue campus, and are here to ensure your stay in Lafayette is enjoyable. Our Bistro restaurant is open for breakfast, and reopens in the evening as a lounge and restaurant. Stop in and check us out today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.