We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Mt. Pleasant Road, Belmont, Geelong, Victoria 3216, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Belmont
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at this property for one night as we were attending a function at The Belmont Hotel, so the location was perfect as only had 300 meters to walk.
Check in was friendly and efficient and we were even greeted by the resident cat.
The room was spotless and we were given a small jug of fresh milk to make a cup of tea. The bed had lovely crisp white linen and we utilised the electric blanket to take the chill off and had a comfy nights sleep. The bathroom was very clean and functional with a good supply of towels.
This property suited our needs well and we would recommend to guests wanting a clean and good value property situated within walking distance to high St Belmont.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you are looking for 5 star, this is definitely not the place to go. But given it's a motel only, I would still recommend people to go because its comfort.

Location wise it is located in a quiet street, but very close to the nearby shopping center, less than 5 mins drive will give you heaps of shops for any supply necessary. It's also not far away from the beach, but this may apply to majority hotels in Geelong as the size of the city.

The room itself may not appears that attractive on first look, decoration is quite plain, and obviously some feeling of old days. But still, by a motel's standard, the room is in a good value for a good sleep. Shower facility is pretty good.

The reception is very friendly and are happily to discuss with your itinerary and give you some good suggestions.

It may be a little noisy at night when some one drive in late, and the price is not that cheap, but this is Australia, a high cost country.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benita B, General Manager at Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We are in fact a 3.5 star motel and are rapt that you appreciated the effort we put into making our property comfortable and clean for our guests. Yes, we are in a convenient location to most things in Geelong and our staff are always keen to have a chat about local attractions as well as give advice about tourist destinations further afield. Rest assured we will continue to try to improve our service and facilities for both leisure and business traveler alike!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed late November for 2 nights. The staff were really down to earth and polite. They ave us great advice on a few spots for our stay. One was Clifton Springs Jetty for our photography, the other was a swimming spot for our daughter.
The room was beautiful and very comfortable. It smelt fresh the second we walked in the door.
Next time we do great ocean road, this would be the first place I contact for a halfway point.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in November. When we first walked into the room I was hit in the face with a beautiful smell! The room smelt so delightful, and it was very clean.
The staff were so friendly, always offering advice on where to go and what to see, and even suggested a nice pool by the beach for our daughter, we wouldn't have known it was there if not for the suggestion.
The bed was comfortable - and being a light sleeper, that's important for us.
There was a little noise from outside, but thankfully our neighbors were all very considerate in making noise after hours, so we all slept soundly.
Thank you for your services, all in all it was a lovely stay and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, Owner at Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay. We are very glad that you enjoyed a good night's sleep and that the other guests did not annoy you too much. It was a particularly busy weekend when you stayed. Also we are happy to let our guests know what our beautiful Geelong has to offer. Glad you took my advice and your daughter was able to enjoy a swim at the wonderful waterfront, especially when it was such beautiful weather. We certianly hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having come to Geelong, I ended up staying at the Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong while I looked for a place to live. Located in a quiet location, yet only 4km from the CBD area, I had everything I needed available to me within in an easy 5 - 10 minute walk. The Belmont Shopping Centre, Fast food outlets, cafes, restuarants, the local buses, even the South Geelong Train Station is only just down the road.

It took me longer than expected for me to find a place to live, so I can well attest to the quality and friendliness of the service that I received from my hosts Barry and Denise Foster. The motel has clean, modern rooms with free and easy parking.

I highly recommend this motel for your stay in Geelong, it's perfect location makes access to the area so easy. Plus if you want to have a drink, you don't have to be concerned with driving or a taxi, not only is there a pub just up the road, but there is a liquor barn a well.....Set for the night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, Owner at Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thankyou for your lovely feedback on Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel. It is only too easy to look after lovely guests and their needs whilst staying with us. We are glad that you did eventually find a home and that you were able to enjoy the convenience of our location. Yes it is a great place to stay and within walking distance to so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A great place to stay. I stayed in a large clean and comfortable room and warm and friendly hosts Barry and Denise were only eager to ensure everything I could ask for was provided with a smile. The motel is perfectly located close too shopping and CBD and and take away/restaurant options, but once sampling the menu provided by Barry and Emma Im sure you will agree the variety and value they offer is exceptional and the meals are delicious and generously sized also. I could not recommend this motel it's delightful hosts more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, Manager at Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We were glad that you took the opportunity to try our room service. Even tho our property is walking distance to restaurants, shops etc, it is just the fact that we can give good old fashion service. We hope to see you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were very well looked after, the motel was family orientated, the units were spotless and Denise and Barry were very welcoming hosts, as nothing was too much trouble. They went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. The foyer had plenty of tourist information from which to choose. The units were very spacious and had everything we required, particularly in the bathroom area. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, unlike a lot of motels that you visit. We were particularly impressed with the cleanliness of the units. The outdoor area was also very neat and tidy. The Fosters' knowledge of the area was most helpful. We found the location central to all shopping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, Owner at Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thankyou for your lovely feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again. Our location is perfect for those people that want peace and quiet and we are accessable to many shopping precints that Geelong has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmont
2.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Admiralty Motor Inn
0.7 mi away
Geelong Riverview Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#12 of 24 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Geelong
Mercure Geelong
#11 of 24 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong

Address: 15 Mt. Pleasant Road, Belmont, Geelong, Victoria 3216, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong > Belmont
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Belmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, comfortable and convenient the Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel is centrally located and within walking distance of shops, restaurants, pubs and the Geelong RSL. Near Simmonds Stadium, we are also a great place from which to launch your tour of the Great Ocean Road. Practical for sports groups, we can accommodate a number of different styles of room configuration and are located close to several gyms, the spectacular Barwon River and the Belmont Criterium. Clean and friendly to the seasoned leisure and corporate traveller alike, we offer a number of bed & breakfast options, and all rooms are fitted with: cable/flat screen TV's - free WIFI - air-conditioning & heating - coffee & tea making facilities - fridge - toasters - fresh milk & microwave for no extra charge upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.