We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Worendo Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Worendo Cottages
Save
You added Worendo Cottages to your Saves list
97 Cedar Glen Road, Darlington, Queensland 4285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Darlington B&B and Inns
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This is our first visit to the scenic rim and we googled to find suitable accomodation. A few we selected were fully booked and we chanced upon Worendo. This turned out to be the best accomodation we had ever stayed. The kitchen was well equipped, nice jacuzzi and a outdoor shower. The view of the lamington mountains was fantastic. You can simply sit in the verandah and relax for hours as this is place was peaceful and quiet. There were lots of birds for birds watchers. On a clear night you can see the sky filled with stars.
We booked for 3 nights and extended another night. We will be back.

  • Liked — The well designed cottage and its views
  • Disliked — the shower romm gets wet as there is no shower curtains
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Perfect cottage escape. Lovely rooms well appointed and great opening doors onto a patio with spectacular views of the Lamington range mountains. Kitchen is used for a cooking school so has everything you could possibly want for in a self catering facility! The outdoor shower with views over the hills is gorgeous. This place is at the end of the Lost Valley so is nicely away from everything but is not too far from the border ranges national park or mt barney national park for a wander. Swimming in the nearby Albert river is excellent. Very jealous, do i have to go home?......

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Very rarely does a website not do justice to cottage accommodation, but Wild Lime cottage is the exception. I sat for an hour just looking at the amazing view feeling life around me slow down.

The cottage was wonderful, the kitchen fully equipped, bathtub very comfortable, view amazing and hosts friendly. All in all, the best place I've ever stayed. Will go bak many times.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

This place is such a wonderful, well kept secret. We would go here again and again and again, except that we have moved interstate since we did go here. The wild lime cottage was huge, clean and well equipped and the food was fantastic. Very relaxing place - if you can get down the driveway!!

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We've stayed in many B&Bs throughout Australia and Worendo Cottages are up there with the best in terms of ambience, scenery, food and the non-intrusive friendliness of the owners.The birdlife is prolific, including Wedgetailed and Sea Eagles, Regent and Satin Bower Birds, Fairy-wrens and Azure Kingfishers. We also found bushwalking in the nearby Lamington National Park invigorating and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kureelpa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

The exhilerating views of the towering peaks were the highlight of our stay in the Wild Lime Cottage. Sitting on the beautiful verandah of the cottage with a glass of wine was the ultimate in relaxation and I felt an overwhelming urge to collect my paints and easel and capture the moment.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

What a perfect setting for an engagement. My husband proposed on the verandah of wild lime cottage, while we were watching the moon rise over the mountains and eating a lovely 3 course dinner. The area is so romantic and secluded. Sitting on the verandah in the afternoons with a glass of white, watching the sun set as the breeze comes through the valley and the sheep graze around the house - we have never been so relaxed before. The outdoor shower is also fun and refreshing. We bought gift vouchers for both our parents to stay here after our wedding and they thouroughly enjoyed it. (They made one comment about the dinner not being so great - but I think this may have been just a one-off night) Overall our experience was basically perfect.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Worendo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worendo Cottages

Address: 97 Cedar Glen Road, Darlington, Queensland 4285, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Darlington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take yourself to our peaceful setting in the Lost World Valley, relaxing on our big verandahs with a nice glass of chilled white wine and staring up at the rugged mountains of Lamington National Park. Maybe you have just taken a stroll through the olive grove or had a swim in our mountain stream by the old bush hut. Perhaps you were feeling energetic and took a walk up the hill to gaze out over the Scenic Rim at sunset. It's hard to think of work now because as you're chatting and enjoying the afternoon light show on the mountains, it just seems that this old farm is a world away. It is not actually. It is only 1.5 hours from Brisbane and the Gold Coast, but who could believe it when you feel this relaxed. Later on and you have just enjoyed a fantastic meal prepared from one of our Wild Lime Cooking School recipes in our fully equipped kitchen, and now your gaze is shifting between the fireplace and the open skies filled with thousands of stars. Nothing to do but relax, chat and perhaps enjoy another glass of wine. Sound Good? Of course it does. We are offering simplistic beauty at its best. What we offer is an invigorating escape from the mundane in a stunning and peaceful wilderness setting. Romantic cottages for couples or Farm Houses for bigger family and friend groups. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worendo Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.