We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geelong Riverview Tourist Park

Save Saved
You added Geelong Riverview Tourist Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Geelong Riverview Tourist Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Barrabool Road, Belmont, Geelong, Victoria 3216, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Belmont
Perth
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Nice not too big caravan park with grassed sites. Staff friendly. Ablution blocks dated but clean and have plenty of room. The entrance could get a bit crowded if multiple check ins at one time. Major shops a short drive away, the city centre not too far either.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
22
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for one night only big mistake, The caravan sites are small , the water taps poles are Bent and leaking , the showers and toilets are way overdue for a make over , the park is surrounded with homes and there is nothing nice to look at all , the cabin next
To us had over 12 kids running wild till late at night, for $40 powered site it's way overpriced and for a big 4 chain caravan park it should read 2 star not 4 (very disappointed )

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The cabin we stayed in was basic and very clean and had everything we needed for a short stay. The pool was clean but very cold and closed at 8. The games room was ok, although the table tennis required a $10 deposit to be paid at reception (which closes at 6) and you had to pay for the video games, so not much for the kids to do in there without money.
I have to agree with a few people who have written that they were made to feel unwelcome here. Although we had no problem with staff, we had issues with a permanent resident living in the park behind our cabin. I witnessed a kid (not one of mine) walk down a path while playing hide and seek into what was apparently private property, although it was unsigned so know way for anyone to know. The torrid of abuse that came from the elderly resident towards this 6 or 7 year old kid was disgraceful. When this visibly shaken kid ran away I asked my wife if she could believe how grumpy this guy was, this was overheard and triggered more abuse towards me. He then dared me to complain to staff obviously knowing that nothing would be done about it. The kids and families staying around us were all extremely well behaved and respectful throughout our stay and to be treated with complete contempt by people living there was a disgrace.
I would not recommend staying here with kids, there are many alternative locations right along this stretch of river, if we were ever staying in that part of the world again we'll stay somewhere where we're not an imposition to the people around us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a lovely stay in one of the spa cabins. The cabin was beautiful and clean, after walking inside you almost felt like you were at a motel not in a cabin, and the spa was awesome. The park was very nice with plenty of things for the kids. Staff were friendly and we felt very welcomed. Will definitely stay again one day when we are geelong next.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great location and great facilities, everything we needed for our family night away! Really pleased we chose this Park! Our unit held everything we could possibly need in the kitchen so that we could be truly self sufficient.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have stayed at this caravan on 2 occasions and found them to extremely friendly and professional. The cabins are very clean and tidy and had everything that we needed. The little kiosk out the front have awesome coffee and brekkies. Set opposite the Barwon River it is a quiet and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penrith
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely park, small, clean & tidy.
Could do with a cover over kids playground but otherwise great. Owners were friendly and helpful.
We had an ensuite powered site, cost very reasonable, ensuite very clean.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Geelong Riverview Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geelong Riverview Tourist Park

Address: 59 Barrabool Road, Belmont, Geelong, Victoria 3216, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong > Belmont
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Belmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Geelong Riverview Tourist Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geelong Riverview Tourist Park is located less than five minutes drive from the centre of Geelong and fifteen minutes from World Class beaches. The Great Ocean Road region offers surfer’s year round action with dozens of surf breaks along the coast including the internationally famous Bells Beach. Bells Beach is the home of the Rip Curl Pro Surf & Music Festival one of the world's longest running surfing competitions held in April each year. Swimming, sailing, boating, scuba diving and surfing are all popular pastimes in the region. If water sports isn’t your scene then explore Geelong's Waterfront; a perfect place to take in the sights and sounds of Geelong. Talk a stroll along the boardwalks to Cunningham Pier for family fun or pack a picnic end enjoy a day in the sun on the vast expanses of lawn at Eastern Beach. Visit the beautifully restored steam-driven, antique Carousel, view public art on a waterfront walk and discover the many quirky Baywalk Bollards representative of the many characters who formed Geelong as we know it today. Uncover Geelong’s History and explore National Trust listed buildings. View a collection of outstanding Australian paintings and sculpture at the Art Gallery, explore Geelong’s darker side and take part in a ghost tour of the Geelong Gaol or learn about the history of wool at the National Wool Museum. Nearby, the Bellarine Peninsula is home to beautiful cool climate wines, superb restaurants, quaint cafés, fresh local produce, seafood and Sunday markets. Geelong Riverview Tourist Park offers the perfect place to begin or end your Great Ocean Road journey. Travel along one of the world's most scenic roads and discover the wonders of the Twelve Apostles, the Otway’s rainforest, Bells Beach and the Surf Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Geelong Riverview Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geelong Riverview Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.