We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Indiana Basketball” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoosier Gym

Hoosier Gym
355 N Washington St, Knightstown, IN 46148-1095
(765) 345-2100
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Sports Complexes, Wellness & Spas
Attraction details
Lawrence, KS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Welcome to Indiana Basketball”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

So reminiscent of scenes from the movie that I thought Coach Dale was going to come out and run us through drives. Great place to stop, stretch our legs, and shoot some baskets. Volunteer staff was very welcoming.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Gives you chills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is an incredibly cool place to visit, especially if you are a fan of the movie Hoosiers and remember legendary single class basketball in Indiana. Located about midway between Indianapolis and Richmond, it's just a slight jog off of I-70 and is free. Donations are welcomed. Just stepping into the gym is like stepping back 50 years. Inside you'll find memorabilia, a very cool old ticket booth, and the gym just as it appeared in Hoosiers, complete with the Hickory banner. Several adults and kids were shooting hoops on the perfectly polished hardwood. We also toured the locker room used for the famous scenes in the movie. A local volunteer was on hand to give us a tour and pass along a lot of little tidbits about the making of Hoosiers, such as where the actors stayed and an interesting ad lib by Dennis Hopper. Our favorite spot? The place where Gene Hackman said "Welcome to Indiana basketball" before entering the packed gym. Hickory t-shirts and game jerseys are available for sale, and you'll want to take plenty of photos. This is a perfect tribute to one of the best sports films of all-time and to the memory of what Indiana basketball was really like when the cracker box gyms ruled the day. Do not miss this wonderful experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“A Great Basketball Experience!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

For anyone who loves basketball and the movie Hoosiers, this is a must see!!! It took us a few minutes off I-70 to reach the gym. It is used as a community center, as a number of kids were playing ball, but their is a volunteer that gave us a tour. His tour was outstanding, and provided insights to not only the movie, but to the number of basketball greats who have visited. A lot of memorabilia is located in the lobby of the gym, and there are items (shirts, posters,etc) that you can purchase. Basketballs are available, and it is an awesome experience to shoot hoops in the gym. Donations are accepted in the lobby and it is well worth the stop!! It is Hoosier basketball at its best!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My son and I came to see the gym while my husband was at the Brickyard 400 race at Indy. We had the best time! If you love the movie or even if you've never seen the movie but love high school hoops, make the short drive to this quaint little town. The gym is now a community center and as soon as you walk up to the door you realize that it's truly a community effort. There is a list of names and phone numbers to call if you arrive and the gym is locked. The gym was open when we arrived and the volunteer that gave us the tour was very knowledgable and his pride in the gym and his community was evident. Basketballs are provided so that you can shoot hoops in the gym, there is all sorts of memorabilia related to the movie and the high school team from Milan that the movie is based on, and the movie is playing in the lobby when you walk in. We loved it so much that we stopped the next day so that my husband could tour it as well. We had a different guide and he provided additional information and was able to show us some additional parts of the building that weren't available the day before due to a family reunion being held at the center. This is a free museum so be sure to drop a few dollars into the donation basketball. It's clear that your donation will be well spent to maintain this treasure!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you love the movie Hoosiers (and I do!), then this is a MUST!! Our guide was knowledgeable and very kind to open up for us on Memorial Day! Loved it!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoosier Gym? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoosier Gym, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.